I screwed up an iMac...hekaya loading

Last night I screwed up the pins on the cable that connects the mother board to the lcd screen.
It was a slow day and I didn’t have anything to do. It’s almost end of a very busy summer and it’s one of those weekends you don’t want to do ANYTHING. It didn’t help that we had thunderstorms and I couldn’t even choma nyama. As I was slowly sipping my Captain Morgan, the devil whispered to me that it was time to “fix” a 2011 iMac. It runs fine, but recently it has been running very hot even after adjusting several settings. We only use it for surfing the web and for music (less than 100GB of files in it). From my previous experience with a similar machine, the thermal grease/paste between the major components on the mother board (GPU, etc) and the heat-sinks deteriorates after a few years. I’ve previously fixed a similar issue on another unit…
While at it, I figured out that I might as well upgrade the HDD with a SSD and up the RAM (there is another thread in the village about this). I went to my local electronics shop and got a Samsung 500GB ssd, 8GB RAM and thermal paste. I already had an ssd mounting frame and a thermal sensor harness from a previous project.
After I dissassembled the unit, sure enough, the thermal paste was dry and insufficient. I cleaned the old paste, dusted the unit, replaced the hard drive (took me about an hour to clone the old drive on the ssd) and added the RAM sticks. There are at least 10 wiring connectors on the beast. I put all the cables back (almost impossible to make a mistake because they’re all different sizes). Shida ilikuwa plugging the lcd harness back on the motherboard. The space was very tight, and I had to support the screen and flash light on one hand and squeeze my other fat hand behind a tight space. After a few unsuccessful attempts, pombe ni mbaya, I got pissed off, yanked the other end from the screen, put it in my mouth and bit it! That was a sure end to my project for the day. I’ve ordered a new cable and will have it delivered tomorrow.

[ATTACH=full]189015[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189016[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189017[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189018[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189019[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189020[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189021[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189022[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189023[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189024[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189025[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189026[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189027[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189028[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189029[/ATTACH]

Tools needed:[ATTACH=full]189030[/ATTACH]

Week picha vizuri. Unakosea wazee by making us squint

Jifunze kuweka mbisha

Usisumbuke niko na 10k uendelee na pombe.

Fixed, I think.

hahaha, wacha matusi kiyana. SSD yenyewe cost me that much ($107 plus tax).

hahahaaaaa… this is the funniest story of the year. Bear na IT hazipatani.

Kwani hio thermal paste unaweka kama matope? Isn’t that too much?

Blame the beer :smiley:

What is the functional use of that paste if I may ask?

And u claim to be a techie? I’d kick u out of this village for asking such a question!

Here is the Answer:

The Thermal Paste AKA Heat Sink paste acts ad a filler in between the Heat Sink and the Processor.
Processors are never same shape: AMD processors are Convex Shaped whilst Intel Chips are Concave…

The Heat Sink (The Copper…ish metal strip fits ontop of the Processor to conduct the heat generated by the processor and send it towards the fan to be vented out…however the fit may not be perfect as some tiny microscopic space is left between the processor and the heat sink.

This is where the Thermal paste comes in handy…to fill in the space and dissipate the heat much better to the heat sink…resulting into better cooling and better processor functionality…

Have you understood upto there sir? or shall I delve in deeper?

Good eyes. I had already fixed that.
The cable was delivered this (Monday) afternoon and I fixed it after work (took about 20 minutes to put everything together). I had to wipe the screens really well.
NOTE: You must manually enable TRIM support after installing the SSD.

If you don’t, blocks of data which are no longer in use (e.g after deleting files) will not be wiped, and the new drive will be clogged by unnecessary data. Check Mac forums on how to enable TRIM- it’s a straightforward process that takes less than a minute!

[ATTACH=full]189158[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189159[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189160[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189161[/ATTACH]