How is the average performance of an exam A- in a school? And that school is not even a national school.
Ati the majority of the students score A.
The distribution curve is titled to the left.
Normal statistical distribution curve.
[ATTACH=full]434875[/ATTACH]
It’s in public domain that exam cheating is back just like it used to be in the past. The best thing is to do away with this system. CBC is already here to do that.
Magoha tried to deny and downplay the rigging claims but people are not fools. Kids were sending exam leakage to one another through phones. This is truly a banana republic
Kweli hii kenya kuna mang’ombe (na sio matusi). How does someone expect a national school, which only admits students with 420+ KCPE marks to have a normal KCSE grades distribution graph? In fact why would anyone expect any Kenyan high school to have a normal distribution curve, when you know that all these schools only pick students with certain KCPE marks? Only in a primary school that admits all random students who come along would you expect a normal curve.
Exactly. Mangombe ni wengi Kenya even high IQs like @Sambamba will agree, that wengine hawajijui. In 2017(?), when Matiangi launched a surprise suppression of exam leakage, National Schools like Alliance had a normal distribution curve, with majority of its students tiered towards the center of its school grades. Thats the hallmark of a clean exam. Natural laws dont lie. Any skewering points to a fault in the process.
Someone is indirectly calling you Mang’ombe and you’re agreeing with Him. A significant % of those folks who scored A- in Kapsabet were targeting an A. Also remember, there’s an A- of 74 points and an A- of 80 Points. How, would you from the scoresheet tell which A- is closer to the mean?
who says that the “Normal” distribution occurs in all cases?
Lastly, the scoresheet itself is wrong. To get a mean of 10.69, you have to assume A=12, A-=11, and so on. We all know, not all A’s are equal
There is never a time when there was a normal curve in these major national schools. What seems to have happened is grade suppression. Even then, it is mostly these top schools that produced majority of the top performers. Only that the ‘top performers’ then were apparently being awarded B grades for A-grade work.
I mean, be serious, how do you expect a natural curve (whereby majority of students score C grades) in a national school that only admits the top cream of KCPE? For the whole exam nationwide, a natural curve is expectable. But for any specific school, you shouldn’t expect it, given our system. Some schools only take high performers and others only take low performers… So some schools will naturally have 100s of As, and some schools will naturally have 100s of Ds.
My response also highlighted the fact that mangombe sometimes don’t know themselves. But just examining simple grade scale, A,B,C …~66% is on A. If you have ever taken a quiz, then 66% of the students score 90% and above, it points to one of several things. Either the quiz was ridiculously easy, or a majority of the students knew the questions beforehand, or they received a friendly grading, or ++++…. Now that is one quiz of one subject. Extrapolate that to 6 subjects and possibility of a coincidental good performance start to drop.
The fella doesn’t understand the normal distribution curves mostly only occur where you have random populations. Kapsabet high school is not a random population. It is a pre-selected population. It is a biased population (only kids with 400+ marks are admitted there). All these kids joined Kapsabet with KCPE straight As. Actually, the fact that some are coming out with B plain and B- is a travesty.
Shouldn’t some of these things be obvious?
And you don’t force natural bell curves. Even the national KCSE curve skews too much to the right (failure), with 82% scoring less than C+, and actually more than 50% [I think] scoring less than D+ - precisely the kind of news the likes of @Simiyu22 want to hear I guess.
But when the strict enforcement of exam was carried, suddenly that 100 A’s in that national school plummeted. And then has steadily risen since. How do you explain that?
My friend, let’s just say you are highly educated but not very clever, or you don’t understand how the Kenyan education system is structured… Kwani ulitoka kenya mwaka gani? How do you expect a natural curve in all schools, knowing that this is not the USA where high schools randomly admit all kids from their school districts? In Kenya, some schools only admit a certain caliber of students?
Even then, the top performers were still from these top schools. It is just that their As were downgraded to Bs. You would attribute the whole thing to ‘strict enforcement of exams’ if it brought about a different trend - with previously poorly performing schools starting to perform better. But to the extent that the previous performance trends continued, only with fewer As, it means that what was happening in all likelihood was grade suppression…
I want you differentiate between strict enforcement of exams and grade suppression.