My 80-something year old mother and her help’s eyes are fixed to the lobotomy tube every evening, trying to unravel the twisting plots of Bollywood soaps with rather flat, monotonous Greek overdubs.
[ATTACH=full]100236[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]100237[/ATTACH]
IMHO, another Jubilee achievement is the digital migration and the liberalization of media. We have some pretty good local vernacular soaps, and the Mexican telenovella has found a competitor in these Bollywood soaps, even though they really do stretch the viewers’ imaginations to extremes. My old lady is still asking where they learned Greek.
@Nattydread unasema ya old lady. Try my 92 year old granny… Anajua saa za Inooro,3 Stones,Njata and the new kid on the block Kameme. Ustake jua what happens when she queries how they are able to fight like that n not die…
kwanza there was this show I used to love Uriri wa wendo…or something like that…one day I tune in and I wonder what bullshit is this and what happened to that lovely programme!
By the time unawekelea camera kwa ground hii Nairobi, government ishakutoza ushuru unakaa sijui aje. Furthermore, local stations aren’t willing to fund good quality local shows because the populace is satisfied by low quality cheaper shows. If it ain’t broke…