If you take a look at our society you’ll see that we completely lack foresight. I’m going to write this from a kikuyu point of view since I’m one of them. Anytime we have a family function/get together I get to see the reality of today’s society.
There is this trend now of sitting in round tables which I find very divisive. There are three distinct groups each occupying their own set of tables; the kikuyus from upcountry. These ones speak only kikuyu. The urban middle class kyuks; these ones speak swahili ya mtaa, their kyuk is broken and though they can speak english it would seem forced. Then we have the upper class kyuks. These ones went through the British/American school system, they don’t even know river nyando (their system teaches them sijui river thames). This group speaks only English, hata kiswahili kimewashinda. The parents of all these three groups will sit together and speak kikuyu since that’s how they were brought up. So the older generation is unified while the younger one is completely split up yet it’s the same blood.
It’s hard for each of the groups of the young generation to intermingle which means they can’t learn from each other, marry each other or even do business with each other which is just so sad; and yet they are of the same genes. It just shows u how powerful environment can be. A little change in upbringing and u get a whole new distinct breed. In fact if u study evolution you’ll see that’s how new species are formed. A little separation (e.g. geographical separation) of members of one species combined with passage of time and the need to adapt to new conditions and u get another totally different species which can’t breed with the other.
We should have a standard way of raising kids so that we all remain unified. For example all kikuyu children should be taught in kikuyu till they are around 10 years then switch to the other languages. Churches should also use one language. This way we’ll remain unified and conquer life’s problems easily.
Hii statement is coming with a context of kila mtu akae kwao. Not possibble at all!!! U seem like a person who isnt well travelled or conversant with panafricanism to come up with such stupid ideologies!!! Tembea mtu wangu, kenya ni sooo sana
when i was young us from shags were neglected by mababis from nai and some from wealthy families and majuu saa hii as am writing i talk to some in mother tongue wanajua yote
Language is amongst the easiest things to learn, if only you have the interest. I know of people who can speak several local dialects which they never went to school to be taught.
As a kid I suggested that both my parents teach me their respective native toungues but it failed as soon as it started I’ll put a picture of that paper later.
Assimilation is inevitable over the next two generations those who will still be knowing their mother tongues will be looked at in awe and even studied, just like the American Red Indians
Whether both paros have the same other tongue or not…kids ought to know their language…Hakuna kubembeleza… That’s why you’ll meet grown up men and women lakini hata lugha ya mama ni greek kwao…na hapo wanabonga ati sheng, or that osungu.dll or osungu.bat kind of stuff…simply coz its swag.
Hiyo ni Shadow.I have 3 older Step bros & 1 step-sis in their late 40s & they dont even know how to speak kaleo nor sheng.My step mum pampered them vibaya sana yet me & my small bro & big sis speak fluent kale na sheng kiasi.Guess is the way my Late Dad used 2take us shags in Kericho every time we close school but them step siblings wanaenda kwa mama yao huko Eldy.Btway we all grew up in Nairobi but dad divorced step mum & married my mum who took care of all of us.Mummy ur selfless!1
Unless you are talking of inbreeding mate, languages will morph slowly to oblivion. Fortunately you will not be alive to see that happen, neither will I.