Hizi ni Shule ama Hotel?

International School of Kenya - Upto Ksh 2.9 million per year.
Greensteds International school - Upto 734k per term
St Andrews Turi - Upto 730k per term
Source:- https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/ureport/story/2001268575/kenya-s-most-expensive-schools-in-2018-and-their-fee-structures

My question is, if education is an investment, is the investment worth the return?? My opinion is that the rich guys who take their kids here don’t view education as an investment.

I am not discounting the importance of education. I was specific about the return on investment (money) from learning in these schools? Also, these schools are not affordable to most people, maybe to you and other birrioneas. I am trying to reconcile the money paid vis-a-vis the end product compared to a normal private school which charges like 150k-200k per year. My conclusion was that rich guys who take their kids here do not look at education from a return on investment perspective because the cheaper private schools yield better end products most of the time. If you check the list of performers/achievements etc, you will realize that beyond a certain point, the fees paid stops correlating with academic/extra-curricular achievement. More like diminishing returns from fees paid, beyond a certain price point.

St andrews turi is about 1.4m per term,it is the most expensive in ke followed by peponi i think,add other small levies and the total may go to above 1.8 per term,the same reason you may go for an axio while some other guy buys porsche only to wreck it a few days later

Social status. What you consider normal is way below them. Also your 150-200 k normal may seem like an imprudent extravagance to someone whose normal is masomo ya bure, or is it masomo bure?

But you know the porsche guy views the car as a luxury, not a necessity. The axio guy may be a lecturer doing his runs in between universities or a taxi guy hence it is mostly a necessity to him. My point is that, after it is all said and done, beyond a certain price point education is indeed a luxury because there is no significant return for paying more.

Must be it. Diplomats and Wanjigis of this world don’t want their gene pool interacting with lower class (economically) kids. Also, there is a thin line between a holiday destination/hotel and a school when people pay such high fees.

Wizi tu. exploitation. those classes and general infrastructure are just ordinary school resources in well run countries. If anything some of these gcse schools are very old.

Add to that since time immemorial, Kenya being a very racist British colony, establishments that serve that settler class were and still are often overpriced to keep the natives out. Be they schools, hotels, hospitals,social clubs etc. And the African regimes that followed the colonialists walifuata tu nyayo. What was before a clear demarcation between blacks and whites became a clear divide between haves and have nots.

Sijui kama umeconfuse handle but nimesalimika

Birrioneas send their kids to these extremely expensive schools (not expe to them tho) ndio wajue kuongea kizungu Kama wazungu na pia wakue na better opportunities in life worldwide, kwasabu ni shule inatambulika internationaly, also birrioneas hawawezi peleka watoi wao to just any school ndio Wa mingle na peasant kids wakue na peasant mentality Etc… Peasants wakiweza jua rafiki zao ni watoi Wa birrionea watashinda tu wakiwasumbua wakiomba ma favours am a ata wanaweza kidnapiwa.

Also madem watatafta namna yaku shika mimba ya son of a birrionea nama boys watafute namna yaku dunga mimba daughter of a birrionea. And thats why birrioneas send their kids to exclusive birrioneas schools for peace of mind.

High priced education is overrated. The same education that you get at Aquinas High School in Bahati estate is as good as the education you get at Makini School. Hizo zingine ni madoido

hapo st andrews turi Clichy lazima aingie form 1 . mbaya mbaya

Hata wasomee yale na mimi nisomee kainuk au kiptagich au Mahenjera Mixed primary school,my motivation kwa hii dunia ni ati tunapumua hewa moja na pia sote ni chakula cha mchwa.Hakuna mtu atazikwa kwa Space au Mars

Salary yako inakuanga ngapi ango?

Kama ni mjinga kama wewe hakubaliki huko.Haqualify kuwa hata Chura huko au Bawabu.Mpeleke tu Kaimosi TTC apewe certificate ya ECD au aende akuwe mtu ya mkono ya makanika mlevi

On point all the students pass A levels with exception results. Turi and Brook house are rated highly by top universities including ivy league. I read their discipline record is also very good and student from Yuri have a long held tradition of excellence in universities they join. But the biggest draw in for parents to get their kids enrolled there is networking. Most of them stay in touch and their alumni membership helps former students to get jobs and positions in the private sector. They network and help each other wherever in the world they are.

Hapana,The university of life is the best learning institution

mita moja baba

That is what I was looking for. There had to be something “extra” that these schools offer beyond education and extra-curricular activities to warrant such high fees. Networking for both kids and parents could be one reason.

You’ve summarized it well.

unajua my school FSK has produced the most kenyans to join Harvard university