Chinese president seems to have an idea of what is going on in his country. He visits the poor areas and talk to the common people and administrative people in charge of poverty alleviation on what they need to do to combat extreme poverty. Do our Kenyan leaders really take interest about the poverty bedeviling the common mwananchi.
Actually that is exactly what they did. They registered the poorest people in the poorest provinces in a database and collected info on each person, household and village. Then they designed anti-poverty programs targeting those very people. I know China gets a lot of flak in Ktalk but you have gotta admire that they managed to bring poverty levels down in three decades. From 1981 to 2013, China lifted 850 million people out of poverty, with the percentage of people living in extreme poverty falling from 88% to 1.85%.
ata uhuru akuje mshinani atakuja na watu kutoka nairobi kumwelezea nini inaendelea mashinani. i always see during agricultural shows instead of being taken around by the peasant farmers he is taken around by those pot bellied people from Nairobi who tell him lies
Xi Jinping has over a billion people to provide with healthcare, roads, universities, fresh water, social services. Without discipline he can achieve nothing. Without self respect no one can respect them as a country.
But the statistics from credible international firms show that they have indeed eliminated extreme poverty and have managed to lift many people out of poverty in the past few years… So it is not something done without credible evidence
Agriculture and SMEs employ the biggest chunk of the population and are responsible for the biggest contribution to GDP, how you tend to this two determines how successful you are in creating more wealth in a manner that benefits both the poor and rich, it is a well-established fact that the largest businesses are beneficiaries of thriving SMEs because focusing on the small players is a big plus for the big boys.
Unfortunately in Kenya our mass employers are the most neglected, we focus so much on infrastructure we expect everything else to fall into place, well you have to make fundamental changes to correct longstanding hurdles like affordable financing, the incredible strength of middlemen, the lack of business management skills, dearth of technical capacity. we are so close.
Hata Moi alikuwa anapenda hii maneno sana. Huko ndio Ruto alitoa kutanga tanga. Launching, opening… with cameras at your beck and call. In reality you are doing nothing at all. Ni publicity tu.
Moi used to launch everything na kila wiki mletewe updates pale KBC of Kenya’s progress. “Rais mpendwa Daniel Toroitich arap Moi wiki hii alifungua kiwanda kipya cha kutengeneza tumbaku yaani BAT. Rais akiwa amefuatana na makamu wake George Sai… wakati huo huo, mtukufu Rais alitembelea kituo cha Posta ambapo alifanya ziara ya…”
Barabara zinarembeshwa… watoto hakuna kwenda class,ni mashairi tu… Rais is coming.
Hizo statistics zinatoka China People’s Statistics Department or whatever it’s called.
When you lift people out of poverty, you don’t say it. It is felt. It can’t be hidden. The South Koreans didn’t need to announce it. Ni kitu tuliona. Pale Dubai you will never hear them saying it. Ni kitu unaona.
Hata Kibaki, he didn’t say shit. But we could feel it. Sio ukuje hapo kwa podium ati Jubilee imefungua mashule 5 million na mabarabara 2 million km of tarmac… sijui PDU delivers, na tunajua ukweli wa mambo.
Your first article where did the world bank get its data from?
You know you can’t just walk into China and start conducting your own research.
Your second article is from Chinese funded research known as CHIP.
The truth of the matter is that the richest 1% of China control a third of the wealth. Serious inequality. But in all fairness it is a trend in most countries nowadays.
Kama hapa Kenya tu. Nairobi skyline is fantastic with huge buildings coming up just like in Shanghai but you scratch the surface and the inequality is insane. A few Kenyans can afford to use helicopters daily, while millions of others go two or three days without a meal.
Similarly pale China you have extremely wealthy individuals especially the sons and daughters of the 8 ELDERS and their friends. Otherwise known as princelings. The Children and grandchildren of the founders of Communist China with President Xi being among them. His father was a very senior communist party functionary. Hawa ni kama ma untouchable. And they are the multi billionaires. The wenye nchi.
Factory worker pale chini ni hand to mouth tu. Akipata ka holiday arudi ushago once a year he or she can’t complain. Yes China has trillions of dollars but who controls the cake? Who wields the knife and cuts the biggest chunk?
Hii ni PR kama ya sonko but made in KBC ya Mushaina. Siku ile utafika China ndio utajua the only difference btw china and kenya ni ip laws, anti counterfeit laws na rangi ya ngozi. Conmen wako, kanyari wako, umasikini iko, hustlers ndio wengi. What I will say Poverty is a state of mind which you put yourself in. Hii mambo ya poverty statistics and reports ni companies remaining relevant just live venye NGOs wanafanya job.
For instance the Huawei lady being held in Canada, Meng Wanzhou. Her grandfather was a very well positioned communist party member. Right at the revolution. Her father Ren Zhengfai was similarly well connected and started Huawei in 1987 with $5,000 after retiring from the military as a ‘technologist’.
Within a few years Huawei was a multi billion empire. How? Princeling.
Towards the end of last year people where surprised to learn that Jack Ma has been a communist party person since 1980’s, uku nje tukikulishwa story vile alikua a simple humble teacher
No. There are only 89 million members, and all leadership positions are reserved for them in all areas of the country, business and military. you have to be a outstanding person, or from a connected family to gain membership. If you are not a member of the party you cannot go very far in whatever you are doing