How does Kenya benefit from being in the commonwealth ?

Is there information on like actual Ksh amount that can be identified as benefits of .ke membership ?

Unauliza swali ya kijinga sana

Why does the commonwealth even exist?
Tukutane quora…

somebody compared it to rapist/robber gathering his victims for a re-union

Nini huuma hii umbwa? Why not just keep quiet when you have nothing intelligent to say?

We once tackled this question in our MA class and to be honest we realised that commonwealth has a very limited economic and political impact. Remember it operates without a constitution and the secretariat runs on a very tight budget. But thee convening power of 57 members is too great to ignore. Other than the cultural and social benefits of the commonwealth games, members also look out for each other in more impactful multilateral organisations like WTO or during UNSC and UNGA sessions. Look at it this way, you have five siblings and 4 of them have a chama, naturally you will try to join them whether you derive any real benefits or not. It becomes more relevant in intl politics where countries, esp the poor and vulnerable, always try to come together under some umbrella. Zimbabwe, the tough guy of intl politics is busy trying to get readmitted. Rwanda, Mozambique and even Togo were never colonised by British but they opted to join because commonwealth gives them another platform to be heard…kinda like amplifies their voices. You have everything to gain and nothing to lose by being part of an organisation that has Canada, UK, India and Australia. Those first two are like two older and more muscled brothers who will always have your back…[SIZE=1]or at times ride on it[/SIZE].with Brexit you never know, Britain might be forced to strengthen trade ties with us… Also there is now a not very new charter on democracy, human rights and justice which might add some bite to the organisation if enforced.

AGOA nakumbuka Kenya ililia mpaka ikalamba US mkia iingie ndani .

At one point it did have a lot of economic impact. But now not so much. It formed the first international trading bloc for most new colonies. It is partly for this reason why English colonies are much wealthier than their French, Portuguese etc counterparts.

I steal your gold then organize a sports competition for your to win it back piece by piece

This sounds like a cope. A distinctly British cope to deal with the fact that the UK is just not as important to the world as it was before the world wars

There’s no meaningful affinity or solidarity that is expressed between commonwealth countries in other international forum like the UN

It was a place for Britain to sell its products to former colonies

How Britain created a system to facilitate illegal financial outflows from its former colonies.