I Am Giving Up

There has been enough talk about addictions around the village in the last week.
So yesterday I decided to see how long I can go without a smoke.
I did not know I was opening a can of shit…its been more than twelve,hours since I smoked my last cigarette around 2am last night.
I am irritable,I have a headache,can not concentrate,despite drinking coffee and tea for their small doses of nicotine,its not working. My mind is in overdrive gear…
I thought that I would try and do 24 hours without a smoke.
@tm wa klist you were wrong. Cold turkey is not possible unless its a cig or my life.

Mbloo, you just dont give up once boom. Hapana. You start by cutting down the number of sticks you were smoking a day, gradually until you stop. This is a noble thing you are trying to do, and I wish you well. Osa vinya

Make yourself busy. Take a long bus or matatu tour. Your mind is conditioned not to smoke in this situations.

You are trying shock therapy, cut down the number gradually vile umeambiwa

Take the easy way out. You don’t have to go cold turkey. There’s nicotine patches, nicotine gum etc If it gets really bad and you don’t mind losing your dignity, try an e-cig!

dont give up keep on keeping on

Cigarettes should be outlawed

also in the same predicament: used to smoke upto 30 cigarettes a day bt av cut down gradually; ths dys, I only smoke once asubuhi, when am going 2 bed n when drnkng: ts been a 3 mnth process but hopefully the cmng mnth naplan to cut down my smoking to when only drinking
try taking meat soup or oranges when you get an urge to smoke, it helps me a lot: also set a goal to motivate yourself, for instance, you could prmise urself a 2 day trip to mombasa after 3 months without smoking: av set tht for myself
personally av quit smoking on impulse bt I have my trigger factors like when am stressed or get some good news: l regret the day nilianza kusmoke due to peer pressure
Be strong

why would you wish to stop smoking?
it is one of my religions

Nicotine is easy to quit cold turkey as your body begins to heal the very First 20 minutes of smoking cessation. Those are signs your body is healing.

What you can’t quit at once is alcohol. You can die if you quit Ki jeshi

Never smoked never drunk or used weed. Have done or do all that cigarettes are thd hardest to quit. Any dopamine rush calls for one either from good shit popping or not. I tried ecig that were costly and worked half the time so talk about the experience bro.

Uncle Robot, i am very right. It only needs a very great level of discipline. Many people have done it voluntarily. I can give you a hundred examples.
Have you ever heard(or seen) smokers hospitalized for other reasons like fractures in hospitals smoking albeit their long stay in hospital?
Do you know how many people quit smoking after being discharged from hospitals? Very many.
Cold turkey is just the same, only that it is self driven.
This is the easiest way to quit smoking.
The moment you light another stick you are back to the first step, in fact you will chain smoke like three sticks back to back because it feels so sweet. One more thing, let no one lie to you that there is something like cutting the number of sticks or switching to milder cigarettes. It won’t work that way. you will find yourself doing a pack of menthol cigarettes in place of three sticks of Embassy Kings or Dunhill in a Brown pack.
Long after you quit smoking, you will notice how cigarette smoke is irritating.

I quit cold turkey and it’s almost 13 years now. After voting KANU out of power, we went for celebratory drinks with campaigners for one of the Mps who had just been voted in. We drank and smoked for over 18hrs.I finally went home and spent nearly 2days feeling sick, unable to eat or drink. I swore never to smoke again and have never done.

Ata mimi ni 12 years and counting.
And it was Cold Turkey; as in one day i was smoking and i asked myself why and that was the “second - last” smoke of my life.
I kept the rest of the cigarettes juu ya meza hapo sitting room and it was just after 4 days that i had one Last one and it almost killed me due to the Kizunguzungu…
Quitting Smoking Requires Will power.
Fombe is another story altogether… Sema Cold sweats,nightmares and Hallucinations!.. (and thats just the first night of being sober…!!!..)

When nth generation brews were abolished, some people were admitted to hospital due to sudden withdrawal symptoms. Some even died.

One day i reached the house drunk at around 3 am only to realize that i had no cigarettes on me.

It was raining heavily but I still got into the car and drove to the nearest nightclub to buy cigarettes as it was the only place in the neighborhood i was sure was still open at that hour.

I got soaked as i left the car to enter the club. The next day I woke up with a serious cold. I was coughing so badly that I had to go see a Doctor.

I honestly narrated the saga to him, and he bluntly asked me whether I valued my life and then proceeded to give me a lengthy lecture about the dangers and stupidity of smoking.

I went home and seriously thought about his lecture, the slavery of the habit and my priorities in life. I decided I was never going to smoke again.

I tossed all the cigarretes and lighters in the house into the rubbish bin and that was it.

Game over.

That was 6 years ago.

Cold turkey is very much possible @village robot. I did it and it’s been seven years of pure bliss. It takes will power, though.

Zile picha za fombe wewe huweka hapa huwa za nani?:confused:

jikaze and you’ll beat the urge. Was once a heavy smoker, worked in an organisation where only three smoked, and i was the only smoker in our team of 15 people, used to feel out of place.
Would wake up like 5 times to smoke. Hated the smell which followed me into the office after taking a fag. It was disgusting.
Its more than 15 yrs since i dropped the habit.
You’ll too overcome it.

I quit alcohol ten years ago after being diagnosed with liver problems and I have never looked back since.