How others view us. (long read)

I came across this article that tries to justify why mwafrica is an eternal peasant. How they coviniently avoid to mention 400yrs of wanton looting!
Why is Africa so poor while Europe and North America are so wealthy?
A few years ago, two economics professors, Quamrul Ashraf and Oded Galor, published a paper, “The Out of Africa Hypothesis, Human Genetic Diversity, and Comparative Economic Development,” that drew inferences about poverty and genetics based on a statistical pattern.

The world’s most genetically diverse countries (using their measure of what counts as genetically diverse) are in sub-Saharan Africa, which is the world’s poorest region. The least genetically diverse countries are in places like Bolivia, which have low incomes but not as low as in that region of Africa. There’s an intermediate level of genetic diversity among the residents of the middle-income and rich countries in Asia, Europe and North America.

Genetic diversity arises from migratory distance of populations from East Africa. Countries in east Africa have the highest genetic diversity because this is where humans evolved. Populations that settled in other parts of the world descend from various subgroups of people who left Africa at different times. Thus, these groups are less varied in their genetic profiles.

Ashraf and Galor put this together and argued that this is “reflecting the trade-off between the beneficial and the detrimental effects of diversity on productivity.” Their argument was that a little bit of genetic diversity is a good thing because “a wider spectrum of traits is more likely to be complementary to the development and successful implementation of advanced technological paradigms,” but if a country is too genetically diverse, its economy will suffer from “reduced cooperation and efficiency.” Thus, they wrote, “the high degree of diversity among African populations and the low degree of diversity among Native American populations have been a detrimental force in the development of those regions.”

Any claim that economic outcomes can be explained by genes will be immediately controversial. It can be interpreted as a justification of the status quo, as if it is arguing that existing economic inequality among countries has a natural, genetic cause. See this paper by Guedes et al. for further discussion of this point.

When the paper by Ashraf and Galor came out, I criticzed it from a statistical perspective, questioning what I considered its overreach in making counterfactual causal claims such as:

… increasing the diversity of the most homogenous country in the sample (Bolivia) by 1 percentage point would raise its income per capita in the year 2000 CE by 41 percent, (ii) decreasing the diversity of the most diverse country in the sample (Ethiopia) by 1 percentage point would raise its income per capita by 21 percent.

I argued (and continue to believe) that the problems in that paper reflect a more general issue in social science: There is an incentive to make strong and dramatic claims to get published in a top journal

My criticisms were of a general sort. Recently, Shiping Tang sent me a paper criticizing Ashraf and Galor from a data-analysis perspective, arguing that their effect goes away after including allowing for a “Eurasia” effect, from Jared Diamond’s hypothesis in his book, “Guns, Germs, and Steel” that Eurasia had an economic advantage from two sources: the availability of domesticable animals and a more favorable geography in that innovations could be spread along east-west rather than north-south axes, with these two features favoring the development of agricultural societies.

Tang writes:

… we provide a systematic econometric rebuttal against Ashraf and Galor, based on Ashraf and Galor’s (2012) own data. We do not question the possible link between migratory distance and predicted genetic diversity: We give Ashraf and Galor the benefit of doubt that migratory distance is a good proxy for predicted genetic diversity. Neither do we challenge the link between genetic diversity and innovation or the link between genetic diversity and cooperation/conflict, although we do wish to note that the case presented by Ashraf and Galor (2012) on these two possible causal links has been weak at best. . . . Finally, we do not even challenge the data collected by Ashraf and Galor: We assume that all of their data are valid and accurate. Instead, we attempt to unambiguously show that even with their own data, Ashraf and Galor’s (2012) results cannot hold after controlling for a key variable that is missing in their inquiry.

I have not tried to evaluate the details of Tang’s reanalysis because I continue to think that Ashraf and Galor’s paper is essentially an analysis of three data points (sub-Saharan Africa, remote Andean countries and Eurasia). It offered little more than the already-known stylized fact that sub-Saharan African countries are very poor, Amerindian countries are somewhat poor, and countries with Eurasians and their descendants tend to have middle or high incomes.

That said, this new paper by Tang could be useful in that it criticizes Ashraf and Galor on their own terms.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/monkey-cage/wp/2016/04/24/why-is-africa-so-poor-while-europe-and-north-america-are-so-wealthy/

I read this article on Washington Post and it’s crazy how they’re trying to explain away the economic disparities on too much genetic diversity? Is that supposed to be a bad thing? I was under the impression that species with greater genetic diversity are more likely to adapt and survive in varied environments? The comments are what got me. Even today, you can see the Western mindset that’s so inclined to racist Darwin and his classification of humans. He measured and weighed the brains of an African, Indian, Caucasian man and came to the conclusion that the African brain was the smallest in size hence their natural intelligence is also the lowest of all races. Their nether regions were the largest by measurement which he attributed to the black man’s degree of savageness. Thanks to DNA, we now know that race is a social construct. 99.9% of all human DNA is the same, in all races. The genetic diversity we see that replicates the blonde/blue eyes or black, wooly hair is only 0.01%. How can that small percentage be responsible for the glaring disparities in economic development?

Africans are sort of communists/socialists. No one does things different and no one wants to try any thing different. Nobody thinks out of the box.
In the twenty first century, africans insist on jembes and iron knives for tilling land, sometimes spending weeks or even months/hundreds of man-hours on a few acres.

The only advantage that catapulted the white man to the top of the food chain is the discovery of gunpowder. Without whitie’s advanced weapons Africa would be different today. Even the technological advancement he enjoys today was made possible by the availability of almost limitless resources plundered from the rest of the world. Historically, conquering nations tend to enjoy a big boost in technological innovations, from Egyptians, Greeks Romans etc.

I agree with you, but if you think about it, all other races were at one time practicing this communal/ socialist lifestyle. Their systems evolved because they enjoyed centuries of relative peace and stability. With Africa it was different because that social evolution was disturbed and halted at a critical stage. The continent lost critical manpower to slavery and also resources through the plunder that accompanied it. For a society to evolve it requires a certain critical mass( population growth) that never happened in Africa for several centuries. Meanwhile the rest of the world was forging ahead. How then do you even start comparing.

Hapana. they never enjoyed centuries of peace. White man has been fighting all along and the past 70 year period is probably the longest time of peace just because they now dread each other.
The problem with the african is not intelligence. Its sheep behaviour.
We built houses the same way, engaged in almost uniform economic activities, and we are never curious.

This is my theory.

Africans are naturally superior to Whites in all ways - we can outrun them, out-sing them, out-think them, evErything. SO WHY ARE WHITES AND ASIANS TECHNOLOGICALLY AHEAD OF US?

CLIMATE. For some reason, the Whites and Asians migrated to very hostile climates early on. To survive, they had to adapt, innovate and fight for the few resources. So while the African was walking in the warm sunlight ndethe picking wild fruits and catching antelopes, the White/Asians had to devise ways of keeping warm and storing food for the winter. If it run out they had to fight for it - better weapons. It is this spirit of innovation and adaptation that has kept the White way ahead of others.

The reliance of the African on natural largesse also introduced weaknesses. Commerce, innovation and adaptation were stunted. People conformed, because it didn’t pay to dare.

As to the condition of the modern African state, that is easy to explain. Most Africa countries are artificial constructs that cannot survive in the long run. Nation States MUST always be constructed along ethnic lines. Thus, in Kenya one viable Nation-State would probably have the GEMA at its core. Another would have the Kalenjin, and yet another would have the Maasai of Kenya and Tanzania. The Luo tribes of Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and S.Sudan could form a formidable empire if they wanted.

Trying to amalgamate these tribal ‘nations’ as we are trying to do is an exercise in futility. These different ‘nations’ have very little in common - not language, not culture, not even physical appearance. This results in perennial destructive competition, corruption (government property is seen not to benefit ‘my people’ so we can steal it) and political instability.

The Europeans know this - virtually all their nation states since 1945 are along ethnic lines - and the have had peace and prosperity. The last to become independent were the former Soviet republics (eg Lithuania, Estonia etc) and the former Yugoslavia. It is instructive that when the latter was split along tribes, peace prevailed! Today, singletribe Estonia is the fastest growing country in Europe, and is being recognised as a center of music and technology!

So, what way forward?

I think countries like Kenya must be ready to bite the bullet. If we are really democratic, we should allow any ethnic groups that want to secede to do so without bloodshed. Kikuyus have very little in common with Luos. Kambas have very little in common with Turkanas. Etc Etc. Instead of endless figting and bickering, those that feel shafted should be allowed to form their little countries and move on. I think devolution is the first step on this road.

And don’t argue that ooooooooooooh, the US is multi-ethnic yet it is the richest country in the world. FOR THE LONGEST TIME, EVEN NOW, THE US HAS BEEN A MONO-CULTURAL COUNTRY, WITH WHITE ANGLO-SAXONS BEING THE DOMINANT GROUP. Because this group far, far out-populated any other ethnic group and was/is far, far economically empowered, it enforces a political stability that lesser ethnic groups dare not disturb.

You think am wrong?

Draw a list of the world’s leading countries. THEY ARE ALL UNI-CULTURAL AND UNI-ETHNIC. Japan. China. Russia. Germany. The US. Britain. Italy. Korea. Etc Etc. ALL HAVE A DOMINANT (OVER 60%) ETHNIC GROUP THAT CONTROLS RESOURCES AND ENFORCES POLITICAL MORALITY).

GOOD LUCK TRYING TO GET RAILA AND UHURU TO SEE EYE TO EYE.

I’d think our problem, if one can call it that, is our environment and/or climate. Ours really is perhaps (arguably) the most ideal environment for a human being to live and survive in, in terms of an ideal climate (the Sahara was not always a desert), favorable temperatures, abundance of food, etc. In such a case then, contentment crept in and there was no real need it compulsion to innovate. Contrast this with the extreme northern and Southern Hemispheres where you must either adapt (wintry temperatures, etc) or die.

This right here

is the reason I never take Anglo-Saxon lectures on tribalism seriously. There’s no ‘worse’ tribalist than the mzungu so many of us adore. Today, even peaceful but multiethnic countries like Belgium are facing serious internal discord primarily along tribal lines.

in Yahweh’s original creation (rivers ,lakes, Savannah and tropical rain forests), the African rules. In Lucifer’s world (with [SIZE=4]smooth surfaces, right angles and metal vehicles[/SIZE]) the white man is king.The Asian is an anomaly though since he lack rhythm, emotions and don’t forget his/their Muroidea like reproductive strategies…:smiley:

i joke …we are all just dreaming:D:D:D

Your sentiments are true and valid up to the last millennia. That said, you need to consider a number of pertinent facts. One, the high multiplicity of ethnic nations is unique to Africa. No other population on earth has had to deal with the complex task of lining up so many and varied ethnicities. Second, delineating ethnicities can be a complicated exercise given the emotional attachment that groups have to labels, bloodlines, and ancestral rights to resources. Third, a majority of ethnic nations may lack the threshold numbers needed to survive as independent entities in the current context.
Considering the forgoing shortcomings, wouldn’t it be plausible to envisage an alternative social organization that amplifies the advantages of grouping ethnic nations while diminishing the effects of the shortcomings. In this case, Africa would have to play the role of the trail blazer, which, in my estimation, is not an impossible task given the available intellectual and technological resources. This phenomenon is not entirely alien; multinationals are the new tribes of the developed world. I, therefore, conclude that it is possible to revert to ethnic nations if we prescribe to pragmatism rather than idealism.

@upepo, I do not agree that the multiplicity of ethnic nations in Africa is a hindrance to the establishment of stable ethnic states. Take the Maasai who are cousins with the Samburu. If the situation allowed, they could form a huge state running all the way from Laikipia to Northern Tz! The Gema (Gikuyu, Embu, Meru, Mbeere, Tharaka-Nithi etc are basically cousins who have same names, worshipped same god and had same traditions - ONE NATION!

The absurdity of Africa today - which is why we will have endless wars into 3000 is that the Igbos of Nigeria, at 32 million, cannot have a nation of their own YET the Estonians, at just 2million, can!

what I find strange is africans embracing the backward way of doing things and feown upon modern ways. ushago you will here a guy pride himself on how he tilled 5acres of land with his hands and a sorry jembe. picture this an argument in a bar and a guy tells another “Unaringa aje na shamba hata huwezi lima unaitania tinga. Mimi yangu najilimia mwenyewe na mikono kama mwanaume!” (*note: this is not fiction but a paraphrased argument I witnessed in Kinamba Ng’arua

You are spot on. Nation states are formed either through bloodshed or peaceful assimilation. Africans will have to square it out through one of the two before true nations emerge.The whites fought and assimilated for millennia without external disruption. If you look at modern nations like The French, Germans, English speaking, Italians etc they were originally small fragmented tribes . The weak ones were over time forcefully assimilated by the larger tribes. Some languages even disappeared (latin). Others were formed along the way eg english is a mongrel of germanic languages, french and even latin. All this happened for centuries without external interference. Africa was also undergoing this natural process of nation forging eg The Kikuyu assimilated the pygmies they found in the Central region. What we call the Gema today was a nation state in the making and eventually would have become monolithic. The Luos assimilated the Suba and were in an expansionist mood when the white man appeared on the scene. The Maasai probably would have assimilated some of the other smaller nomadic tribes. This situation is replicated across Africa. My theory is, strong nation states would have eventually come along. Mzungu came over when we were just starting and disrupted everything. We will continue the headless chicken dance for a long time to come.

Hehe mwafrika anafanya ile kitu watu wengi wanafanya. There is no diversity of opinion…Even people with 20 acres hire like 30 men to do it over weeks. diesel would be much more quicker and efficient. And a small good tractor usually lasts a man’s lifetime

That is very true. Everything the African ever needed was within arm’s length. The land was vast, fertile and unoccupied.

Hehe, the agrarian revolution is yet to happen this side of the universe.

If Africans were to associate, then the Bantus would be an entire nation. The Nilotes another nation and the Cushites too. Imagine what a force Bantuland would be, the sheer numbers of people spanning Zululand, Central and West Africa,… East Africa. The natural resources under Bantu jurisdiction. Bazungus would be like a silly fly on the wall that can be swatted away in annoyance.

I agree with the assertion- Africans are naturally superior to Whites (but I’m biased). White people would laugh you out the room. :smiley: They have no doubt regarding their overall superiority=- except athletics, on that issue there’s no debate.
On what basis are cultures considered monolithic or homogenous? Is it based on outward appearance (a function of genetics)? Language (lexical similarity)? Customs?
Consider the Hutus/Tutsi who look as different as night and day yet share the same culture and language. You know how that turned out (genocide). Also consider an albino child born to African parents, whose siblings are black too. If that albino kid was transported to a Western society, they would automatically gain all the rights and privileges usually reserved for Whites. Their sibling counterpart would expect to experience the worst kind of racism. So at a very fundamental level, things we hold so dear and unequivocal to our identity are not so black and white. Even our DNA knows that racial construct is stupid, otherwise we would see a bigger portion of it reserved for making proteins that emphasize our differences.

What really seems to matter is tribal affiliation. What @Mjasusi says is spot on!

The question is…why didn’t it happen sooner? If Africa is the cradle of mankind, these associations should have occurred earlier in Africa than those countries consisting of people who supposedly emigrated out of Africa (the Europeans). Were they able to organize themselves faster into monolithic societies because of a higher IQ? Of course not. But how do you counter such a notion?

They were able to organise faster BECAUSE THEY NEEDED BIGGER RAIDING PARTIES FOR THE FEW RESOURCES THERE WERE.

Yes! Of late, I’m been really reassessing the importance of machines. Remember 8-4-4 science. What is a machine? The answer most of us gave was…a machine makes our life easier. Then why don’t we innovate or use what’s out there to make our life easier? Africans are yet to fully embrace machination. Last week I actually cut the grass on my compound. Usually I get a couple of guys with slashers to do it, but I recently bought a lawnmower and other gardening tools which is working great. Now the goal is to acquire even more machines for anything I can think of. If Africa will someday become an industrialized or even technology based economy, we have to stop thinking of machines as something only for the rich or white people. Western countries got ahead because of machines. Even the caveman’s life was changed forever the day he discovered a sharp tool. Inefficient, manual labor is not a virtue.