It’s just too much you try to advise what he’s trying to make you do is actually a financial malpractice and after refusing to do it the guy catches feelings and reports you to the GM, yah so tomorrow i have a stupid meeting to attend of which i will be forced to point out his stupidity of putting us at risk of loosing a relationship with a major bank that regularly grants us overdrafts facility, this will make him more embarrassed and the cycle continues.
Bro that’s literally the first law and please don’t use that cringy self-help book to navigate the real world. As for you OP the trick is to make him think your ideas are his ideas. Float it to him as a by-the-way and let the notion take root in his mind. You never tell your superiors no outright, they’ll find a way to punish you for it even if (especially if) you’re right.
Let him her burn their fingers…then slide in and take dimwits position with serious problem solving and exquisite pro active performance. @King Robert Baratheon nakufeel…but heres the thing wasee incompetent hawaskiangi they are stubborn and always think they can maneuvre…Wenger in his later years anyone?..best thing to do in my opinion…if mr incompetent wont sink the ship…wacha a blunder ajiexpose the higher ups sort his nasty ass out…they got the clout…na wewe uko clean of any blame…ji pox hapo sasa.
Kumwambia your ideas ni kumrival tu…mtagongana head on mahali.
My 2 cents.
The problem is if it backfires the lamebrain might claim it was your idea. This is what made me quit being employed, the politics in offices rival BBI.
If he is your senior and he is incompetent, you better believe he has some powerful godfathers in the house. However you choose to deal with him, keep that at the back of your mind.
Regardless, he should still not outshine the mkubwa but rather use his ideas to help the boss shine. You won’t create unnecessary enemies whilst increasing gangsta points that will propel you towards future promotions.
I hope you are alive to the fact that you are there for the salary not to win battles against colleagues. Whatever you decide to do make sure the outcome will guarantee your stay there is longer and less stressful. I actually quit employment because of such shenanigans.
Kijana ujuaji haitakupeleka mahali, first of all thinking that your superior is incompetent is highly stupid and incompetent… there is certainly a reason he is ahead of you on the pecking orders…
Instead I would recommend that you ask him to be your mentor and give you private lessons on procedures. Your company SOPs and the thinking behind them and their consequences… Kisha Kwa hizo private lessons be very inquisitive and ask very clever questions…
Ukiwa job, be humble. Cover yourself using written memos and written instructions… And being faithful to your JD… plus any other tasks assigned, extra over…
Hiyo Kazi sio yako ata hiyo relationship ya bank ikivunjika… Uko pale kuchota mshahara mwisho wa mwezi…
The workplace can be a nasty place if you’re not cognizant of the office politics that are times in your face or are under the proverbial carpet. Key is to keep cool, know what you went there to do and avoid unnecessary personal interaction (interact on work basis na usidinye wanawake)
Upuss. If you are a professional, the least of your worries should be getting fired. Kuna vitu ukikubali zinaweza kuandama for the rest of your life. In my employment days, people including my seniors respected me for my ability to say no to some shenanigans.
The boss is always right even when he is wrong. Ignore that law and you will find yourself hapo jobless corner.You should follow your bosses orders to the letter and let him sort out any mess he creates huko mbele. And in that case you will retain your job as a faithful servant while he is fired for making the wrong decision.