A 29-year-old house help narrated to a court how she stole Sh500,000 from her employer’s bedroom.
Mary Winiti told the court she found Sh3 million in the bedroom, but decided to only take the Sh500k.
Mary was accused of stealing the money from her employer Priscilla Kerubo on November 6, 2016 at Harambee estate. She is said to have fled the city after committing the offence. She was later traced to Kakamega where she was arrested.
Following her plea of guilt — and confession to stealing the money - she was sentenced to serve three years in jail for the offense.
She is said to have committed the offense after the complainant and her family left to attend church service.
Mary is said to have declined to go to church, claiming she was not feeling well.
The court was further told that the complainant, who is a businesswoman, had left some money in her bedroom.
It was not until 7pm that the complainant returned to the house. On checking, she found all the doors open, and the house unusually quiet.
She rushed to the bedroom and found her money missing. It is then that she started tracing the accused who could not be found.
The court heard that her mobile phone was however not going through — prompting the complainant to involve the police.
Mary was traced to her village in Kakamega with the help of the area chief. She was arrested and brought back to Nairobi to face the law.
She pleaded guilty in court claiming, “I’m an orphan and it’s only Sh500,000 that I stole. The total amount I saw in the bedroom was Sh3 million.”
People should stop hii mambo ya uwizi. Is it worth it??? she’s lucky she only got 3 years which translates to 1095 or 1096 days for 500K, that’s less than Kes 460 per day…
hata angefanya kazi ya kuchemsha mayai angepata zaidi
To floss and prove that they are doing well!!! Ujinga reloaded… she probably spent a good chunk of money with people that are now laughing at her predicament
Shida ya kukosa kuwatch enough movies kama Prison Break. If you commit a crime, the first place the cops will search for you ni kwa friends and family…especially your village. I think she got a fair sentence considering that it was robbery without violence. Angeiba tu zote na adeny charges juu sentence ni the same. If you must break the law, make sure it is worth the risk.
Very true hakuna kuwa innocent once you premeditated the crime plus kurun to the village.Hata script ya kila mtu huwa ni a new life…new identity shit.Anyways stand up ya dave as usual ilishika this weekend.
For some reason, I sympathise with the gal. The fact that she did not take everything shows she was motivated more by shida than greed…ningempatia miezi sita na kuamuru arudishe pesa.
Guka let us not sanitize theft, lest folks start stealing just because they have problems. Most people have problems, but that shouldnt be the driving force to shine eyes on other peoples’ property.
Kuna kitu inaitwa ‘mitigating factors’. Kama kuwekea maskini pesa ovyo ovyo. Ama shida. Ama the fact that she only took what she needed (in African culture you don’t call somebody who takes just enough to eat from a shamba a thief!). Etc etc…