Leo nilipitia mtaani and I asked myself that question. Obviously it might be an unpopular opinion among my colleagues in Jua Kali.
History has shown that generally, employees turn out better than entrepreneurs. Niliangalia most businesses nikaona enyewe working in a cubicle in some bank is better than running some micro enterprise.
I think entrepreneurship is overrated because people tend to focus only on the big winners like the Equity Bank growth story ama Muguku etc. The truth is that most self-employed people operate micro-enterprises that they can’t scale anyway. Unapata mtu ameoperate kinyozi moja for 15 years.
Personally I wouldn’t leave jua kali but I admit that I’m an outlier. The reality is that most entrepreneurs are worse off than employees.
:D:D:D:D:D:D wakenya huwa aggressive and ambitious that is why prosper everywhere we go in the world.Kila mkenya anataka kutajirika shida ni opportunities huku kenya hakuna. Rais wetu ruto anafaa kufungua factory halafu waemploy kama 3 million kenyans halafu waongeze minimum wage ya workers uone watu wakiacha kulia shida.
Mhindi has money to justify his decision. Nyeuthi has no money after 15 years. Maybe if nyeuthis can show the fruits of their vinyozis my mind would change.
Entrepreneurship has an element of surprise, you might be a class 4 dropout and end up a millionaire which is impossible when you’re employed.Also not all people even learned have the luck to secure stable employment.
Nimekuja ku learn life haina formula. Kuna kinyozi mtaani alichange fortune zake by being a land broker …jamaa 2021 aliuza shamba owner alikuwa anataka 6M for 15M pocketing more than the owner…
:D:D:D:D:D… input vs output ratio ya employee vs employer is different , from education, time, capital ,risk management,work life balance, scalability, expansion, financing options, inheritance ability etc ,tuanzie hapo ,my guy
Much depends on what your definition of fruits are. You see we all have different aspirations. Wewe labda unataka kununua range rover na uko tayari hata kuuza mkundu kwa wazee while mwingine atafurahi sana watoto wakimaliza shule na ajishikie kashamba kadogo. While Africans are stealing their futures to buy used cars from Asia and Europe today, Scandinavians wamechoka na magari mpaka their biggest apiration is to own the latest bicycles.
Been thinking of this too
Hard decision to make. Especially when I see someone who left a job with some well paying multinational to hustle out here for small money. His coward colleague earning upwards of 500k with generous (x4) bonuses
There is some truth in the idea. Employees, particularly those earning a decent amount could be much better than entrepreneurs because they feel comfortable with what they get and can plan their lives around this. Entrepreneur naye has a lot going on in his life and with his business to achieve success, which is not guaranteed. So, employees may have it easy in life than business owners.
A guy like me would never make anywhere close to what I make in Jua Kali ningekuwa employed. Most likely ningekuwa somewhere in these Big 4 companies working like a donkey. For me the trade-off was worth it. Lakini I don’t think most people are that lucky, for example your friend hapo.