How much Solar KWA do i need?

Hello Ktalkers

I need experts opinion on Solar Matters

This is my monthly units on average

Its ranging from 1400 to 1600

This is high as there’s something wrong in my house. Which a check is on schedule

But before my units of kplc was coming to a range of 600 to 800 units

I need advice of how much solar panel energy do i need.
I consulted some shops, some say 3kwa hybrid is enough some say 5kwa.
Now which is which as price difference is high between the two.

1600kwh is alot of units, what the fuak are you running in that house for 54kwh units a day? Just get a 5kwh system to give you a buffer

Are you running a workshop?

I think he is confusing units and token amounts. He was spending 600-800 and now spends 1400-1600.

Wewe baki na KPLC. This is mad consumption for a household.

As i said kuna issue kwa meter…
Normal is 600 to 500 units.
I have postpaid…

As per the above units is 5kwa enough?

No bro… i have 1 big fridge. 1 small one. 1 freezer. Oven microwave…television…air conditioning… water pump…
Some of the items here are old which might be the reason of high consumption. Have called an electrician to do a check up on the whole house.

Delete air conditioner. Unaishi Kenya Buana😁

500 units, that’s alot, kwani how large is your household? I live solo and go thru 40-60 units a month mostly because of the fridge

The air conditioning could be consuming over 300 units. Hiyo kitu uses alot of power.

Quote:

• Air Conditioners
  • An air conditioner rated 1200 watts that is on 12 hours a day will use 324 KWh.
  • Use ceiling fans where necessary - they use less energy.

You need air conditioning in places like the coast, turkana, kisumu, NE where the temperatures sometimes get to 40 degrees C and places like the coast are too hot and humid you need AC. Kenyan highlands are the best places to live in the world coz we dont need AC.

I use 150 units per month. So yake ukiongeza 350 units za AC you get 500 units.

1600 units is about 55 units per day = 55kwh = 55,000 wh per day.

Assuming 5hrs peak sunhours per day you’d need 11,000 watts of panels to generate that power in a day ie 22 solar panels each 500w.

To store 55,000Wh of power a day you’d need 11 batteries each of 5,000wh capacity.

Assuming you are using the power over a 24hrs period then you will need an inverter that can handle 55,000wh/24h=2,291W inverter which is basically a 3,000w inverter running maximum 24hrs each day. The best would be a 5kw inverter. And since when the AC and water pumps start they draw at least 3 times their normal consumption, you need a 15Kw inverter or 3 x 5kw inverter connected in parallel.

So your solar items bill will be:

22x500w solar panels @25,000 = 550,000
11 x 48v 5kw lithium batteries @220,000 = 2,420,000
3 x 5kw inverters @ 200,000 = 600,000
Total = 3,031,000

Ongeza installation materials = 200,000 and labour = 200,000

Grand total = Ksh. 3,431,000

NB hiyo hesabu is assuming the sun is shining at its maximum each day of the year (ie no rain or clouds) and the panels, batteries are working at 100% efficiency. Since that is not possible you have to double your capacity so that you can generate enough powere even during poor weather conditions and so you need Ksh 6,862,000 to be safe.

The cheaper alternative would be to use a grid tie system whereby you use inverters that dont need batteries and so during the day you use solar power direct and at night you automatically swith to KPLC. So if you go that route you ondoa the cost ya batteries on the total figure above.

Heri ategemee tu kplc…it will be cheaper for him at the end of the day.

Yes. Wacha ikae.

In 10years he will have spent roughly 5M on kplc bills.The initial cost of installing solar power system is 3.5 M…the system might not be reliable for him also.He will need to replace those batteries in less than 10 years taking into account his power consumption.

I live in coast. Temperature sometimes gets to 35 degrees kisha hakuna roaming air… ukisimama for half hour then you are roasted chicken.

That is why as someone who grew up in the highlands, i dont like hio joto na humidity ya coast. I dont understand why @Billy_Drago who lived all his life huko embobut forest, elgeyo marakwet in cold and dry air praises life at the coast with all that heat and humidity.

I applaud your answer. Such a detail. I say Thank you Sir.

For now i have issues at home thats why units are coming to 1500. Ama kuna issue kwa meter.
My normal usage is 600 units.
I know kuna appliances at home which are old… old kama analog times… like kama freezer inaenda sijua 20yrs back. Conditioner inaenda like 15 yrs… these are things which are consuming high than normal. If i change these things I’m sure units itashuka to atleast 400 to 500 which i feel that will be good for a solar investment.

I’m planning to put hybrid, i cannot afford to go off- grid and live on solar.

So as per your answer i feel 5kwa will be a good investment which i see some company selling between 1m to 800k hapo with 5 to 10yrs warranty.

To give you more insight, I’m also planning to install wind turbine for household which range from 3000 to 5000 watts. Which goes for between 350k to 500k. I think that will add alot to solar investment

1.Create a microclimate, na sio kwa 50×100 or in less than 5 acres coz it will not make any difference.