Morning??? hey guys i have always wanted to be an industrial designer but our universities do not offer such, this is something that i feel strongly about and i would like to pursue in the near future…any talker with such a background kindly share you experience in this industry…
Industrial designer like Edese Doret ama?
Yes…
I am not one but we work closely with them. Many Industrial Designers have a background in mechanical, electrical or material science. With an affinity for design. In KE the space is really constricted due to even lack of equipment to do such, most just have a 3D printer at best and almost never handle complex designs or products. We end up having to outsource that to a third party partner in another country
Wacha hekaya ziletwe tuskie.
@Gio, with all the billions flying around, why are we not yet well equipped.
I already have background in architecture and interior design.sometimes while working on projects we have to do with what is available… but am always thinking of how to improve/customize some of the products to suite that particular project.I think there is a bright future for industrial designers.
Industrial designer ni wewe. Hakuna shule. If you are good, your projects will sell you.
Are we talking about the same thing.
The skilla firstly to take an idea, develop and tune it, know how to work with software design tools then the machinery needed CNC, tooling, PCB formation etc testing facilities and capabilities are all a process of industrial design. That process of product dev through industrial design can run into '000,000,000s especially tooling costs. In Ke unless you have enough capital to build out your own original hardware doesn’t make sense to establish an industrial desigb firm locally few co will afford the services. In Africa think its only SA that has fairly well developed industrial design firms
Check out Universities in China!They offer the best Industrial Design Courses