That is, survive before you begin downgrading eg go from driving to using a Ma3, avoiding the local, shifting your kids school?
Like Robert Kiyosaki says: Real wealth is measured in time, not money. And it makes sense.
I survived 9 months. The average is 1-3 months. It taught me never to depend on one career. And also forced me to change my understanding of money . Just having a good job is a trap. Debt is actually a good thing if you use it to generate income. Buying a car, even with your own funds, is the complete opposite. This is actually picking up debt, to support a lifestyle.
The worst trap.
Makes one to stop thinking just because you expect something at the end of the month.
If you are going to jua Kali, it’s advisable to take time and plan for the transition. I decided to move to JK sector 10 years ago and it took me 2 years to transition.
Employment is a scam. The employer uses all your energy to generate income for him. I encourage recent graduate to use employment to better their skill. Acquire capital to go out and employ themselves.
Kuna pal alimwaga unga end last month and the first thing alianza kufanya ni ma phone calls…hapo ndio alirealise hana any…shes like a deer caught in the headlights…pole poke ka depression kana ingia…amerealise it was all an illusion.
Having side hustles that pay at least your major monthly expenses like rent, electricity, water and food, can help you survive. Losing your job can sometimes be a good thing if you have side hustles because it pushes you to focus more on them and grow them into your major sources of income.
Self employment is nothing but responsibility and non stop problem solving with no relief.
If you dont like problems,stay employed. The truth is that a majority of human beings are not cut out to be in charge; they are just followers. Most self employed people have never been employed anyway,even when they tried they soon got sacked for one reason or the other because its just not in their DNA. Most employed people who quit employment to be self employed dont last 3 years tops before they go back to employment.
You are either born an employee or an employer.
Tusidanganyane priss…
The balancing act ya job na side hustle ndio kitu inafaa tu discuss one day…its not easy man…vile azor aliwa ambia time fulani afadhali uchukue over time you earn more doing what you do best.
Sijaona na macho yangu msee ako kwa private sector akona side hustle ya maana EXCEPT civil servants…najua wasee fulani guva are full time farmers nyumbani kwao they visit their workstations once a year na mshahara inaingia vizuri saana…mmoja akona diploma ali enroll degree…by the way anasoma kama regular student hata hana wasiwasi haendi job labda mkubwa a summon the guy.
Guva ni crap bana.
But if everyone is self employed, who will work for you? We need security folks, guys to pick trash etc.
But the message is clear, how long can one survive if job is terminated? recently microsoft laid off Kenyan employees ,guys who were earning higher six figures . Most said they’ll go back to farming.
Nikifutwa kazi sai, first thing would do is sell Car and go back to mat3, would scale down to a bedsitter, got one kid, it won’t be a problem, try to expand side hustle with whatever money I get from selling the car. Self employment sio rahisi kabisa, side hustle imenionyesha Kuna ups and downs mingi, but the larger the investments the larger the returns