Implications of the Finance Act 2018

“Housing fund not a bad thing. You get deducted 1.5% (tax exempt which means net you pay about 1%). Employer pays another 1.5%; meaning you are saving 3% but only contributing 1%. And this will be transferred to your pension or family after 15 years if you don’t utilise it.” -Mohammed Wehliye

[MEDIA=twitter]1043101113493405696[/MEDIA]

Shida kubwa ni management ya hiyo fund, NSSF inaliwa daily ukifika retire pale hakuna kitu ya maana unayo

wewe bora utapewa yako…

I’m i supposed to believe that.

I will go my way whistling

The thing is that I will not be eligible to get those houses. Will the government pay interest on my savings? I feel the gava is simply postponing a problem coz they need the cash and in their mind they think 15 years is a long time.

Sycophant

Exactly, typical mentality of “We will cross that bridge when we come to it”, for now we need money.

i respect your opinion. kindly let me enjoy mine:).

I hope that is the implication of the new taxes. Otherwise I see a situation where employers or employees will go to Court for interpretation. Hope @Okiya does it.

[ATTACH=full]195501[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]195502[/ATTACH]

What if you die prematurely? Unclaimed assets, anyone? Does that imply that next of kin wait for 15years for a measly one year’s 1% saving?

Yes, it’s the same idea with NSSF, the fund is supposed to be invested in housing and the profits go back to the owners of capital, but I believe problems ziko NSSF zitakuwa hapa

Your family claims

Kabisa…I have a bad feeling that this program is not even well thought out and it’s not going to be beneficial in the end.

I think we will wait for the Cabinet Secretary to make regulations under that section so that we can fully know how the funds will be handled.

Is there any govt controlled fund that is efficiently run ?

Eternal pessimists, nay, worriers…

Aiii…umeamuwa wewe na mediocrity leo nikama nyau na maziwa sio? Isorait… so if out of 100,000 retirees only 200 get paid that is okay…the 99,800 are just unlucky? Wapambane na hali yao sio? After all Uhuru is no god and the govt is weaker than a toothless mbwa koko right?

what is making you say only 200 will be paid? kwani wewe ni Muroti?