How JayZ built a Billion Dollars in Equity from a drink

[SIZE=5]Armand de Brignac ( Ace of Spades) is a champagne (a French carbonated wine). Last week, JayZ sold 50% of his holdings in the company that sells it to LVMH in a deal reported pay him between $300-$500m. Terms were not disclosed but going by his lyrics in his track “whats free” in 2018, I’m 50% of D’usse and it’s debt free, 100% of Ace of Spades, worth half a B, puts it close.[/SIZE]

[ATTACH=full]352099[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]352101[/ATTACH]

[SIZE=5]But JayZ’s involvement in the company goes back to 2006. Rap artists placed references to Cristal, another champagne, in their songs but their manufacturer ignored their endorsements. In fact Frederic Rouzaud, the manager of the company that makes Cristal champagne, made an unsavory comment about his brand’s clientele.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=5]“What can we do?” Rouzaud replied when a reporter from the Economist asked his thoughts about the popularity of Cristal among rappers. “We can’t forbid people from buying it. I’m sure Dom Pérignon or Krug would be delighted to have their business.”(Don Perignon and Krug are Champagne brands).[/SIZE]

[ATTACH=full]352105[/ATTACH]

[SIZE=5]And so JayZ whent shopping. To France ( a drink has to be from the Champagnee region of France to bear that name, at least in some countries). He found Cattier [/SIZE][SIZE=5]trying to make a foothold in North America with a $60 Antique Gold Champagne. The production price was $13 per bottle. He struck a deal with them. They aged the drink longer. Added the signature spade trademark to the gold bottle. C[SIZE=5]alled it [SIZE=5]Armand de Brignac. [/SIZE][/SIZE]And changed the price to $300 a bottle with JayZ’s aggressive marketing in Rap videos and high end entertainment venues. Because the wholesale price is $225 a bottle, JayZ split a cut of the $212-per-bottle profit evenly with Cattier and Sovereign Brands ( original marketer of the drink in NY). He also negotiated a stake in Sovereign Brands. [/SIZE]

[SIZE=5][ATTACH=full]352116[/ATTACH][/SIZE]

[SIZE=6]Then in 2014, he bought out Sovereign Brands stake in the drink. Which he sold half for $500 million last week.[/SIZE]

LVMH wanakuja na umbaya banae
wamenunua kila kitu luxury

Jay is a v rare mofo…true definition of a mogul. Simiyu did he take ownership of his children outside wedlock?

Have heard no complaints.

Money spoke, I guess.

Jay Z is one of my favorites, his carefree lyrics and easy balling wacha tu

Indeed. I watch his rare interviews which American interviewers die for and boy he is as shrewd as they come. He does not accept invites to speak on any rumours… but my fav one is when the media was all over B’s 1st pregnancy claiming it was fake. He came out. Can’t remember if it was on Charlamagne tha God or which one…
Respect this nigga.

One of his finest songs :smiley: has got to be Song Cry, beautiful message and honest lyrics

Waah too many yawaaaaaa. Hard knock, Mr Carter, Renegade and above all his hand in masterminding the career of Destiny’s child and eventually Beyonce. Oh that song with Linkin Park…and he rates gifted Lil Wayne too.
I rate him as highly as Dr Dre. Super super superB. Genius.

JayZ’s American Gangster album, which was the theme album for Denzel Washingtons American Gangster movie, CLASSIC ALBUM

Funny what you can learn from the streets branding mergers acquisitions & takeovers…si narco traficantes pia hucheza hivi?
I wonder if its all him or he has a group of trusted and loyal advisors by his side.
Either way boy ni janjez.
Some of these guys put business schools to shame.

One of my favourite till Magna Carta Holy Grail dropped…my favourite kwa the carter catalogue. I Know, Ignorant ish & Party life fave tracks on American Gangsta.

Favourite JayZ track of all time ‘Wishing On A Star’.

Moment of Clarity ilikua matata. Read that he doesn’t write lyrics. Yeye ni kuingia studio and spit whatever is in his mind

"Music business hate me ‘cause the industry ain’t make me

Hustlers and boosters embrace me and the music I be making

I dumbed down for my audience to double my dollars

They criticized me for it, yet they all yell “holla”

If skills sold, truth be told, I’d probably be lyrically Talib Kweli

Truthfully I wanna rhyme like Common Sense

But I did 5 mill’ – I ain’t been rhyming like Common since (Whoo)

When your cents got that much in common
And you been hustling since your inception

Fuck perception! Go with what makes sense
Since I know what I’m up against
We as rappers must decide what’s most important

And I can’t help the poor if I’m one of them
So I got rich and gave back, to me that’s the win/win

So next time you see the homie and his rims spin

Just know my mind is working just like them"

[ATTACH=full]352177[/ATTACH]
OJ like I’m not black I’m OJ… Okay.

With this song he justified his approach that made him who even the purist rappers like Nas (in the mainstream) would kill for. For me Reasonable Doubt is the classic of classics in his catalogue. Heard he went to great lengths to secure the master copy of “his baby” from Dame Dash

Just another leftist piece of meffi. Has he helped any poor black person on the street? Nope.

Just a greedy Democrat wolf.

https://cassiuslife.com/48866/jay-z-supports-black-lives-matter/

[SIZE=7]JAY Z’S QUIET HISTORY OF SUPPORTING BLACK LIVES MATTER[/SIZE]
[SIZE=6]Mr. Carter’s been giving back.[/SIZE]

By Andre Grant
MUSIC02.13.18

Good things happen to those who support homosexual Obama.

You become rich like the corrupt Obama.

[SIZE=7]Jay-Z, Beyonce raise money for Obama[/SIZE]

By Amy Gardner
September 18, 2012

NEW YORK — President Obama assumed the role of celebrity-in-chief again Tuesday with a glamorous fundraiser at the downtown nightclub of hip-hop mogul Jay-Z and his wife, superstar singer Beyonce.
Obama addressed a group of 100 supporters at the club 40/40 on West 25th Street, his supporters having paid $40,000 apiece for the privilege of sipping champagne, lounging on luxurious, pale couches and noshing on hamburger sliders.
Obama began his remarks on a lighter note, thanking ”Jay and Bey” for their hospitality and noting how much he and Jay-Z have in common.

When such corrupt deep state people are your friends utakosa aje kuwa mbirrionea.

Scratch my back I scratch yours.

[ATTACH=full]352209[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]352210[/ATTACH]

Si aende asalimie Trump tuone what will happen to his album sales. Na kama hataachwa na bibi…

[ATTACH=full]352211[/ATTACH]

[SIZE=6]CANCEL CULTURE.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=6]Poor guy.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=7]Kanye expresses his support for Donald Trump as president[/SIZE]
https://images-complex-com.cdn.ampproject.org/i/s/images.complex.com/complex/image/upload/c_fill,dpr_auto,f_auto,fl_lossy,g_face,q_auto,w_1280/tdcflmyub8sllnoyjqho.jpg

His best album before he went to mainstream rapping. And he still doesn’t own full masters of that Reasonable Doubt album after playing Dash because Kareem Burk wont sell his third.