HELB wananiambia I have defaulted for 8 yrs so they are sending to me loan defaulters in 30days. I have been paying but not faithfully. What are the implications?
Utamu wa deni ni kulipa
Vitisho baridi. If you’re not formally employed then hio ni mnyambo wa punda tuuuu. Hakuna kitu watafanya.
Defaulter detected!
Go talk to them so you have peace of mind…if you can afford to pay something let them know no matter how small it is and put a standing order of the amount on your bank account if they agree
Niliwaambia ile siku ntashinda jackpot ya Sportmbesha ndio nitawalipa. Thirikari haikunisaidia kutafuta kazi.
I will email them and see their response
That might work but best thing is to go see someone at talk face to face…it helps a lot…Kama unaeza pata shati imeraruka colar enda ka umevaa hehe
Just go talk to them…worked for me after niliitishwa 600k
Relax @Trojanex. if you start paying them now you have to also pay the 5k fine they have been charging you monthly. That is a lot of money to give to this thieving govt.
Wait when you are well up and have some five figure amount like 150k and go to them with a black cheque. Tell them you are willing to pay them if they waive all the fine and they will fold their tail and remove all those illegal fines.
The worse they can do is take you to CRB and give your number to those debt collectors/recovery agents that call you and give you stories.
Didn’t they do the same thing this time last year? Hio ilifika wapi?
The politics of it haiwezi itikia they do much
You don’t want to live a life that you’re always looking over your shoulder though…Kama anaeza pata kitu kidogo let him start paying and they’ll also remove his name from crb, that will buy him see time to look for the 150k
I’d advise you visit them and agree on a repayment plan. Remember they slap defaulters with a penalty of 5k per month. Agree on the minimum you will be paying and make sure you pay without fail. See the brighter side too, the loan facilitated your learning, why not repay to ensure another deserving student gets the same facilitation?
Don’t we pay taxes that goes to Helb allocation?
Helb is a loan uncle Ngimanene. Na utamu wa deni ni kulipa as stated elsewhere
The amount of tax collected and then allocated to HELB is part of the national budgetary allocation and not a way to exempt beneficiaries from repaying. The trick HELB is using is liaising with immigration officials at JKIA, once your passport is scanned and they ascertain you are a defaulter they pick you up, a friend of mine had to agree a repayment plan otherwise they have the muscle to make your travel hell.
Alafu avae hii kiatu na aseme kuna deal anangoja iivane :D:D
[ATTACH=full]336201[/ATTACH]
HELB silipi unless inibidi. At this point in life, it doesn’t bother me. 8 years and counting…
i was fined for 1.5years nikapata job kwa mhindi i was paying 200 bob per month they stopped fining me .nikaendelea salary ikafika 30k i started paying 4k per month .In 2019 they had an offer pay everything 100% waiver on penalties.Since i had been paying that 4k for long once penalties were removed it was 50k.I paid the 50 nikapewa clearance cert story ikaisha 2018
Naaaah, people travel even on helb default