Intermittent fasting

Nimecheki comments zako about intermittent fasting.nipe more insights about this shhit
Am 94kgs…Height 1.8M…male .28yrs
Nataka nitoke overweight bracket BMI
@Nyamgondho

dont fast. your body needs its daily dose of energy and nutrients. tafta mahali kuna mjengo. chukua off ya 6 days. morning rauka, uvalie jeans ya kazi, enda mjengo wakupatie job ya kupandisha sand na mawe 3rd floor. chapa job daily for 6 days. By 3rd day mwili itaji activate, mafuta itachomeka yote. Saturday go weigh yourself.

Eat early. Don’t eat anything past 2 pm

So unataka mzito aende akapige zege?

Do not starve yourself needlessly. Just watch what you eat. Yaani be choosy. Eliminate all carbohydrates from your diet. Eat what is necessary to keep you going. But no carbohydrates, at least for sometime. A diet without ugali or chapati is severely punishing by itself. But at least utazoea kuvumilia the pangs of hunger. Don’t let yourself get over-hungry (this will cause stress) but still don’t over-eat.

You know very well that you will have to be sure of what you want and start embarking on the journey to it’s achievement in phases. Discipline and willpower is what will determine whether you will get there.

You have a BMI of 29 which means you are in the overweight category but bordering obese.

There is a lot to write about intermittent fasting. And many versions of it. I can’t write everything now. I will just give a few notes

1. Food stays in the stomach for a maximum of 12 hours (stomach and small intestines). After that, glucose in your bloodstream gets depleted.= which triggers your body to enter into a fasting phase.

2. During this phase of low glucose, your body triggers ketogenesis which involves the breakdown of fats in your body to provide energy. In my case, I do 16 hours of no feeding and a feeding phase of 8 hours. Intermittent fasting does not lead to the breakdown of proteins for energy so you can’t lose muscle. The actual fasting is approximately 4 hours for me. Because food leaves the stomach and small intestines after 12 hours. 4+12 =16

3. During the feeding phase, you can eat anything at whatever proportions you like.

4. There are many versions of intermittent fasting. My mentor used to fast for 24 hours every Wednesday and Friday. I tried it but I couldn’t manage coz of societal/family pressure. Others do 18 hours fasting - 6 hours feeding and so on.

5. Google and read about it and choose a programme that works. I have been doing it for 3 years. In about a hrs time I will have my first meal of the day. Fish na ugali lakini nitaanza na some nice starter na nimalizie na dessert.

6. The main drawback for intermittent fasting is that you are unable to eat large portions of food especially during the first meal after fasting. Ukikula chakula kidogo unashiba. I sometimes struggle with lunch but Jioni tumbo inafunguka nakula proper.

7. Choose a program that allows you to interact with friends and share meals with the family. Kama mimi sikuli breakfast but supper na lunch niko na friends and later family.

This is very brief ujisomee mwenyewe. soma pia the benefits. I don’t like avoiding certain types of food kama nyama choma so I prefer intermittent fasting.

The last thing I have to add is that our forefathers used to fast intermittently throughout their lives. This is in our 'DNA! Three meals a day for 365 consecutive days was unheard of in the 15th, 16th 17th and 18th centuries. Even today nomadic communities do not have three meals a day. Even in 1950s, no traditional African community would afford to have 3 meals a day for an entire year. This only came after modernization and increase in food security. And of course, has coincided with an increase in the prevalence of lifestyle diseases.

I don’t like dieting because it’s hard to choose what not to eat. I would rather stay a few hours without eating something and get used to it than to start denying myself certain delicacies in life. It’s a choice really;

it may not work for some.

My target is to lose 10kgs BMI irudi around 26…which isnt bad.sasa shida i love carbs sana especially rice.

They ate and ate and ate. But they only ate natural food, not junk and processed foods! Mianga, nduma, ngwaci, ndare, ndafifi, mbiru, ngawa, iria imata kana mwitha, uuki, etc! They ate whenever and wherever, even when they were out in the fields working. Ceremonial foods like alcohol and meat was what was eaten kimpango.

I removed all carbohydrates from my diet and compensated it by eating more meat and avocados, with minding of the quantity, of course! I also have a soft spot for githeri, mutungo(boiled maize) and roasted maize. Luckily they are not all that readily available where I reside.

Ulilose kgs ngapi when you removed carbs?

I am 5 ft 7. I was mostly 88kgs. Age *8. A flabby pot belly and tooth pick legs. I felt like killing someone whenever I looked at my nude image in the mirror.

Now, 11 months later, I am 67/68. The pot belly is still there but mostly recessed. Wanasema I need to lose 3 more kgs ndio nianze exercises. When I start exercising I will go back up to 68 or 70 kgs but with a more desirable figure. Yaani, that’s when I will be “fit”. From there, God willing, it will be what they call ageing gracefully.

Oh so where did they eat when there was drought? Did you know people used to farm the whole day without food and get back home in the evening to eat. Do you think hunters stopped hunting just to eat? Do you know the masaai and other nomadic communities still heard animals the whole day without even drinking water. Our forefathers ate and ate a lot of food. But it was never three meals a day and certainly not everyday of the year. Nowadays whether there is drought in Kenya or not people eat three meals a day

Good for you. I have lost more than 15kgs from 93 to 77 kgs. I don’t regularly check my weight and I am not dieting, just intermittent fasting.

There is an age you get na kapot kanadumu, ata upige gym aje.

@kush yule mnono hebu kuom iko watu wanakutakia maisha marefu.

Drought ni mambo mengine. When food was/is available inaliwa. You don’t want to say that they would work themselves hungry the whole day and where they are weeding is in cassava or sweet potatoes fields, do you? Besides, there were people who just couldn’t last the whole day without eating. Like a nursing mother!

No. They never drank this.

:D:Dthe true image of a sponsor

True when food was available they used to eat to the fullest. No restrictions whatsoever. Women worked throughout their pregnancy except when in labour. Every year, the woman was pregnant. When food was plenty, the stomach was always full. But drought was common. Insect and birds infestations also used to wipe out all the available food. For pastoralists, eating was never common. Same for hunting and fishing communities. Why do you think communities used to offer sacrifices for God to bring rain if there was plenty to eat? Even the Kikuyu often offered sacrifices to get rain. When food was plenty everyone ate as much as they can but going without food for days was common.

Today, we have a major drought every five years. Have you ever stayed for a day without food during these events? Just one day? Guess what? that was very common back in the day. Even going for days without food.