Those who work in westlands, how profitable do you think it would be to set a place ya food in westy? (low end hotel ya chapo dondo na kadhalika)? A friend of mine ako na kanjo stall (5 minutes walk from the mall) and was thinking of convincing him anipee nifanye hio biz. This came to mind after demolition of market in westy and i dont think places za madondo zimebaki mob. Ideas zicome. Naeza nukisha kitunguu ama ni giza nachora? Thanks in advance ktalk birrionaires
How about kuifanya base ya mafruits, upto zile blended and packed in a plastic cup…wazo langu hilo…
hio ni idea fiti pia. would want to know how much those guys make and the downside of it. Where i stay kuna mmama flani alifungua base ya uji pekee and she is getting a lot of cash. Hadi the way she serves is old school. The place is packed full time and she told me on a bad day she makes at least[ATTACH]173188[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]173188[/ATTACH] 5k profit
Deliver to offices. But keep it cheap.
Better idea
Identify selected office blocks and talk to the firm’s management in order to deliver lunch. Delivering works best in Westy. Then charge 150-300 bob per plate bei ya wananchi as UberEats etc meals are usually 600+ bob
Lies.
in a week angekuwa na compe serious. I concur, uwongo!!!
What are the profit margins to be expected here?
its good to be skeptical. She has employed five people 3 in the kitchen and 2 delivery boys. They deliver uji in peoples apartments and i can tell you the delivery boys are very busy. The fact that you cant believe tells you she is a genius. She did an ordinary thing in an extraordinary way. If you ever visit Thindigua ulizia place ya “uji” and you can go witness for yourself
My aunt sells fermented traditional uji in a certain market.
Total mitungis she sell in a day are 5 . Each mtungi costs her 200 bob to make.
Each mtungi brings in a net of 600 bob.
She pays kanjo 50 Bob.
Musidharau biashara ndogo.
Hatudharau biashara ndogo, tunasema watu wakiona biashara inaleta pesa mzuri with little investment they tend to flood it. Case in point, wasee wa chapo.
competition ni lazima , cheki kamakis vile huwa. Food business works with referrals, once people spread the word about how awesome your food is then competitors will have a hard time usurping you.
Not really. I am in this business and those figures you are talking about are just taking into account revenue and the cost of production while assuming that she also manages to clear everything everyday.
Ukiweka hapo rent if she is on a proper stall, cost of labour as she has employees(typically this will cost her Kshs 350 if she is underpaying), if she has delivery it is even worse. Net profit will not even be close to what has been put here.
5k revenue I will agree, but only the EXTREMELY large vibandas will get to clear 5k in profit. And I mean very huge and popular ones. This business is a very thin margin business and competition is very stiff. Vibanda people always undercut themselves to compete
Totally agree with you.Most small businesses confuse revenue with profits and even on profits they cant distinguish between gross profit and net profit.
Ndio unapata someone has a high traffic business with good sales lakini they don’t seem to be growing/expanding.
Am sure huyo wa uji has probably reached the maximum potential and can’t grow further and Infact with competition,her market share will shrink and so will her revenues.
Look for a place that side of Agakhan hospital. Prepare some decent meals at 200 bob. You will get heavy traffic of clients. Thank me later.
what are her costs? hii face value ya biashara ndio hufanya mtu azame,unaskia matatu inamake 6k per day in your excitement unawekelea before knowing the costs and associated risks.
Its an interesting idea, but is it scalable? You can make some money from one stall, but you need to be able to scale it to a few (or better a few dozen) stalls. Start with one, but think about how you could scale it.
There are enough Kenyans bila job who might relish the opportunity to run a stall for you if you provide the initial capital. The problem, of course, is that after a few weeks they will begin to wonder why they do not do this themselves and desert you. The trick is to “franchise” the stalls so that they are part owners. It is not easy to pull off, and I have not seen it done successfully, but it could be worth some serious throught
hao watu wa chapo hapana… is too much eg places kuna campus urban life
Her business is operated from the house. She lives near the market . Ni shaggz. All that she pays kanjo ni 50bob since she doesn’t have a stall hapo. She zungushas the uji to all stalls three times a day.