Iran ambassador denied visa to go to NY for UN meeting

The United States has denied a visa to Iran’s Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif that would have allowed him to attend a United Nations Security Council meeting in New York on Thursday, a US official said.

Monday’s comments by the official, who spoke on condition of anonymity, came as tensions escalate between the two countries after the United States killed Iran’s most prominent military commander, Qassem Soleimani, in Baghdad on Friday.

Under the 1947 UN “headquarters agreement,” the US is generally required to allow access to the United Nations for foreign diplomats. But Washington says it can deny visas for “security, terrorism and foreign policy” reasons.

The US State Department declined immediate comment.

Zarif wanted to attend a meeting of the Security Council on Thursday on the topic of upholding the UN Charter. The meeting and Zarif’s travel had been planned before the escalation in tensions between Washington and Tehran.

The Security Council meeting would have given Zarif a global spotlight to publicly criticise the US for killing Soleimani.

Iran’s ambassador to the UN, Majid Takht Ravanchi, has described the killing of Soleimani as “an obvious example of state terrorism and, as a criminal act, constitutes a gross violation of the fundamental principles of international law, including, in particular … the Charter of the United Nations.”

Zarif last traveled to New York in September for the annual gathering of world leaders at the United Nations - after the United States sanctioned him for implementing “the reckless agenda of Iran’s Supreme Leader.”

The sanctions block any property or interests Zarif has in the United States, but he says he has none.

Zarif also attended UN meetings in April and July. During his July visit, Washington imposed tight travel restrictions on Zarif and diplomats at Iran’s mission to the United Nations, confining them to a small section of New York City.

UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres spoke to US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo earlier on Monday.

State Department spokeswoman Morgan Ortagus said in a statement the pair discussed events in the Middle East and that Pompeo “expressed his appreciation” for Guterres’ diplomatic efforts.

Source Al Jazeera

US is a declining power

Hata wamnyime visa Iraq wanatoka wapende wasipende.

Very interesting times we’re living in

[SIZE=5]Village idler , yaani umeamka asubuhi ku-post nonsense badala uende kazi ukatafutie watoto???!

Halafu december uanze kulia tena about being broke, sijui taxes of death…

[ATTACH=full]279122[/ATTACH][/SIZE]

[ATTACH=full]279132[/ATTACH]

Peleka mom apigwe penicillin shot. Acha aibu ndogo ndogo

[SIZE=5]The Iranian minister is being paid by his govt. to make noise… village idler has ktalk paid you to post this story?

But of course I forgot you snack on pride and self esteem not ugali and sukuma wiki. Carry on.[/SIZE]

Hadi unabookmark matusi ya wenyewe… what a village idler. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Ati sasa ulikuwa umeiweka in storage… matusi ya wenyewe… ati ndio utumie one day in future.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Instead of stockpiling money in your bank account you are stockpiling nonsense? Look at your priorities @Yunomi?

After your comment you get this reminder

[ATTACH=full]279133[/ATTACH]

I’m having lots of fun. Sijui if it’s the same for you:D:D

Oh yes. Nabado sijapiga screen shot ya MrsShosho exposing you as a perennial troll who destroyed a web forum

But first enjoy this screenshot [ATTACH=full]279134[/ATTACH]

I bet you have bookmarked that mzee mzima thread with the heading “Patco mshenzi!” :D:D:D:D:D

Keeping it in your bank account.

You cannot pay for a hotel in Mombasa with bookmarks, pride or self esteem. They only take cash not bookmarks.

:D:D anything that exposes you is gold to me. Omba I don’t get banned because you will get that reminder of what your mother does at every turn.

One more time for shondemonger

[ATTACH=full]279136[/ATTACH]

:D:D sasa tena umehepa patricia? Au ni client unabadilisha diaper ndio urudi?

Halafu recently ulisema you appreciate being given likes ati that is why you live in ktalk.

Zile likes ungepewa kwa hii thread zingenunua mikate ngapi leo jioni upatie bibi na mtoto ?

Get you priorities right man. Don’t blame Uhuru and his taxes for your poverty. @Yunomi you are just lazy.

For you I don’t even have to think of a good answer because this screenshot says everything that needs to be said

[ATTACH=full]279139[/ATTACH]

A man who talks like this is not a man… he is a lazy arrogant bugger!!!

Ati you would die if you had to sweat?! What a lazy buffoon.

[ATTACH=full]279138[/ATTACH]

What went wrong that your mom had to result to doing these types of things??

[ATTACH=full]279141[/ATTACH]

“I would die if I had to sweat.”

Halafu December you will be here blaming your poverty on Uhuru, the Iranian oil crisis, the Australian wild fires …

“The Iranian oil crisis has destroyed my savings. I cannot take my family to Mombasa. There are better things to do with 20k.” :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

You know untreated STDs lead to permanent destruction of body organs.

Here you go again
[ATTACH=full]279142[/ATTACH]

Do something to save your mother :smiley:

Patco finish up changing that diaper ukujie sweep zingine. Nilikuambia I’m enjoying this.