wewe wacha kutupima akili. are you suggesting that public infrastructure including bridges, HEP dams, water catchments, beaches, etc are on riparian land and should be demolished?
boss, hebu angalia those buildings in JKIA, there is a stream passing beneath them…
sawa @spear ungetumia tu handle moja
but we said there are no sacred cows… kieleweke.
Its just a stalker, its mind games directed at you lot and that’s why I wish a census could take place here. I don’t mind the attention though. That much effort and following is actually flattering. Your critics and haters are the ones who swallow up every word you mention. They never miss a thing. That’s how you convert non believers subconsciously. I’m proud to know the impact cuts both sides.
The main cause of flooding in Nairobi isn’t blocked rivers or ways but poorly designed and constructed drainage systems.Period.
Before we go to drainage water follows gravity. If the natural water courses weren’t blocked the water would go its own way to the ocean.
This riparian debate made us have a stalemate then complete agreement in the end. Why? Its simple, if you enforce the full letter of the law the buildings to be demolished are 4000. That’s almost 20% of buildings in Nairobi. The costs is in several trillions. However nobody disputes they have encroached and its unacceptable. So the question is can it be done, will it be done and to what extent. Hapo ndio unafurahi its not you at the top to make such decisions. That’s why I agree with President Uhuru testimony in church last week that this decision is very divisive even within his friends and associates. May God give him wisdom at this time.
Why are people pushing for mwananchi was kawaida to be ‘served’ first instead of the mwananchi. If at all all changes need to be done, it has to start from somewhere. Either from bottom up, or in this case, top to bottom.
Let the big fish be served first, mwananchi wa kawaida will understand when it comes to his turn for a visit by (nimesahau label ya excavator ya NYS)…
Shida hapa, who determines if a building is to be demolished or not? when you have a group of people sit around a table and make such decisions then kuna shida, if the government was open, publish a map with all the building marked for demolition then people can look at it and ask questions, like the one posted, why are some being pardoned, from this riparian monster.
Lakini tunaambiwa 4000 buildings and we are not shown where they are - an official government map sowing the same would suffice, but lots of secrecy, and it ends up being a vendetta thing, where only some are being targeted.
For change to make sense it has to be done across board, otherwise a few guys will be targeted, another administration will come in and target few other individuals and that solves nothing, major buildings and houses have been demolished in the past, so this is nothing new.
Then why is it ok when mwananchi is targeted, but it becomes an issue when mwenyenchi suffers the same predicament? Mnapenda kutetea wakubwa, but when wadogo; read hawkers wa mtaani, hustlers wakihamishwa hakuna kuzusha. What gives?
I say, wacha wenyenchi wapigwe, then ikifikia mwananchi, there won’t be much resistance…
Those buildings at JKIA should face the wrath of the dozer, they are built on top of a stream. That stream goes deep into Machakos and joins Mbagathi river.
my issue is selective targeting, be it the poor or the wealthy - the main reason why issues to do with land do not move is because those tasked with doing the same are some of the biggest beneficiaries of the same impunity that is seen in the sector - I mean if my boss steals company stuff then even the subordinates will get emboldened to try the same.
Anyway on the issue at hand, it does not make sense to knock down a mall or flatten road side vibanda if the government is not willing to go all the way, otherwise you get the same vibanda re-build again and the same malls put up again on the said controversial land, hakuna haja ya kusumbua watu if you are not ready to go all the way.
Why not build a surge tank.
Good points, I wish I could expound on some of those issues but I will let give time to see the actions first.
Apart from service industry in Nairobi, real estate development is the second biggest employer in the county. Any change that slows or halts that industry for whatever reason will have a big impact. Then we have housing as one of the Big Four agenda. PS Housing is a brilliant gentleman called Hinga. The government is to construct 1 million units in 5 years. How? In Nairobi 30% of the construction costs in acquiring land. Brick and mortar construction will cost 60% and 10% connection to utilities and providing recreation services. Ministry of housing came up will a plan of action. Partner with private sector investors, provide land on a 99 year lease (30% costs done) provide 30% of that land for them to build commercial development sold at market prices to recoup their full investment. The other 70% of the land they are to enter a PPP agreement between them and the Republic of Kenya to construct low income houses. How will they do that without spending a lot of their resources. Simple use fabricated housing techniques used in Asia like China and South Korea. Lastly government has introduced housing tax that will contribute to the mortgage scheme where Kenyans can use the facility to buy units in the areas, their rent plus deductions will allow them to buy out the units in 5-10 years at low rates of less than 1000-5000 a month.
However will this investors in housing come if we are busy demolishing buildings on the city that were approved by both levels of government?
hili ndilo swala nyeti… investors right now are in a wait and see situation, waiting to see what will happen to 14 riverside and Avic towers… these demolitions don’t inspire confidence, but those sitting on road reserves need to go ASAP, no debate about that!
Legally they may not need to be bulldozed. Land is defined as riparian because it remains under government ownership. Now isnt JKIA a government entity? That is, the government doesnt need consent to use its own land.
I won’t counter that argument…
Ile siku watabomoa those shopping malls in Eastleigh standing on the county government land ndio nitaamini,that land belongs to the government na ilikuwa soko otherwise woria have grabbed it,na some Waarabu setting up massive malls,kuna ya kidero apo imesimamishwa kujengwa near Barclays bank.