I Read This and I Was, What the Ferk?

Remember that posting about the largest landowners in Kenya? The ones cited are all White, and they benefit from Kenya’s wildlife, which is supposed to be a public resource (try keeping an antelope in your shamba and see what happens).

It reminded me why Mugabe is so hated by the West - he tried to undo that colonial shit where 4,000 white farmers owned 70 per cent of the arable land.

It triggered a memory I had about Francophone Africa.

Imagine this:

To allow its African colonies become independent, France signed a pact with all of them about the establishment of a common currency. 14 former colonies were involved.

The 14 countries were expected:

i) To deposit 85% of their foreign reserves in the French treasury. If they wanted to use it they had to borrow it at prevailing commercial rates.

ii) France retained the first right to buy any mineral or food crop from the 14 countries, whether it offered the lowest price or not.

iii) French contractors had the right to win any contract in the 14 countries, whether they were the highest bidder or not. I was shocked to learn that Gbagbo was deposed because he opposed a French firm building a bridge at double the cost the Chinese had quoted.

Believe it or not, these racist, crimes-against-humanity pact still remains! Just recently, a very senior French politician even admitted that without Africa, France would become a third-world country!

Why am I telling you all this?

When you ask the average African why the continent is poor, they’ll ramble on about corrupt leaders etc etc. Our education systems have failed to produce thinkers who can discern that when the former colonial rulers were leaving, they rigged the system with loopsided pacts and treaties that make us work for them like we were still colonies. Our lawyers are somehow unable to seek legal redress in international courts.

We have all beeen conditioned by Western media to blame ourselves!

In Kenya, for example, until the other day the British Army had the right to fly in everything they wanted without passing through Customs; their bases could not be inspected by Kenyan authorities, not even the president could step there!; the soldiers could rape and kill with impunity etc etc.

But the worst exploitation was in the economic field where British companies had virtual monopolies to supply government, especially the lucrative military and police. Until 1979 when the Americans supplied us with F5s, the entire military budget was going to Britain for second-rate hardware!

To their credit the British are not as rapacious, racist and bloodthirsty as the French, which is why most former British colonies are fairing much better than French ones. Kenya, Botswana, Ghana, Uganda, Tanzania, Malawi, Zambia etc etc together have had lesser coups than two former French colonies combined.

So, what is the purpose of this rant?

It is to ask the modern African that the battle for freedom is not yet won. We need people to take action to liberate their countries. Francophone Africa must break its yoke. Countries like Kenya must look for new equitable markets like India and China. Locally, we must ask ourselves, are we getting value for money for those thousands of acres owned by Whites in Laikipia? We must take legal action to get Constitutional interpretations on whether wildlife can be privatised. If foreigners should be allowed to have private militias in the form of rangers.

The new emerging world means that if we kept our act together, countries like Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and Rwanda could become newly-developed countries in the next 30 years; we simply can’t supply the coffee, flowers, sugar, eggs, rice, tea, pyrethrum etc etc that is needed in India and China. The demand is endless.

We must break the slavery bond with the West now!

22 Likes

We have thinkers but we prefer to elect tribal kingpins

And how well has the kenyan been protecting this public resource you are talking about?

Weren’t we talking about paving a park the other day?

I support the privatization of certain habitats and conservation areas as long as there is proper regulation. I lack confidence in our government ability to deal with land issues let alone wildlife.

Whats the point of ranting against Mzungu when we defend thieves if they come from our tribes ?

Ukipatia @Wakanyama Ol pejeta Ranch,kwanza atakula antelopes woote Na kuwekea akina @old monk sumu

Known to many but bottom line we are our own enemies. Any attempts to divulge from common practices is always met with criticism and lots of stupid and impractical ideas/suggestions just so that positive intentions wont come to pass…Lot headed by Gorilla Lord of poverty…

The thinkers aren’t much better than the king pins. They’re the guys who go to work for NGOs and they have a vested interest in us remaining poor.

I knew this thread was coming the hate and xenophobia is always expected from you.
Tembea hizo ranch and get the facts not scratching memsahib balls and thinking of posting such nonsense.

Yes we can stop slavery but how…our leaders crave for western approval…most of our development projects are bankrolled by foreigners, most of these foreigners wataharass waafrica wakiona rebellion kama Kuban imports, bans kupunguza aid, kunyimana loan
Most of our leaders huomba pesa ya election from abroad and as we say nothing comes for free
Ata minerals hatuwezi Fanya mining on our own
So where do we start?:slight_smile:

I will soon post a thread here to finish the lie that Kenyan leaders are the cause of poverty. With the exception of Moi - and I know this will earn me a tribal tag - Kenya has been growing steadily since independence. IN FACT, THE REASON WHY SO MANY KENYANS ARE POOR NI KUZAANA KAMA PANYA. HARD TO ADMIT BUT TRUE.

Between 1968 and 1974 when something called the oil shock hit the world, Kenya WAS DEVELOPING AT AN INCREDIBLE AVERAGE OF 10%. I think we were only second to South Korea. You all remember with Kibaki we were doing 5-7% in the first term until the Baboons decided to ng’oa reli. Now we are doing nearly 6 per cent and virtually every world leader has come here.

Lakini kuzaana kama panya always does us in. And the other issues I have raised, including poor distribution of wealth.

I agree with you Birdman aka @FieldMarshal CouchP.
This Musungu is riding us on gear No. 7.

The Grand Kwesson?
Germany after WW1, Was slummed with the Treaty of Versailles, a treaty that was so detrimental to Germany, from all aspects.
Germans didn’t just seat down and starting whining day in day out, with Pseudo Intellectuals coming up with all sorts of theories, on how to renegotiate, or work around the treaty.
The German went to war, knowing well the repercussions, and needless to say, that’s the reason @Jirani is in Dusseldof, enjoying some fine wine, good food, top notch pucci and getting fat.
So, let the Negros Understand, nobody is gonna hand it to them.

Siko düsseldorf…meffi

Replace Dusseldof, with wherever you are, sawa Kizee.

Don’t think that this guy created knowingly a Freudian slip
dussel = Dummkopf, Schlafmütze
dof = doof

Good joke for today in particular when reading den Quatsch des alten Mannes. Soll er die Ländereien übernehmen…

Thought you are living in Berlin?

For how long are we going to continue to blame the west for our short comings? Kenya has been independent for 5 decades and yet we have been unable to get our act together. We still hold to the same foolish belief of its our time to eat whenever our tribal overlord is elected as a president, its not the west which is forcing us to steal every resource meant to build our nation. Kenyan society has not embraced investing in its own people in terms of technical innovations, whenever someone invents something the society puts him or her down for example if a group of young ppl invent a local search engine who in this country will accept to invest in them? Blaming the west was only applicable during the first few years after independence after that its our own foolishness that is messing us up

I won’t pretend to understand the above statement

diverge mwalimu…

my take- the president, and former pres kibaki before him, have been on a mission to diversify our foreign interests so that we stop hanging of Queen ER’s petticoats…remember the “vomitting on our shoes” comment when we bought landcruisers for our police?

sadly the eternal pessimists (and i daresay and haters!) will be all over complaining how Netanyahu and Modi are inconveniencing their lives while the president is branded an international tourist derisively…

we cannot see the forest because of the trees…

further out Pombe refuses to sign a protocol that will ensure the whole EA exports more to Europe “because Kenya will benefit more”…

i do not like repeating this cliche but we are our own worst enemies…

Aljazeera has been showing documentaries of how France raped the so called Francophone countries

Ich wohne in Berlin bitch