[SIZE=5]The shut-down comes even after the Naivasha-based brewer had asked the taxman for a grace period to clear the tax arrears
[/SIZE]
In Summary
•CEO Tabitha Karanja has petitioned President Uhuru to intervene as efforts to get an audience with the KRA commissioner General had hit a snag.
• "KRA commissioner general had adviced CEO Tabitha Karanja to stick to producing row matirials for the Denmark beer plant due to be set up in Naivasha.
• “We will be forced to drain down all the beer and lay down over 250 direct employees.”
Tens of workers are set to lose their jobs at Keroche Breweries following a decision by the Kenya Revenue Authority to close down the company over a Sh332 million tax arrears.
The shut-down comes even after the Naivasha-based brewer had asked the taxman for a grace period to clear the tax obligation, saying the Covid-19 pandemic had adversely affected its revenue flows.
Chief Executive Officer Tabitha Karanja has petitioned President Uhuru Kenyatta to intervene, saying efforts to get an audience with the KRA commissioner General had hit a snag.
I like how KRA does it’s thing, would have been easier to take over the plant and run it. Those equipments are not cheap.
Fortunately Heineken is in Kenya now,to scew EABL, tired of the enzymes speeded up brewing
Yaani you destroy a local enterprise to make way for a foreign company. The arrogant bastard tells Tabitha to start selling raw materials. Hii ni madharau gani. If Uhurus’ NCBA can receive a 300 million tax waiver, the government should intervene and sort this mess. It will be a sad day if Keroche is shut down.
Hapa William aki sign contract, in blood- tunajua huyo jambazi, I will pinch my nose and vote for him
Do they owe the Tax being claimed by KRA? If so, then they should honor their statutory obligations like everyone else even if it means coming up with an arrangement/schedule for settlement.
Haven’t you noticed any local beer company lazima ipatwe na scandal??
They are ensuring we drink foreign poison hadi tukufe. We have very good mnazi drink na ingine ya wakisii niliskia ni ya bananas. That shit should be made in industrial scale coz iko poa sana.
Furthermore the variety of the Kenya Breweries shit is too small, I get upset when everybody is drinking horse piss called Tusker and thinking that’s something. We need to end this tyranny of beers.
Hio arrangement/schedule ndio KRA hawataki. Tabitha says she couldnt meet the previous arrangement due to Covid restrictions/ effects etc. The Government itself is borrowing money to cover the effects of covid on the economy lakina Keroche cannot be offered any flexibility.
August ifike, hawa watu waende nyumbani plus that mobster commissioner general
By closing the business you will not get the tax owned. Its high time KRA comes up with arrangement that allows the business pay its dues and also run the business
We all know that that can never happen to brookside and that they (brookside) probably don’t pay taxes at all.
Same with spectre international. Raila pays taxes the day he feels like which is never. Juu KRA hawawes dhubutu kukaribia hio gate yake. Wajaluo watatoka Kibera waende ofisi ya KRA na wachome hio nyumba yote na wabebe viti zote na thermos.
Upuss … Keroche ni majambazi na kuna vile walikuwa wantaka cheze KRA. Watu walipe hushuru. Or come with credible reasons /evidence why they should be exempt, get tax breaks or be bailed out. Kama rustling ni tax free juu ya hardships and risks involved … yetu inaeleweka.
UPUSS. Huyo Tabitha ni mwizi. She was under declaring taxes. Akashikwa. Hata nyinyi mkihepa VAT, si mtashikwa. Laws and order are made for reasons. She even lost in court. Twice. Alafau they entered a payment arrangement. Pia hiyo hakufuata. KRA tried to work with her, it didn’t work. Which means the only profit she made over the years was by absconding from tax arrears. What really is her legal claim? Once courts have ruled, they have ruled. All these thieving entities, Keroche, KQ, Chase… let them be shut down. Reality is, they can’t survive anyway if the law is followed. That 9b they owe can hire over 10,000 school teachers around the country.