How are county government workers surviving?

There was a time when those who worked four county governments considered themselves the elites of mashinani. OOh sijui governor apepanga workshop Mombasa Rwanda…Tano Tena si uchawi ya maombi[ATTACH=full]362049[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]362050[/ATTACH]

Clusterfucckery iko kenya is on another level. So without the Treasury funds, these counties can’t sustain on their own from revenue collection? Meffi hao governors

And the Government has to keep on borrowing to cover development, but mostly recurrent expenditure for these counties… Money that ends up as concrete in Nairobi and other major towns.

Most of those workers dont work daily. I had a relative who used to go to work only once a week.

Used to work for this county, kwa budget ulikuanunaona a certain project is 90% complete lakin lwa ground hakuna kitu kama hio. Corruption iko county noma sana, ata furniture was a problem, interns wanakalia viti za plastic

One of their office is near where I am, it has been opened twice for the last one year.

Counties which can’t raise their own revenue should be absorbed or merged with others

Can’t happen, won’t happen.

Most workers in both levels of government do zero work. I have seen a GK vehicle which had four drivers assigned to it. They would drive it in turns such that one driver drives it for one week as the others take a leave .

when 99% of county revenue is used to pay themselves salaries with no development prospects that’s when you know devolution only devolved corruption

The technocrats should have seen this coming after seeing the rot which to be in the original district headquarters

lakini counties kama Wajir ama West Pokot zinatoa wapi revenue

Taxes on sales on cattle, goat, camels, etc

The idea of creating 47 counties none of which can’t sustain themselves with local revenue was utter nonsense but ukisema hivyo unaambiwa ati pesa yote ilikuwa inapelekwa Nairobi and Central province so muwache wengine pia wakule.

Lakini hizo ushuru wao huokota huenda wapi? We need to be self sufficient and self reliant

Never underestimate the levels of corruption in this country. I once worked in a govt office where some buggers at.my level never bothered about their payslips. Mshahara ilikuwa inaenda bank inalala huko for months on end. The fellows were literally surving on proceeds of corruption. Nduru ingesikia tuu when there was some delocalisation where they were moved to less lucrative roles.

Kazi ya county government huwa na pesa ya haraka, shida unaweza futishwa job na cleaner, na siasa ile haina maana huwa mingi kwa office.

Ukweli kabisaa…the security of your job is dependent on how “big” is your godfather

The count officers that i know are living very comfortably bila wasi wasi

County govts should be able to sustain themselves and send extra cash to national govt. If they cant even generate revenue to pay salaries then kuna shida kubwa. Devolution is a failure and a burden to the tax payer.