"I'm a female banker. My male colleagues are making me infertile"

Career Women & Opportunity Cost

Was talking to an ex-lover the other day and she was talking about how she is no rush to have kids at 32. She also talked about how she’ll only have kids 5 years into marriage. Then I came across this article the other day:

https://news.efinancialcareers.com/us-en/322642/im-female-banker-male-colleagues-making-infertile

Not sure if it’ll embed properly so…:

"I’m a woman in banking. I’m a vice president and am nearly a decade into my career in the investment banking division (IBD) of a European bank in London. I am at an age when you might expect to have a child. – I would certainly like to have a child, but I believe that my banking career is making it difficult for me to conceive.

When you’re a woman in your mid-30s, fertility is not a given. If you’re working 80 hours a week and are exhausted, conceiving a child doesn’t necessarily happen as easily as you might think. I know, and I am not the only one to have this problem. For women in finance, the heavy workload, the high stress and the lack of sleep not only make it difficult to find a partner, but are a recipe for hormonal imbalance and infertility. The longer I work in banking, the more that I feel that I’m being made to make a choice: the ability to conceive, or the opportunity to become an MD.

My male colleagues don’t have this dilemma. Not only are they able to have children easily (often with women who work outside banking) but their ability to start families is making it even harder for female bankers like me to do the same.
In the past few years several of my male colleagues have started families. They all take paternity leave (usually for around a month, sometimes for longer) and when they come back they often expect to work a bit less. As a case in point, I was recently asked to take on extra project by a colleague who’s a new father – he said he needs to spend time with his baby and can’t work as much as I do.
I’m stuck in a vicious cycle. The more that my male colleagues have children, the more that I am expected to cover for them and the harder it becomes for me to conceive. You can see why I’m annoyed.

It’s time that this dynamic is openly discussed. Plenty of women my age in finance have the same problem. It’s not considered appropriate to push-back when all the new fathers (and there are quite a few of them) expect their still-childless female colleagues to work harder than they do. Nor do any of these men take time to really understand the women they work with or to appreciate the sacrifices they are making for their roles.
Men and women are not the same.:smiley: Women can and will work as hard as men, but doing so often comes at a tangible physical cost. This is why a lot of the senior women in banking are childless. By comparison, most of the men in banking have children. Some women in banking choose not to have children, but for a lot of women it’s forced upon them. Men in banking need to be more sensitive to this – and to stop crowing about their children and expecting childless female colleagues to pick up the slack when they start dumping work on them and taking extra time off.

Laura McDonald is the pseudonym of a VP level banker in London."

What do villagers think about this monologue?

What do you think coz hatuja soma.

Summarize this shit in 5 main points and repost.

@Mrs Shosho njoo upesi

1 she works with male colleagues in banking world
2 it’s easier for men to start families because they have stable hormones and not affected by pressure related to finances
3 so when these men go on vacation or paternity leave they add workload to her
4 this in turn puts more pressure and makes her more infertile
5 men , please understand we women in financial world need to ferk and make babies so don’t overload us

I’ve seen a thread about breathing while black. This is one of those breathing while being Male.

Mwambie akuje kwangu,My fast & furious sperms hazijui hii sentence

Thank you sir:D

In one: a woman is lamenting her choice to pursue a career in financing because it’s taxing and means she has less time to focus on starting a family. She blames (married) men because they choose women in less taxing careers to have families with - they get paternity leave and she has to work more, which further reduces her chances to get kids (in her opinion).
Somehow men should be aware and focus on her problems and focus less at home so her work load can be reduced.

Something like that…

:smiley: Pengine eggs si fresh. Nikupe through pass?

you know, ejaculating in 3.5 seconds doesn’t mean that your sperms are fast and furious

While I really hear what she is crowing about (coz I know people in the same situation), I do not think it is the employer’s/colleagues fault that she has not started a family. Ist port of call should be to get herself a man who shares the same values, the rest will fall in place. Tough laws and regulations are in place. No one can bully you in all matters family here…as you could sue them for millions of pounds.

2ndly women have to work twice as hard as men if you want to climb to the v top. Even the white ones. Thrice if you are ethnic minority like me. It really is your call to make your work life balance work. Women Directors and Deputy Directors are v few at my work place and heck this is the public sector. They are ruthless, cold and conniving bishes and I avoid them like the plague. I never burn bridges so I have maintained contacts with some of them and I have seen them cry over a glass of wine because alifika huko juu and child bearing years are way behind her and there can be nothing worse like the yearning for a child! Trust me on this one. There are many opportunities to enable you to raise your family. Working from home, working term time when kids are in school, flexible working patterns/hrs and all that. I could go on and on…but my point is, only she can make that call even if it means changing careers instead of ranting online. Get a good man, change jobs if need be to enable you raise a family. Heading towards 40’s bila toto can be a slippery ride unless you don’t want one. I work with women whose hubby is the house husband. No shame in that at all.
Personally, I have had to veer away from jobs that could have led me down that path that left me no room for raising a family i.e jobs that required long hrs, lots of travel and I realised quickly that I was a ‘token’ ethnic minority female for them to promote easily(affirmative action) to be seen they are ‘with us’…something had to give. I am working on both happily and without the perks I would be enjoying if I was single and ambitious.

p/s IT IS HER CALL.

We have banking career women in kenya but they still pop babies . I think she must be a woman with traits that are unattractive to a mating partner. It will be hard to have someone like Betty Kyalo complaining of that in her job as a banker.

Huyo ex-lover wako in two-three years ataanza kukuomba sperms… You inseminate and then she will “take care of the kid.” And then if you fall for that bait tutakuona kwa hekaya section five years from now ukituhadithia venye unakatwa 15k child support from your 30k salo

Abba…you have mboches and mama nguos and school buses. Nada here unless you fork out an arm and a leg. If I was in Kenya, I would pop out 4.

That’s a smart career move you made… Many women would go on full throttle and then wanafika late thirties na kupata the unfortunate surprise of difficulty to conceive (i.e. if they find a husband in the first place)

Maybe. But finance in developed economies can be rough. Jordan Peterson says the same of high profile women lawyers. He says after some point in law, where women have made partner they change gear and opt to have families and a slower life.
80+ work week is no joke.

The science is clear about this.

Some women are not aware of the burden of choice and suffer a lack of foresight.

You see the men in the article have opted to marry women who aren’t in the same industry.

Choices mate…choices.

:smiley: Thanks for the warning kaka. Don’t worry, niko chonjo kabisa!

which means that men and women can’t be equal. The earlier women realise this and accept their place in society, the happier we’ll all be.

No we’re not. Maybe under the law.
But under nature, no. Men aren’t even equals among our gender.
This is the problem with equality of outcome doctrine being preached nowadays. Equality of opportunity - yes. The former, fuck no!