Enda gym. Be atleast 100kg of pure muscle. Be as intimidating as possible. Be ready to defend yourself. Don’t start a pub if you are a coward who quickly runs away.
But also learn patience. NEVER ban people from the pub. Story za jana zikuwe za jana.
Don’t drink in you pub. Enda na huko nje, piga umalaya yako alafu urudi.
Never entertain mistakes. E.g Lateness - fire them on the spot,… I am sorry but you must be tough on them. Its the nature of the business
Make sure you have all their IDs when they start working and make sure the Police officer you are in bed with can easily pull strings to locate them that is if possible. These girls lie about their names and even some have fake IDs.
DOn’t fuck your employees. These girls come from all over the country with very tragic life stories (not all obviously). I am not discriminating but some carry all STDs, some are hardcore criminals, some are very clever and will soon bankrupt you as they have done it several times in other pubs all over.
CCTV all over.
Point of sale system that tracks everything. Make sure you monitor stock at all possible times
Dont encourage idlers at your pub. Kama hana pombe, aende.
Usichukie keg. Keg = money. na usichukie mtu juu anakaa broke/ugly/homeless etc… he can buy daily na huyo wa BMW anakuja once per 3 months
Ile najua ni biashara haitaki kuonesha wakas na debtors meno. Fuck your wakas ama muanze kuzoena halafu fungua kitabu ya walevi. Straight to bankruptcy.
Ume focus sana kwa employees. Picture the customers. Namba 2, I would say drink at your place na ulipe bill kama watu wengine……customers would always want to imagine the owner around.
Lastly, tembea kwa club zingine when there is a function - they will reciprocate.
Thank you for the information @Lordsavegery . After some due diligence, I want to try opening a pub that mainly sells keg na pia makali. The major competetive advantage is that I will seriously spend on a proper music system since hizi keg pubs zote nimeenda unapata wanaconnect some stupid old speakers na subwoofers za matatu. I reckon I can get more customers as a result.
Kuna pub flani ya keg hapa LD ilikua inaitwa Ras. It was a very big place na ilikua 2 floors and the music was being pushed by a Panasonic Hifi, redio size ya ile kwa hii picha nimeeka and it was really awesome. Ilikua inagonga mbaya sana and that was what made me and my friends love that place. [ATTACH=full]486779[/ATTACH]
If you want to make money but the hard way, then invest in a nightclub/bar. It’s a very very demanding business yenye inataka ukuwe present (or someone trusted) every day/night or as long as they are open. This is how you end up being an alcoholic ama mtu bladfakin kabisa especially kama unapenda pombe. Otherwise, your establishment will be used by our very bright kenyans to mint money for themselves. The nature of that business makes it extremely easy to steal from the proprietary, especially if you are also selling food, bitings and shisha. You can’t employ a person, pay them 10 or 20k and expect them to make millions per month for you without being tempted to steal. I’d do a wines & spirit business (located in a high-end mall) or a hardware any day of the week rather than a nightclub. All successful nightclubs in Nairobi are money-laundering fronts, usiwahi chochwa na mtu uchukue loan or use your hard-earned savings to put up a legit nightclub. Utalia. U will go back home naked. BIASHARA YA POMBE SIO RAHISI! Stay away from it unless you have a godfather in the industry to show you the ropes.
Pia hajahesabu wale mafala hupotea na bill, those that bring fake 1000/- notes to the club, those that fake M-PESA messages and they are quite many especially siku izi. It’s not uncommon uskie umeenda short ya 20K in one busy night, apana cheza na wakenya ikifika ni pombe.
There are several ways you can beat this, e.g. sneaking in your own stock or colluding with the suppliers to over-quote the delivery. Managers do this all the time na hutawahi jua, unless you are also the manager of your club. Running a club is a full-time business and don’t expect to excel at it if you start delegating its management to others. You have to be the first one in and the last one out. You have to handle all deliveries from the supplier personally and have a separate ledger for your stock which you randomly compare with what is in the club. Otherwise, utaifunga baada ya miezi mbili. The only way I’d invest in a nightclub is if it’s an extremely high-end place that doubles up as a cleaning unit for my not-so-clean proceeds.
Hehehe how many hours of CCTV can you watch in a day? Ama unafikiria CCTV footage iko na soundtrack kama movie. That thing rarely deters employees determined to steal from you, which they will unless you are always present in the nightclub. The only way to curb stealing is if you run that club yourself until you break even. Ukisharudisha pesa zako then you can bring on a manager.
The problem is that if you make it a habit to partake in your own club (and ofcourse hutalipa), the employees will always inflate your bill and use it as a conduit of theft. And being a nightclub owner hutakosa mabeshte wengi sana including women who will always piggyback on your bill, that’s how you take losses. Your best bet is to always be 100% sober ukiwa site. NEVER get high on your own supply. If you have to drink there MAKE SURE you pay. Otherwise utalilia choo.
Sasa tuseme umeandika waitress on a 10K salary, halafu ameenda short ya 30k in a weekend, what will you do? And then sometimes these shorts cannot always be traced to a particular employee, e.g fake currency. Most nightclubs are usually dimly lit so kuingiza manoti fake ni rahisi sana. We used to do all the time back when we had fake it to make it. I once paid a bill of 16K hapo Mercury Lounge na fake notes, chesa!
kwani hii ni place kienyeji aje,kuna cashier who “bills” waiters so that they order what customer wants.
so cashier asipobalance atajua ni nani.
fake cash hapo ni simple get staff fired and arrested.
Almost all cashiers (iskipokua experienced bank tellers) can’t tell a real note from a very good fake note, especially in a dimly lit place and given the volume of transactions. And as soon as the said cash has left my hands I bear no responsibility to it. It’s as simple as that. Huwezi nirudishia noti after walking from one end of the club to another halafu nizikubali. Are you mad?