Government Cancels Shujaa's 20Million Sponsorship

[ATTACH=full]178279[/ATTACH]

So why did the players block the brand Kenya LOgo?

The Kenya Sevens Rugby team on Saturday blanked out the #MakeItKenya logo on the front of their jerseys during their matches at the Paris Sevens in what Nairobi News understands is a payment dispute between the players, Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) and team sponsor Brand Kenya. Kenya lost 24-5 to New Zealand in their opening Pool ‘A’ clash of the IRB World Series before bouncing back to stun series leaders Fiji 22-19 in their second match. In both matches Shujaa played without the #MakeItKenya branding on their jerseys, despite the recently unveiled multi-million shilling deal between KRU and Brand Kenya.

The government’s chief of staff had acknowledged this
[MEDIA=twitter]1005468083430051840[/MEDIA]

and Yesterday this happened

A sport tribunal hearing between Brand Kenya and Kenya Sevens team came to a premature ending after head coach Innocent Simiyu disrupted the gathering in dramatic fashion.

The Shujaa boss stormed the hearing and demanded that his players should not be held answerable for the sponsorship protest they staged at the Paris Sevens.

During what was the final leg of the 2018 HSBC Series tour at the French capital, Shujaa blanked out the ‘Make It Kenya’ sponsorship logo on their jerseys using duct tape in protest over unpaid allowances.

The act forced the Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) and Brand Kenya into releasing a series of statements as they sought to pour cold water over the issue that sparked huge online uproar.

The State Corporation Brand Kenya had become the official shirt sponsor of Kenya Seven in a deal that was going to take an year and cater for different needs by the Shujaa.

It was seen as a much needed financial boost to the embattled Kenya Rugby Union who had been operating without a major sponsor since the exit of a betting company late last year.

Also Read:
[ol]
[li]Why Moscow is the place to be for smokers[/li][li]Kenya budget dwarfs EAC partners[/li][li]Britain to work with Kenya on anti-doping[/li][/ol]
Under the partnership, Shujaa was to become a global ambassadors for Kenya with the slogan on the shirts reading, “Make It Kenya”.

The sponsorship had an element of cash to be paid directly to the players for direct promotion of Brand Kenya with Brand Kenya already submitting Ksh4 million as part payment of the sponsorship as per the contract.

This had gone into funding of more priority needs of the team such as player allowances for the London and Paris legs, Accommodation and Airfare for the extra management carried on the tour and outstanding training allowances.

However KRU on their side admitted owning the players Ksh 2.5m which was to be paid when the players arrived from France together with additional installments or money from other sources by KRU.

Kenya Rugby Chairman Richard Omwela had urged the government to chip in where necessary or the national teams risk not participating in the global events due to financial constraints.

The union has since turned to the government with a heartfelt plea for financial assistance made urgent by looming crucial international assignments for Kenya Sevens, Kenya Simbas and Kenya Lionesses.

The Kenya Sevens team is set to kick start their Sevens Rugby World Cup after a 10 day break but that remains uncertain after the unfolding today with the sports tribunal set to give its verdict tomorrow on the way forward with the future of the centurion Coach in doubt.

https://citizentv.co.ke/sports/simiyu-storm-stops-brand-kenya-shujaa-hearing-204638/

And we were the one’s mad when Rwanda sponsored Arsenal yet we dont pay OUR own. Shithole indeed

When Sportpesa cancelled their sponsorship people like @spear Sportpesa - News & Politics - Kenya Talk were quick with propaganda on how the government will use the extra tax from betting to sponsor sports in the country and now this

Your criticism should be directed at the rugby union, sijui serikali inaingilia wapi when it’s the union’s incompetence that led to that shameful display. The article clearly says Brand Kenya had already paid 4 million shillings, “as per the contract”. Obviously someone in the rugby union misled the players by telling them the sponsor had not yet released funds, when they had already pocketed shs 4 million.

Balalas move is bitchmade though. Anafaa kuwa baba katika hii situation ili kuisuluhisha, sio kudig in.

Watu wa Union ndio walikula pesa. The government is just a disgruntled sponsor because Balala’s office has already paid out the cash. Pesa ilikwama somewhere between the government and the players, na hapo ni kwa union.

If i was the sponsor and i clearly paid the money to the union but the union fucked it up I would cancel the thing

Sadly nobody will lose his job in that union…mwangi muthee did a good job back then

Goodness me. We don’t need such with the rugby sevens world cup coming up in a month’s time.

whaat were the players doing in the tribunal yet the tribunal was arbitrating a business deal failed?

They are players, not pawns. Without the players, there’s no game. They have every right to do so, usipojichunga utamangwa.

When one door closes?
[ATTACH=full]178332[/ATTACH]

20M is peanuts and Balala is not thinking straight

Actually the article does not mention the presence of players in the tribunal.

Sometimes you overshoot yourself in an effort to defend the government

i know, i did not overshoot myself coz the players’ manager was there representing them and was said to have left in a huff.

Hamutaki kitunguu ya @Mdomo Baggy inuke???

Sevens coach sacked
https://mobile.nation.co.ke/sports/rugby/KRU-sack-Kenya-Sevens-coach-Innocent-Simiyu/3112516-4624614-item-1-swdjrm/index.html

I have always said Rugby team both players and officials need to have an national outlook.Sio majaluo na maluyha pekee manajua kucheza au kumanage rugby.

Hii ni ujinga umeandika

Kumanina kalale that is my opinion shove it up your ass for all I care.Nuguu ino

We know it’s your stupid opinion, no one is arguing on that

Are you happy that you have atleast the word stupid today.Jinga type