What is the difference between freehold and leasehold in matters land, am I required to pay land rates in both set ups and finally after I develop a freehold land am I still required to continue paying the land rates. And before anyone reminds me that google is my friend, most of the info found there are for countries other than Kenya. Any info will be appreciated, ni hayo tu kwa sasa.
Very gooood post!! Some villagers just think fobe especially on weekends. …haya asaidiwe na msikojolee thread
Notify me on new comments
Freehold - yours for ever
Leasehold - yours for the duration of lease 99 years or less depending on when you bought it
Land rates - lipa usisumbuliwe. that goes for both
I’m no lawyer, but in shags i pay 1200 per annum for my freehold half acre.
@Twangapepeta I believe @1776 has answered your question, however there is another grey area , regardless of whether it’s free hold or lease hold, you technically don’t own the land, you are just holding it in trust for the government
U want to say freehold inalipiwa wacha hio maneno
kabisa. you pay regardless. it also depends on whether it falls under county or national gava (based on location). county rates are higher. nax county I cough 15k a year freehold title
not county but council, city council rates are higher than municipal rates
Damn…following. …na wale tuko na mashamba pale thika greens?
usijali. watu wa kulima shamba za watu huwa hawalipi land rates.
kaa cool.
Thanks bruh. I thought land rates are only paid on idle/ undeveloped land. I already have a structure on mine and the last time I paid the land rates was when I went to Mavoko for the houseplan approval.
How now. I have a title deed under my name. So what you are saying is that it will reach a point where I will be forced to surrender the land to gava and what about the house that is on the pilott yawa.
freehold is freehold. you don’t revert it to govt “after” use because there is no after.
unless now the place is rezoned (though i don’t think that’s the right word) to fall within a county, then you not need worry.
freehold are mainly given to lands outside town boundaries/borders
remote-ish areas far from civilization
as “development” comes closer, things may change
As @1776 has stated above. For freehold, there is no ground rent (tax payable to government). If land is within a municipal/council/town boundaries, all land is subject to payments of rates(to the local authority) within which it lies.
Following
@a4architect ,kuja saidia na advice