The local council has just officially announced that no more aid, relief or donations are required and that anybody seeking to offer help should come back next week at the earliest since they have been overcome with the help they received from all over the UK.
More than £1000000 has already been raised and that is from just well wishers dropping by and leaving cash!
While this kind of building represents poverty and social housing for low income earners or jobless people in the UK, Grenfell is different.
It is bang in the middle of one of the wealthiest boroughs that make up London as a city.
If you’re going to get caught up in a natural or man-made disasters, you wouldn’t be doing too badly if you’re in West London!
Saying that, money and things can never bring back loved ones and the dear memories.
@Ka-Buda
I have just replied to Mrs4thletter elsewhere. What happened in Kensington is simply unbelievable and has put the United Kingdom high up on the wall of shame in the world. They are so ashamed right now, words have failed them. They can pretend all they can but it is not looking good. I am waiting for the gaddamn report. Why were young parents with kids housed in a high rise building? in my borough all parents on benefits with kids are not socially housed further than the 3rd floor! End of! Some people will lose their jobs and quite right.
Heartbreaking following the survivors’ stories.
I will be wearing my spot racism goggles when reading the ‘report’.
Seriously, Hackney is no longer the ghetto it used to be in the 90s . It’s proximity to Central London plus alot of targeted regeneration programmes by the gava means that Hackney,Brixton etc are now very desirable places to live and house prices have rocketed.
Naona kama most of them are refugees from North Africa and our own neighbours Ethiopians and Eritreans. I read somewhere in one of the daily rugs that some firemen were spotted just staring at the fire and not doing anything. I agree! some professions like being a fireman, a teacher, a policeman are full of white supremacist haters.
I agree with you kabisa @Ka-Buda, something stinks from where I am sat to the high heavens! wacha I fasten my seat belt and see how they will deal with the newly created 2000 homeless people.
May God be with them.
And the mayor has just got himself in some sticky situation by assuring residents that they will not be rehoused outside London!..
Unless he is going to rent out two Hotel Ibis ,I don’t see how that is possible.
The truth will soon be out one way or the other.
Huyu Mayor is something else altogether. Word, he is an arse licking imbecile. Aende drying…Am sure you know how Asians like to Lord it on us Africans. Worse than the white folk. Wacha tuu tuone! Jeso!
Am good, thenks for aksing na sikai East Lando but some of my good friends do so am always well tuned in. East London is home away from home/NBO for me. One friend gave me contact deets of a young Kenyan couple cooking real good chapos, mandazis, Samos and delicious grilled chicken(word of mouth). I placed an order and went to pick the stuff up. Mouth watering!!! no more slaving by the oven again.
Bae would you like to meet Ian Wright too? I will be waiting outside as you rave about Arse Magunia!! and there is this other kid in your team. The Ox- chamberlaide kid. Is Danny Wellbeck still on?
London in my estimation has the radius of Thika, Limuru, Ndeiya, Isinya ,Machakos etc, relative to Nairobi CBD.
And between it there are 33 local councils (Boroughs) which are basically Local governments kama vile Counties but these boroughs also are Cities in their own rights so they have different Mayors but the main City of London Borough is what represents London as City.
Saying that,there is also Central London which is where the likes of the London Eye,tower bridge ,Buckingham palace etc are situated and Yes, to answer your question,there are people who live there including the queen herself.