greencard application

This isnt that simple…remember your passports are stamped at exit and entry into any country. So you fly out of the US with your US passport, when you land here, you present your kenyan one. Sawa. you will enter. But how will you leave? you cant present your kenyan passport at the airport since it doesnt have a valid visa to leave the country, and you cant give the US one because it was never stamped that you were entering the country.

My bros have dual citizenship (kind-of, immigration dept have clusterfucked the entire process) and these are the issues they face. So its just easier for them to come in as US citizens

folwwoing

@nairobilay. The US has no exit stamp when you leave. Just an entry stamp.

Kenya has an exit stamp but hawashughuliki na entry stamp if you’ve already been in the country.

When leaving Kenya, the airline just wants to know your final destination, which is on your ticket. Thus if you are US bound, we present the US pasi or GC.

If traveling as a tourist or F1 student or any other visa category, depending on the layover or airline being flown, some require transit visas regardless whether your final destination is the US.

True…but what about leaving Kenya? Immigration, go through your passport, look at your visa for destination. That one will be missing from your kenyan passport since the original one will have been cancelled or expired since you got your US passport.
The US passport on the other hand was never presented to immigration at arrival. Even if it has a kenyan visa, where is the stamp for entry?

No they do not. It’s the airline that looks for destination to ensure that you have the proper documentation.

You clear immigration and it is up to the airlines to ensure that you have the proper documentation before boarding or they will not let you board. That’s where immigration will come in on the back end. It’s the airlines that get fined by governments when they fly someone that is not properly documented and foot the bill for deportations.

Green card is the way to go @m245. Btw do you have any family in the US? Adapting to life in another country is challenging by yourself.

i never trash or shoot anyone’s dream or ambition i just offered my honest opinion upon which he can make an informed decision…whether he goes or not is completely upto him. again i never kill anyone’s dream!

@m245 I would encourage you to apply. I have a relative alikuwa anafanya kazi tuskys na wife alikuwa mwalimu. He applied not once but several times won the green card went to the US and immediately enrolled in uni with his wife for nursing. He is now a registered nurse and his wife has one more year to go. You can imagine how the quality of his life has changed. Weka application and go on with your life as usual. All the best and may the odds ever be in your favor.

@Swansea is right. I entered Kenya with my expired Kenyan passport na kutoka nilitumia passport ingine. No questions were asked. No bribe was given. I had to go to a separate office though to be admitted with my expired passport and the official just signed some paper and I was free to leave.

Bullcrap! You must be living in 1985. Entering Kenya with a valid Kenyan passport, the only stamp you get is an entry one. Leaving Kenya, they stamp that you have exited, and if they ask for a visa to your destination, you show them your valid US passport. I am speaking from 25+ years experience, and that worked even when we did not have legislation permitting dual citizenship.

They never stamp your foreign passport.

Green card is the way to go. It takes 2 weeks to process the green card, once you get it apply for a laborer job with US defence contractors in Iraq,Kuwait or Afghanistan, those are jobs that no American wants to do. Get posted abroad, get 45-60 days vacation every year spend 10 days in Continental US juu ya validity ya green card, you can rent a motel at 20 bucks a day, spend the rest of the vacation days in Kenya, depending on the state where you get your green card, you don’t pay taxes, hio mshahara ya laborer Americans take to be peanuts will be a fortune in Kenya, I have a boy I worked with in Iraq his take home every month was 500K na alikuwa na green card he spent a max of 5 days in the states the rest in Kenya.

Every " US person" i.e.(citizen or permanent resident) must pay taxes on any earned income whether earned in the US or abroad.

You do not want to mess with the IRS (Internal Revenue Service) equivalent of KRA. That is one govt org you do not want to mess with, especially now with the addition of FATCA.

Most of the defence contractors are based in Texas, anybody that got his green card in Texas has to pay taxes, also if you’ve been in the continental US for less than a month one is exempt from tax, that’s what i saw my American colleagues do, they’d spend their vacation days abroad and only go back to the states for 15 days to avoid paying taxes, they used to receive the first of $97600 of their income tax free, I saw them fill a form W4 with the payroll department, if he got a job as a laborer he technically wouldn’t pay tax because his salary would be around $70K.

Agreed. It is a very tough country to live in especially if you are from the 3rd world. Tonnes of rules and regulations in every aspect of life.
Your degree from a Kenyan Uni may not help you much unless you are in one of the hot careers. So yes the best thing is to restart a degree to a favorable career even if you are old.
Its a perfect place for people below 21 to make it. It gets harder with age to survive.
Pombe, women, raha,…hizo zote sahau. Or you will be back to JKIA on a non-return ticket.

Wewe apply, tulisha-submit zetu tuko apa tunaku-discourage

inshort unasema nkakue jeshi?

haha

When you want something badly enough, the universe usually conspires to give it to you. @m245, go right ahead. There’s no harm in trying, you just might succeed. All the best.

Sio jeshi, ukuwe contractor. Jeshi ukiingia ka private mshande ni $1500 per month.

https://travel.state.gov/content/dam/visas/Diversity-Visa/DVStatistics/DVApplicantEntrantsbyCountry%202013-2015.pdf
https://travel.state.gov/content/visas/en/immigrate/diversity-visa/dv-2015-selected-entrants.html
pitia hizo all the best