Home remedies

Hata kama hizi ni reposts, i still find them helpful!

http://www.grandmashomeremedies.com/home-remedies-using-milk/

From skin treatments to cleaning various objects, milk is a versatile liquid that goes beyond bringing a bowl of cereal to life. Offering money-saving solutions and quick fixes, milk possesses convenient properties that not too many people are familiar with. One thing is for sure – you’ll never look at a glass of moo juice the same after exploring the many different home remedies for milk.

http://3zw8pfy0xu-flywheel.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/pouring-milk.jpg

Table of Contents [hide]

[li]Milk Home Remedies[/li][LIST]
[li]a) Revive Frozen Fish Taste:[/li][li]b) Enhance Your Corn:[/li][li]c) Repair Cracked China [1]:[/li][li]d) Polish Silverware:[/li][li]e) Soothe a Sunburn:[/li][li]f) Facial Ingredient:[/li][li]g) Skin Softener:[/li][li]h) Clean Dirty Hands:[/li][li]i) Clean Patent Leather:[/li][li]j) Ink Stain Remover:[/li][li]k) Treat Bug Bites:[/li][/ul]
[/LIST]
[SIZE=5]Milk Home Remedies[/SIZE]
The next time you pour a glass of milk, you may want to put a bit aside to tackle a common dilemma or everyday task. You never know when the popular beverage will come in handy. For instance, the following home remedies for milk make good use of cow’s milk and powdered milk.

[SIZE=4]a) Revive Frozen Fish Taste:[/SIZE]
Food stored in the freezer has the tendency to deliver an altered taste. To make frozen fish taste fresher, place a piece in a bath of milk until it thaws. The milk will enhance the taste of the fish.

[SIZE=4]b) Enhance Your Corn:[/SIZE]
Corn on the cob tastes sweeter and fresher when you add ¼ cup of powdered milk to the pot of boiling water before adding the corn.

[SIZE=4]c) Repair Cracked China [1]:[/SIZE]
The protein found in milk has a reputation for repairing most fine cracks in old china sets. Place a plate in a pan and cover it with fresh or reconstituted powdered milk. Bring the contents to a boil. As soon as you see the bubbles of the boiling milk, lower the heat and simmer for about 45 minutes.

[SIZE=4]d) Polish Silverware:[/SIZE]
When silverware has become tarnished, sour milk can help revamp the look of your spoons, forks and knives. Soak the silver in the milk for 30 minutes to loosen the tarnish. Follow up by washing in warm, soapy water. Use a soft cloth to buff. If you don’t have any sour milk on hand, you can make your own by adding vinegar to fresh milk.

[SIZE=4]e) Soothe a Sunburn:[/SIZE]
When you’ve stayed in the sun for too long, rub on a paste made out of one part powdered milk, two parts water and a pinch or two of salt. Dab the remedy on the burn and the enzymes of the milk powder will help relieve the pain of sunburn.

[SIZE=4]f) Facial Ingredient:[/SIZE]
When making facial masks at home, consider adding enough water to ¼ cup of powdered milk to create a thick paste. Thoroughly coat your face with the remedy and let it dry completely. Use warm water to rinse off the ingredients. In the end, your face will feel fresh and rejuvenated.

[SIZE=4]g) Skin Softener:[/SIZE]
Did you know that milk is a natural skin softener? Adding around ½ cup of powdered milk to a bathtub while it is filling with water can create a relaxing milk bath that will soothe the skin.

[SIZE=4]h) Clean Dirty Hands:[/SIZE]
When working in the garden has your hands soiled with grime – a natural hand cleaner to consider is a paste made with oatmeal and milk. Vigorously rub the remedy on your hands and you will see stains disappear. The oatmeal-milk combination of ingredients will also soften and soothe your skin.

[SIZE=4]i) Clean Patent Leather:[/SIZE]
A dab of milk applied to patent-leather purses or shoes can revamp their look. Let the milk dry before using a soft cloth to buff to a shine.

[SIZE=4]j) Ink Stain Remover:[/SIZE]
To remove ink stains from clothing, place in an overnight milk bath. In the morning, toss in the laundry as usual.

[SIZE=4]k) Treat Bug Bites:[/SIZE]
Relieve the itchiness of insect bites by applying a paste made with one part powdered milk, two parts water and a pinch or two of salt. Dab the paste on the bite, and let the enzymes from the milk powder neutralize the insect-bite venom.

Resources

[1] Extraordinary Uses for Ordinary Things by Reader’s Digest; pg. 212.

Related posts:

[ol]
[li]Home Remedies using Sour Cream[/li][li]Home Remedies using Salt Outdoors[/li][li]Home Remedies using Mustard[/li][li]Home Remedies using Epsom Salt[/li][li]Home Remedies Using Baking Soda[/li][/ol]

Too long bwana

Wacha haraka, Bwana Afande! Hii iko hapa permanently, utaisoma polepole ukitoka Mkomani showground!

Check http://notmilk.com/ which seeks to debunk the ‘myth’ that milk is good for human beings based on scientific research findings. I am a big milk fan but I found it interesting nonetheless

If you want to polish silverware use white vinegar. Milk is for drinking not cleaning :rolleyes:

kuchezea maziwa ya nyayo