IOT is the future

https://www.slashgear.com/roomba-vacuum-cleaners-now-take-orders-from-amazon-alexa-15478735/

kama huwes click dedi

Sigwesi

the next frontiers are no longer android apps and rapid app development as many youngins have been misled to believe, the way i see it, IOT and big data are the next big things (the new damsels on the block waiting for any one to knock them off their feet and make it big)

mungich wa London siweessss click upussss yako

Iot is stupid to say the least, people putting microphones and cameras and other spy tools in their houses and throwing away their privacy. Why you may ask? Just to get their toasters on the the internet. The real goal of iot is to sell your privacy and create a botnet army for someone to command.

with any technology comes a weakness that can be exploited, also every thing has its own advantages and disadvantages, but in terms of IOT i think the pros outweigh the cons

just look at the current implementation of M2M , a vehicle, nay a ship in deep-seas can send a distress signal to any other ship any where in the world and request for assistance, has the ability to select the nearest in that order, can mean the difference between going the MH370 route and getting back home to your folks.

imagine when you get home completely knackered and there is no one to open your gate, you vehicle dials your gate and tells it to open

imagine your jalopy has broken down on some desolate corner of the highway at some ungodly hour, and your jalopy dials the nearest AAR or service station, means rescue gets to you before you are mugged

imagine how this can solve the human wildlife conflict, a collar fitted on an animal communicates with a base receiver to tell it there is wildlife in vicinity, base receiver then activates alarm (internal) and to warders and flood lights and warning sounds push back wild life on its own

the list is endless

Already there is Mirai botnet which uses IOT devices as slaves for ddos attacks
GitHub - jgamblin/Mirai-Source-Code: Leaked Mirai Source Code for Research/IoC Development Purposes

madharau utawacha. jinga ya freearea

Wewe ulihamia big data?

Like cameras in the microwave?

am already using my own proprietary DB (custom to my needs) stores everything as binary JSON structures due to the dynamic and complex nature not to mention the volume :D:D

btw have checked that repo and there is one part that stands out (below), do you think this is a safe approach? what happens if eerno != 0 and DEBUG is not defined, and its inside a while true :D:D

{
    /*truncated*/
    while (TRUE)
    {
        for (i = 0; i < targs_len; i++)
        {
            char *pkt = pkts[i];
            struct iphdr *iph = (struct iphdr *)pkt;
            struct tcphdr *tcph = (struct tcphdr *)(iph + 1);

// For prefix attacks

/*goes ahead and defines attacks here*/
        }
#ifdef DEBUG
            if (errno != 0)
                printf("errno = %d\n", errno);
#endif
    }
}

will download and analyze more for education purposes only :smiley:

Tulia God wa programming mimi sijui low level languages like C. Signed up for my first C class jana on Harvad’s CS50

wachana na blasphemy, atleast remove the capital G :D:D

IOT for personal use is a security nightmare…But for corporates and manufacturing co that need to monitor everything they have a foothoold on…it will mean better security and less wastage

Big data is the one reason I’m yet to decide which programming path to take. Everyone is rushing to android and Swift while the mega corporations of the world are building super mega databases with few people to run them.

In my earlier days I used to work as an internet researcher for a certain company to pay for uni and the amount of info they were collecting was stupendous. And that was the US alone.

In your opinion, whats the definition of “modders” and what’s the definition of “coders”

IOT will is already here with industrial automations especially in manufacturing…start with Simatic step 7 then Simatic IOT…Industrial application is where I see the real opportunity but you have to work for siemens, Abb etc plant manufaturers…Retail IOT will come as a product not customizable and uptake will take time

the honorable member was talking about big data and not IOT

Learn hadoop, NoSQL or GO…Though market for these skill is in silicon valley Not kenya…

i disagree with the part i have highlighted in bold, i personally have been using Postgre NoSQL for some time and as i have mentioned in a post above, i even have a custom proprietary DB right here in Ke, so believe me the market is there :D:D