Government is considering extending the curfew within Nairobi Central Business District to start at 3pm in a couple of weeks’ time.
This is after activities within the Nairobi’s CBD started going back to routine with many businesses starting to operate at full capacity.
The move is meant to stop the spread of coronavirus which has left 26 people dead.
“People are not obeying the government directives. They are washing hands and sanitizing but are not keeping social distance,” County Executive Committee Member for Health Hitan Majevdia said.
“I cannot confirm if we will have the 3pm curfew but I can assure Kenyans that we will have stricter rules to address the pandemic," he added.
A spot check by the Star established that life in Nairobi is slowly crawling back to normalcy following the number of traffic jams across major city roads.
There were also a number of businesses reopening and many people crowding in the town. The hawkers were back on the streets.
“The government knows well that if it closes the town by 3pm very few people will go to town…curfew can also be extended within the estates,” a top official in the Ministry of Health said.
Sometimes you listen to a state officer speak na unajiuliza kama ni logic ametumia, ama mdomo na ulimi. Someone has a full salary yet speaks without consideration.
You don’t involve people in fighting a pandemic
You don’t provide then with food and other necessities
Yet you ask them to stay home. Kwani ni kokoto tunakula?
Nobody wants to be infected, or to spread the virus. If government gets the buy-in of citizens without threats, provide them with food, or means to getting it, watafuta sheria zote zimewekwa.
Govt officials are so out of touch it’s disgusting!
But can’t blame them they get so many perks by virtue of holding an office hata they forget what real life feels like!
Right now they think those going to work are doing so coz they are vichwa ngumu and hate following government directives!
We have already wasted one and a half month of curfew and curtailed movement in and out of Nairobi. Badala ya wajinga wafanye testing, they are just there announcing figures and expect figures to go down by luck. What kind of breed of people do we have really? Is uhuru an imbecile or what? Rwanda, with 12million people doing more tests than Kenya. In less than 2 wks, the curfew and cessation of movement days zitaisha. Na ubwa iko hapo ikiwatch expecting different results.
What we are seeing is civil disobedience. If the government don’t obey court order. How do they expect the citizens to obey the directive they give. Hata wawekee raia tuna waona hao wamekula wakashiba.
Serikali inaongozwa na meffy. I don’t expect much. Their moves so far ni copy paste bila objectives. Ata wangetuachanisha nothing much would have been different, numbers zingekuwa same. Maybe we would have achieved herd immunity tuendelee na maisha
If this is implemented it would essentially be putting Nairobi into a lockdown coz most people use matatus which originates and terminates at CBD and if curfew time is 3pm it will mean someone has to leave town at 12pm which will make it almost useless leaving the house in the first place!!!
Kenya has do far done 29,000 tests, Rwanda 40,000 and Uganda 50,000/=. Tanzania…no data. Are testing kits the issue or what. I fail to understand. South Africa has done 307,000 tests.
If we’ve been outbid by countries like Rwanda and Uganda in purchasing test kits then something is seriously wrong!
But I suspect it’s our officials looking for their cut ndio inaleta hizi shida!!
HEARD IMMUNITY, HEARD IMMUNITY, HEARD IMMUNITY. Corona virus is not a killer virus, in the cases where it leads to fatality, those individuals have underlying health issues that were about to kill them anyway.
We have not upped our testing capacity. So far we are using pcr which takes 24hrs to get results. Thus the low rates of testing. We have capacity. There is test equipment in the country that can do it but the US bought all the supplies from the market
But truth be told, Kenyans wamerelax and they are not social distancing. Just the other day I saw a mwowan shake hands with I dont know a neighbour. Nikashindwa hio mask amevaa kama ni accessory tu. Supermarkets are just the worst…
We are fighting a losing battle, does it mean if we test the whole 47m people and isolate the sick we will have won? No… because the following week we would find some positives who were infected but the virus was in incubation period during the previous testing. But testing and isolation helps slow down the spread, but in truth if we observe protective measures without those testing we can simply eradicate corona. For me I would advice people to focus on preventive measures and avoid putting their hope on those mass testing. Lakini majority of us only understand fear of punishment to make them do the right thing. Most do not see the big picture or understand how his health is everyone health
They are not using what the govt is using. And their tests are more expensive too. I wont quote equipment here bruv but they can get results in two hours