Haitians ni watu wa vita n very prideful. Even the ones that moved to the diaspora are known for their gangs. If you think Nigerians are loud then you haven’t met Haitians.
On your point about kenyans, we haven’t hit rock bottom yet. Most of us are still dreaming of moving from chicken sellers to billionaires.
[COLOR=rgb(44, 130, 201)]A government announcement of backing down followed by increased suffering by those who protested is what we call a phyrric victory.
[COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]A victory is a victory. Tomorrow Haitians will not be paying Kshs 124 per litre so basically the govt and IMF have lost the fight. And I hope they don’t relent on that one.
[COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)]How do you explain that a nation that Haiti invaded, colonised (violently) and plundered is more prosperous and the # 1 destination for Haitian “refugees” yet they share the same island?
[COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]Here I suspect you’re referring to Dominican Republic.
Here we go.
[COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]We know that Haiti is majority black and DR are yellow due to white population who mixed with native at high numbers. Spain helped build DR institutions while nobody has ever helped build Haiti frankly because no black nation had the economic muscle to build Haiti. From what we see there have been pledges to help Haiti from Hillary Clinton foundation and Red Cross but no help every materialised.
Are you by the way those guys who compare the economic success of South Korea and contrast it with Kenyas from 1965 to 2018 to tell a story of how Koreans are brilliant and we Kenyans are clueless?
Shikilia hapo hapo tucheki game we will continue with this conversation
IMF have lost where? They still will be paid back. IMF is only trying to help them. Haiti executed the plan wrongly. The plan is in fact very smart. Think about it, why would you subsidize the fuel prices of Maina Wanjigi at the expense of Kangemi slum residents?
Do you seriously believe the Clinton foundation can rescue Haiti? And what makes you think they havent helped.
Also any country simply builds itself. If someone else joins to help, well and good. They cant be built by anyone but themselves. But their leaders are as corrupt as they come. Have you read about Papa Du Duvalier?
Since you mention S.Korea, do you know there is no African nation that has pushed from the 3rd world to the 1st world. Kenya was a quasi 2nd world nation at independence that reverted to the 3rd.
So you think a nation should subsidize gasoline prices for Maina Wanjigi and have Kangemi residents foot his bills for his V8?
Read that article, Haiti is struggling coz of Venezuela? IMF is just a “bank” trying to make its money where nobody else will touch.
Haitians are gods on my courage-ometer. Haiti is your mordern day Sparta. First Black Republic, They have been fought by the racist white complex to this hour and they still stand. Haiti got independence in 1804, second country to get independence after the USA in the Americas, even before Mexico and Brazil, only 30 years after USA in 1776. Ile vita Haiti imepigwa na wazungu am not sure ata kama hii shithole yetu tungestahimili. Trade wars, embargoes, US invasions, exploitation by the French, IMF, The Clinton Foundation, Oxfam, Canada…Read their history. They are proud of their African ancestry and they even applied to join the African Union for some form of help, support and family, but thanks to our puppets of leaders, the application was unsuccessful. Mark you, at the time Haiti got independence, the army they fought, beat and routed to become free was under the great big famous military genius strategist Mr. Napoleon Bonaparte. Even though he wasn’t on the battleground, but he couldn’t handle the Haitian machete and voodoo. Every Afro-centrist should know about Haiti. Bon Bagay mwen Zanmi
while south Korea was a poor country in 1963, they were still way better off than Kenyans, on average, they were 10 times richer. Besides, Korea as a coherent state had existed for more than 700 years. They had governance structures albeit copied from Chinese, higher educated labour force and received lots of economic aide from Americans.
intact,our growth rates compare favourably up to 1990’s when we had our version of lost decade. Otherwise we would be an upper middle income country the level of SA, Botswana.
Simiyu am hardpressed to recall a time kenya was considered a transitional economy before 2014 when we became a lower middle income country. Mauritius should get there this year or the next.
1.How can you say they’re trying to help by having petrol going up from Kshs 90 to Kshs 124?? It’s like raising the price of food because some fat cats are taking advantage. That makes no sense. First protect the weak then bring the changes.
2. The story of the Clintons taking donations for helping Haitians deviating those funds is well known.
[COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)]Also any country simply builds itself.
In this globalized economy no one nation can build itself. Even those Europeans needed the Marshall plan after World War 2 to build their industries. Japan and South Korea received massive financial, military and technological help from US which they naturally used to propel them upwards.
Haiti and most African nations never received such help.
3. [COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)]no African nation that has pushed from the 3rd world to the 1st world
While this is true Libya was on its way there if it wasn’t already. We don’t know where Libya would be today hadn’t France did what they did.
[COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)]Consider the cases of Kenya and South Korea. In 1960 South Koreans were, on average, poorer than Kenyans. They are now 25 times richer. What can account for this extraordinary divergence?
[COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]I got the quote in red from the Telegraph
Fuel price from 90-124. That’s about ~ 33% rise. Guess what, world market prices for gas has risen from 45-70 in the last year. A 45% rise. You cant subsidize until you die. They have to purchase in the world market now that Venezuela is kaput. Every nation has an opportunity to use aid. When we misuse it, donors take off. We / they should style up and then be just like SKorea and Japan. Still no African nation has moved from 3rd world to 1st. Cant rate couldas or shouldas.
Mass violence almost brought us too ur knees in 2007-2008 ,leading to a decade of economic growth that is yet to exceed 6 percent to date.
As for petroleum price increases, the only option we have is to somehow team up with South Sudan and Uganda and pool together to create a joint refinery.That way we can refine our own oil in a cost effective manner and insulate ourselves from the global oil price shocks.
Even here the VAT on Petroleum is coming back and fuel will reach sh 120.
I really just don’t understand Haiti next to the richest country in the world yet it’s worse off than Liberia.
Africa countries should figure out how to turn this place into a trading zone for us so we can easily launch our products into the US market through Haiti.
[COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]
They won’t but when you shoot your left foot and then your right, how do you expect to walk? There was a government subsidy to contain the price increment. The IMF has not lost the fight, they never do. I once again urge you to see the desperation of Haitian refugees first hand and you will begin to comprehend just how bad it is in Haiti. It will only get worse from here on. Haiti has no credit, that is why it was in an oil for food deal with Venezuela. How do you now expect them to purchase fuel? Market forces will simply force it to go up. Who is it that suffers at the end of the day?
[COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)][COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]
We can always blame Spain, France and the Dominican Republic but blatant modern day corruption in Haiti is the issue here. DR was also corrupt, but Haiti takes the crown when it comes to corruption. Many Dominicans are majority black by any measure but one of their dictator leaders brainwashed them into thinking they were white. Haiti had its institutions and a constitutional order, but they resorted to violence over that order. DR also got their independence from Spain. Later they both got a chance to restart after the US occupations ended. DR went one way and Haiti the other. I think we know why, history doesn’t lie.
Hapana, broad comparisons without the right context do not make sense, they make sense only as far as Kenya being on equal footing economically at the time. It is similar to a fork in the road, the South Koreans went one way and our drivers choose a different route where we sacrificed the collective good of the people for personal (usually criminal) gains. By the 1990s we had normalised corruption and it now our way of life including for minors, much like it is for the Haitians. The role of Chinese loans in our economy is going to impoverish us (those not lucky to be part of the elite). Rotich deprived the country of revenue and killed an entire industry for the next 15 months (if it will recover). We proceeded overseas and borrow Chinese and Euro denominated funds to fund spending. It is what is known as madness. He is now taxing the poorest of the poor through Mpesa. There are times when a firing or resignation is justified. The issue is not that the projects or loans are bad, the problem is priced into those loans are the corrupt elements that ensure personal enrichment with the taxpayer becoming the debtor. For those who will have children, it will be your child and your child’s child who will be paying those loans. We are paying for some 1970s and 1980s loans in the present day and time.