Governor No. 1

Mombasa Governor Hassan Joho has made a surprise nighttime visit to a major revenue collection roadblock and seized Sh200,700 stashed away by officers.
That’s how he launched a corruption purge, saying there would be no sacred cows.
Six officers at Miritini roadblock on the Mombasa-Nairobi highway were arrested Thursday at about 8pm, when they could not explain the undeclared cash stuffed in their pockets and office drawers. They included two cashiers and four inspectorate officers.
As much as Sh70,000 was found on the officers; a female officer had Sh80,000 in her handbag. Some said they had withdrawn the money from the bank and were taking it to their family for projects.
They were taken to Changamwe police station to record statements and await arraignment yesterday.
“They could neither account for the money nor explain how they came across such huge sums. It was hidden in pockets and an office drawer," one officials in Joho’s inspection entourage said.
Miritini is one of three major revenue collection points.
Major reorganization of revenue collection systems is expected in a programme to seal loopholes costing millions of shillings to corruption, especially at the three main road barriers.
“I will continue fighting corruption at all levels, top or bottom. No one will be spared and I hold no sacred cows,” the Governor said.
The county loses about Sh1.5 million daily to corruption at the three barriers, Kongowea market and key county government officers, Joho said.
“If you are entrusted with protecting public property, do it,” Joho said. “Helping each other out is corruption in the eyes of the county.”
He was responding a female officer at the barrier who said they were trying to help each because of financial problems. She could not explain how a truck had been issued a clearance sticker without being inspected.
Joho and county secretary Francis Thoya said barrier officers collude with truck owners who evade taxes and cess by paying off a few officers.
Drivers, mostly of transport companies, deal directly with cashiers to avoid paying duty.
Thoya said Kongowea market collects only Sh300,000, instead of Sh1 million daily.
“A cartel including revenue officers, inspectorate officers and politicians are stealing from the county government. We are going to crack that cartel,” Thoya said.
“A big reorganisation will strengthen internal controls,” an insider told the Star.
“There could be a shake-up but if the processes don’t change, not much will be achieved," he said.
Expect more impromptu visits

Governor Chief Chemist.

I see he’s following on JPM footsteps, should have come earlier and he needs to coordinate his efforts with the national government and seal loopholes in the port and customs.
B for effort.

hehehe…
he can never beat them

Were those six officers arrested? Will they be taken to court anytime soon to answer for stealing? Was there an investigation started to determine who else was part of this corruption scheme? When Thoya says “we’re going to track that cartel” does he mean him and Joho together? Does that mean that the fight against corruption in Mombasa county is going to be a two man affair?

Don’t get your hopes up @Meria Mata. If no one is going to jail, not just foot soldiers but the bigwigs of the cartel, then that was just a publicity stunt. Or even worse, he was just taking out his rivals. More money for him.

There’s a solution to every problem.

Well said. Me believes wakati time ya mpesa ilifika jamaa walisema kazi ilikua mbaya hakuna kitu ya kutuma then one thing lead to another.
Nobody is sure atarudi 2017 so niwakati wakukamua ngombe mpaka damu itoke.

Me thinks hii corruption is a result of increase in levies and taxes by the county govt.

i am of school of thought that think that statement is false but in this corruption case a solution can be found

Kenya is just a transit point, matako ya mende wewe. [SIZE=1]Sniffs a gram of Columbian white. [/SIZE]

Some Kenyans are just wired to be stupid. If action is taken they say its a cover-up. If its not taken they say the gava is useless.

I am not a Cordoo but I support Joho’s actions. Corruption can only be slain incrementally, unless you want Jehovah to come do it for you.

Serre!

If you find me with 270,000 cash money, the onus is on you to prove that I acquired it illegally. Unless walimulikwa red-handed, this case will just fizzle out kama Eno ndani ya maji.

Smoke and mirrors! There’s nothing here to see, keep moving on. Joho is making a desperate futile attempt to appear effective, yet if there was ever someone who has been disastrous to Msa, it’s him. Gov Joho, why won’t you institute measures to monitor those mosques in Mombasa, which we all know are dens of hate speech polluting young minds? The level of Islamic degradation that has gripped Coast province, God only knows. The only person I recognize there is Mr Marwa. That man knows exactly what’s going on and is doing wonders to keep Islamic terrorism and its financiers (drug money) in check. Is it a wonder that Mr Marwa and Joho are forever at loggerheads?

The situation is not as bad as you make it sound and its not the county govts work to deal with matters of national security