HP Servers.

Vipi wadau. Jana, I stumbled upon 2 HP Proliant servers that were being auctioned by a SACCO. I bought them. None has RAM nor HDD.
Could there be market for them ama nijiundie gaming PC? One has capacity for two processors.

Wacha nicheke

Omwami saidia hapa baada ya kucheka. I bought each at 1k.

1k?kwani ni dl 350

ML370-G5

Hdsk itakucost plus ram bana

Wah. Haidhuru. Naona nimeungua. I’ll cannibalize it nitoe fans nikauze mbao mbao… Case niuze Kama junk.

That motherboard is the fakkin shit my friend. Also the psu is 800w! It can cupport an amazing gaming machine. I assume they have the xeon processors? If you put hard disc, a gaming card and ram, the value of the machine increases 300%

Dont expect a company to sell you a server/pc they have been using with HDD because you may recover their vital information. What you ought to do is buy HDD 1 TP or higher and RAM 16 GB and install OS. You will have a very good machine

In fact, this is what I thought about! If I bought it a t 1k, then assuming the others cost about 20k, I believe it can be a worthwhile venture. It has 2 Xeon processor ports,but only one is populated. Hmm, food for thought …

Thanks for this. I am now officially on the hunt for RAM and HDD. I’ll keep you posted.

Safi Bro.

If you walk to revlon plaza or old nation house hd and ram are dirt cheap. videocard ndio expe but search in shopit.co.ke you will get deals you wont believe. When you have finished you will have spent 40k. The specs on the resulting machine will rival gaming rigs going for 200k at gamers.

Do they have CPUs?
Do they have RAID controllers?
Those could be one of the few parts that you can sell second hand to someone in need. Keep those.
Otherwise, difficulty of finding controllers plus the cost of adding SAS disks will drain you.

But even if they had the controller, hizo HDD kupata siku hizi unaweza teseka. Unless you buy refurb, which is not recommended.

Pia naona RAM ni 667 DDR2 memory, hio ni ngumu kupata siku hizi.

You would use less building out a new PC than trying to resurrect these.

IOW, somebody already cannibalized them for almost all they are worth.

Verdict: I would salvage what is left, if anything and try to sell it off.

ram and hdd are dirt cheap. ssd is cheap nowadays too. a uhd ips(not TN) gaming screen with a DP port tech might beat the hell out of your pocket though. uhd TN screens are cheap but have a very bad colour reproduction ability.

Not to rain on your parade, but server hard drives (SAS) are quite pricey… a 600GB 15k RPM 2.5 drive could easily set you back 25k+. The RAM are special aswell… either registered or non registered. Servers are also very noisy for personal use, in my opinion.

Are both the servers G5’s?

I am yet to know what is in and what isn’t. I am optimistic though.

I appreciate your analysis. I’ll try to make something positive about it without hurting my pocket.

I am sure one is a G5. The other may be G5 or newer. I’ll get back with the specs asap. As for noise, I guess that’s a hazard one has to pay in the exchange of power.

Thanks for this gem. I’ll start from here.