If you were keen enough, as u claim to be, usingeleta kihere about a guy who dropped a classic album that is considered one of the holy grails of hip hop - ILLMATIC. Hebu enda uskize hiyo lp and then come back we start afresh.
And for your info the golden era of the genre (time yenye both underground and mainstream music had a tinge of sleek sound and conscious lyrics) was 86-96 before akina Jay Z waanze kupeleka mziki pop.
Hehehe. Nilijua tu. Fans wa Nas you can always tell them from a mile away. Mimi sijakataa that Nas is a great. In fact, we had a discussion ii kijiji tukakubali Illmatic is undoubtedly a hip hop classic. Ile kitu mo nalia sana ni quality ya current rap
Yeah Jay Z jumped to mainstream rap because it’s way more lucrative. All you need is a catchy repeating hook and you are in business. “ Its a hard knock life….”. Basically selling to people under 23. Pop sound is fine if you push boundaries like Drake.
But original rap was just so good.
Educate yourself on what systemized racism pertains to and just why exactly there are so many black single moms in US. Ignorance is not an excuse to deliver your illiterate opinions.
Agreed on the Hitler argument also a dozen or so serial killers like Jeffrey Dahmer. They all had both parents and they turned out to be evil.
But kryptony is right and he did not attack single mothers, he stated a fact, For example,Most of Tupac songs were centered around his love for his mamma and his apology to her for being a hard head since his dad wasn’t around.
If you get a chance to watch documentaries about America’s ghetto life , the poverty, their music and crack cocaine you will get a better sense of how bad things are/were in the hood.
What we should do as women is celebrate those few strong single moms who raised these icons God knows it wasn’t an easy job for them.
What’s the system according to your definition? Na how will writing cheques to poor illiterate people help ala stimulus package style. Won’t they just head to the nearest Walmart and splurge on designers and be back in the streets soon…
@captain obvious is so right, reparations are a must before we think of changing laws for black economic empowerment. Lakini we know this will never happen least of all now that America is broke. How do you propose that money will be channeled to those victims of capitalism… free checks in the mailbox right, free money. Si hii ni recipe for more inflation Tu. Don’t just talk to be heard, learn to think deep
Okay l see you got a smattering of knowledge here and there about the industry but think about the overall effect of that artform on the black community. Uplifting a few artists that l can count on one hand is nothing to boast about especially when those clowns are promoting idiot values
Depends on whom you ask. Tayari by 86 akina NWA had started singing about selling crack and glorifying vices. Eazy E formed the group around that time and they were under the bigger priority records of Jerry Heller. Tayari they were calling women biatchez and the Jewish lawyers behind those labels had realised it was a money spinner ,the community be damned. By the mid 90s time ya Biggie and Tupac deaths it was fully mainstream with a few holdout artist s supporting the so called underground