IEBC Must Go! But Quite Slowly.

[SIZE=6]IEBC selection panel receives huge list of 778 applications[/SIZE]

Six lawyers and a judge are among 13 applicants to chair the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission to prepare for and oversee the 2017 election.

IEBC Selection Committee yesterday also released a list of 765 people who have applied for the six commissioners’ posts.

"As a result of the unprecedented number of applications received, the consolidation of all applications has taken a considerably longer time than anticipated,"committee chairperson Bernadette Musundi said.

“Upon the conclusion of the consolidation and collation of the applications received, the Selection Panel shall publish the names of all applicants and their qualifications in the Gazette, in two newspapers of national circulation and on the website of the Parliamentary Service Commission,” Musundi said.

Two names will be submitted to the President, who will nominate one as chairman. He will receive nine names and nominate six commissioners.

(…)

The IEBC Selection Committee said it that next Wednesday it will publish the names of the applicants who metTuesday’s deadline.

Musundi added that after the publication of the applicants’ names and qualifications, they will shortlist the candidates.

“The Selection Panel will thereafter begin the shortlisting exercise and publish the shortlist. This advertisement will also invite the views of the public on the suitability of shortlisted candidates for a period of seven days,” Musundi said.

This will be followed by public interviewing of the candidates, which will be broadcast on live TV.

[B]“After conducting interviews, the selection panel shall select two persons qualified to be appointed as chairperson and nine persons qualified to be appointed as members of the commission and shall forward the names to the President for nomination of one person for appointment as the chairperson and six persons for appointment as members,” the law says.

Within seven days, the President will forward the list of nominees to the National Assembly for approval in accordance with the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act.[/B]

“The President shall, within seven days of receipt of the names approved by the National Assembly, by notice in the Gazette, appoint the chairperson and the members,” the law states.

The recruitment of the new commissioners arose from the enactment of amendments to the IEBC Act, which led to the resignation of the current ones.

[SIZE=5]This followed a negotiated process between Jubilee and Cord after the opposition held protests to demand the removal of the commissioners.[/SIZE]

I doubt that CORD expected this laborious and slow transition, where it could not unilaterally appoint the selecting panel or exclude the President from the process. Storming was easier!!:D:D:D

We had been told IEBC is going nowhere now the rhetoric is changed.

Still making unrealistic demands…at the expense of working the grassroots in positive ways.

[SIZE=6]Raila calls for fresh biometric voter listing before August 8 polls
[/SIZE]

[SIZE=4]Cord leader Raila Odinga on Tuesday asked the IEBC to conduct a fresh voter registration of all eligible Kenyans before the August 8 polls.

Raila said the new register should capture biometric data of voters namely fingerprints and iris recognition (of the eyes).

The ODM leader said that new listing, which he has called less than 10 months to the next polls, will end cases of ghost and repeat voters.

“The biometric voter register will be afresh. The current register must be rendered obsolete. We don’t want it to be used in next polls,” Raila said.[/SIZE]

Wish this childish negativity of mud smacking here between jp and cordiots can be turned into something proactive to help boggle mind about fraud at athi river water board …

We learned this week that there’s no mature politics anywhere in the world. Politics is dirty everywhere.

I totally know that but ain’t it foolish to assume that all had to be norm to everyone? Tz don’t have this childish nonsense ? I could be wrong though

Wish hii bidii uko nayo hapa kutusi RAO ungetumia kuelimisha shiny eyed ones mahadhara ya illicit brew .Wewe ukilala unaota cordiots, uki make love - cordiots, ukishondeka cordiots, …Kwani ulifukuzwa nyanza 2007 pev?

Sijawahi kuona mtu so obsessed with RAO kama wewe ,mpaka unashinda Akina @Wakanyama, @Young and @spear wa jubiots…wtf . Jeez

Ile kitu muhimu unafaa uelewe ni ati shida inakuanga Raila…always that is where the problem lie. You see ata wewe as an individual year in year out, at every election if you are always on the loosing side, you should take a step back and re-evaluate yourself, why is he not able to hold things together, even when he was prime minister, he never had control of that office, its obvious since he is contradicting what he did when in office then.

Raila, as an individual, will never be president, there are sooo many charismatic leaders from the western region, why don’t people there rise up and support them instead of the tin god!? that is my biggest question and then maybe the whole country can rally around them as a community!

If only I could give 50 likes!!!

@The.Black.Templar I feel you, and I agree to your criticism. You see for me personally I know Kenya needs a young energetic person at least with no stains, I agree lakini my issue is super obsession that people have to show disgust of someone.

We might not like someone but not to an extend of fantasizing and making yourself a bafoon of the same?when you wake up you buy newspaper and anywhere you see him,you mock him,make fun of his funs, make them look stupid and make yourself look smart. Hakunanga kitu ingine unasemanga …raira,raira,raira, bane you talk about raira more than even your wife? That’s my problem right there. .

Personally I can’t stand that jubilidiot called arap magardens. He is in the same level like Trump to me.

But do I come here looking in magazines and calling people supporting him names and referring to them as idiots. …no and i have never seen even you do the same like our brother @Nattydread does during breakfast,lunchtime,dinner and midnight snack. Hata the person here with the least “mass of soft white tissues stuck in between his 2 small ears” @Wakanyama doesn’t pull that bs . Just look at his ( @Nattydread ) avatar and it speaks volume for itself. The other day he had one where “raira alikuwa amelamba teargas and he was running or something”,this time he replaces it with the worst pic of his face…come on bro ,that’s someone’s hubby, dad mentor ,grandad and to me he is someone who put his life on the line during moi regime to bring you democracy to your door step and I’m sure by that time his balls hadn’t migrated from inner body to come hang outside …so heshima idumu kwake:)

People have reasons why they support who they support. If you don’t like them criticize their policies,politics but not fantasize and have obsession with their structure and personality. …Kinda makes you weird or a fun of Tyra banks show or even Bruce Jennings of kardashans…I’m out. :smiley: cc @Jirani