Hollywood-style heists amid a breakdown in law and order in South Africa

[SIZE=6]Criminals are running circles around South Africa’s police[/SIZE]
Hollywood-style heists amid a breakdown in law and order

[SIZE=4] Print edition | Middle East and Africa
[/SIZE]
July 2017| JOHANNESBURG

SOUTH AFRICA’S crime lords can be audacious. This month they waited until the country’s top security officials were busy preparing for a briefing on rampant crime at Johannesburg’s international airport, then struck again, hijacking a truck loaded with valuable cargo as it left the gates. The incident was the latest of many. In a particularly brazen heist in March, gunmen impersonating police officers stole 20.7m rand ($1.5m) as the bags of money were being loaded onto a flight to London. A few weeks later, thieves attacked a cash-laden van on a busy highway near the airport, blowing it open with explosives. This dramatic episode was caught on video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nSISdSg7t04

After years of steady decline, serious crime is on the rise in South Africa. Aggravated robbery has jumped by 31% since 2012; murder is up by 20%. The crime appears organised, not opportunistic. Fikile Mbalula, the police minister, admits that many of the airport crimes are inside jobs with collusion from police, security guards and staff. Another type of robbery, known as a “follow home”, is happening with unprecedented frequency. Spotters watch at airports for passengers arriving with fancy bags or exchanging large sums of money. The travellers are then tailed to their homes or hotels and robbed at gunpoint. In similar cases, affluent shoppers are followed home from high-end malls. In one recent attack, a van carrying businessmen was stopped and looted on the off-ramp leading into the airport; the driver was shot and killed. Tourism officials worry that such crimes will deter visitors; South Africa has worked hard to shed its dangerous reputation.

Even law-enforcement agencies and police stations are being targeted by South Africa’s robbers. A break-in this week at offices of the national prosecuting authority, in which laptops were stolen, followed a similar burglary at the Hawks, an elite crime-fighting unit. The office of the chief justice of South Africa’s highest court was burgled in March. The opposition Democratic Alliance fears sinister motives, warning of “a culture of intimidation” against corruption-fighters.

Mr Mbalula has promised to crack down. “If they come with AK-47s, we will outgun them,” he said. But it is the calibre of senior police, not the guns, that worries the critics. Top police jobs are routinely given to political appointees with few qualifications. All three national police commissioners appointed since 2000 have ended their terms in disgrace: one was jailed for corruption, one fired after a scandal over property deals and another found unfit to hold office.

When this country was ruled by the whites , it was peaceful though apartheid was the order of the day . Now those tailess monkeys have the leadership are now behaving like ball-less morons.

These are some of the times I appreciate kenya. Our similar like behaviors happens during elections and after that we are cool.

Hii ni aibu sana mpaka office za polisi zinavunjwa.

Have you interacted with black Seoth Ehfrikens ? They are the dumbest of beings. Effects za apartheid ni nyingi. The class divisions are sharp enough to supply us with a millennium of eye-popping crime.

Stealing from the police? Thats new. And dangerous…

Kuna kaburu ilikuwa inatukana ukikosea “Jou fokken Kaffirs”

mzee unaita waafrika wenzako monkeys? Very RACIST. Apologize!!!

I’m sorry I didn’t mean all Africans ,I meant south africans but wait , si these are the same tailess monkeys who killed fellow Africans during xenophobia . They should apologize for killing their fellow brothers first before I do .Meanwhile let me look for an interesting short video of tailess monkeys killing their own and tell me how these Zulu are any different

YouTube CPznMbNcfO8

SA are just an embarrassment to Africa, their weakness against the white colonialists, xenophobia and crime just another shit hole of a country and that makes me proud of been a Kenyan hata kama kuna siasa za upuss hatujafika hiyo level yao

And they’ll shamelessly ask you if you’re from ‘Efrike’ in case you’re visiting.

Their ignorance is on another level. Americans kando. Too bad they can’t unshackle themselves yet.

And they’ll shamelessly ask you if you’re from ‘Efrike’ in case you’re visiting.

Their ignorance is on another level. Americans kando. Too bad they can’t unshackle themselves yet.