Has the Masters degree lost meaning?

[SIZE=6]Master’s degree holders scramble for Tuskys internship[/SIZE]

As applications for the second cohort of Tuskys internship programme came to a close on June 30th, the reality of joblessness in Kenya became more apparent. According to results of the applications, majority of applicants were masters and undergraduate degree holders seeking to intern at Tuskys, Kenya’s second biggest retail chain in terms of turnover.

“The fact that even holders of Master’s degrees are looking for internships is a pointer that we have a huge role to play in filling in the skills gap,” said Tuskys CEO Dan Githua. “It shows that experience is as important as academic qualifications in the employment market.”

But it also showed how desperate the jobless market has become with thousands of graduates chasing fewer jobs in the market. So few that candidates resorting to applying for jobs and opportunities they are overqualified to increase their chances of being considered…

Hii Masters iko na maana kweli Siku izi?

Masters inakuwanga tricky…in some fields its really valuable, whereas in others its not. guys need to carefully evaluate the field/expertise they are in. kama haina value, waingie self employment/hustle with the money wange pursue nayo masters sio kufanya just cause others are doing it.

kuna masters technical courses huwa hot cake but zingine wengi wako nazo… thus competition is very high

For guys working in the civil service, it is very beneficial. once you acquire a higher qualification you will quickly rise up through the job groups depending on nature of your work. On the other hand, rushing to do a masters degeree with no prior job experience may actually be detrimental to your chances of getting even some entry level jobs. but if you plan to work as an academician, it can be a plus for you.

A masters Degree in a profession without opportunities in the market is useless…

so many kids rushing for degrees in media and communication studies, for example, and the existing media is sacking people

tell your kid bro to seek technical education even if it is at certificate level…

12 Likes

a friend is one semester into msc in statistic zile jobs zimemfuata ni mingi sana fanya kitu kama masters in enterprenuership utajiongelesha

a pal made that mistake. she got her masters but is currently working at lower admin level at a local university.
she is 35.

Niliingia masters tu hivi, employer akadouble salo… in a span of 2.5 years am earning 3 times what i earned when i joined… so inasaidia.

your advice kwetu ma morio ni tupate kazi kwanza alafu tuingie hio Masters?

inategemea ni line gani…

Masters should never be an end in itself but a prep for more intense research work ahead, perhaps PhD, but as usual Kenyans do it for all the wrong reasons

Days are long gone when, degree holders used to terrorize common wananchi, siku hizi Daddy, ni mambo na patents, that’s where the power to read rests.

I know a chic who did her undergrad in law from Moi University plus went through Kenya School of Law & graduated in 2012.She has a practising certificate but shes worked in several NGOs but sijui kama she was dismissed or contract iliisha?Shes still jobless & has connections lakini sijui ni pride ama complacency but kama ni mimi with such papers natafuta internship kwa Law firm hata kama ni 10k per month in a jua kali firm in River road,get the experience(shes never worked in a law firm) then i escalate,get contacts hivi hivi…I wondered when last month i met her & she told me she wants to do her masters…:rolleyes:

this is what you expect when a country converts every cyber cafe, every polytechnic, every middle level college into a university. The bulk of graduates with degrees are meant to be holders of high level diplomas, with very good and credible cvs, but we have lost it as a nation.

hehe kufanya kazi tuskys si ni kaa wamejidanganya

i left Tuskys for higher education after working there for 2 years,7 years down the line my workmates and close friends of mine are still in the same position and airing same complains about poor pay. Note, that time salary was roughly 27k know am told is 22k for a shop assistant.i petty graduates who r seeking employment there

I have been telling my village mates that degree is not equal to success. If you don’t get enrolled to public university hakuna haja ya kuenda parallel. My cousin heeded my advice and went to do technical course in elec. right now at his late twenties ako busy mbaya na contracts till he bought a plot n a new premio. So degree n masters is over rated.

UWESMAKE HANA ATA DEGREE NA AKO NA X6 NA PLAYSTATION…KUSOMA SI KILA KITU!!

PlayStation at 30’s?..vidze lakini

You have one through higher education yet you can’t differentiate between “petty” and “pity”?

Ama by “higher education” ulikuwa unamaanisha standadi ay-it?

[ATTACH=full]47968[/ATTACH]