I would not say that corruption is always bad and we do not live in a perfect world. Many a time government policies are unfair, meaningless and actually stymie growth. When irrelevant legislation and policies hamper business, the only recourse is corruption.
1)For instance, when there are curbs on imports, businessmen will smuggle raw material to keep business units going.
2)When a teacher works two jobs because of poor pay thus neglecting students in school.
There’s surprisingly little evidence that corruption is harmful economically. For every poor corrupt African country there’s another equally corrupt Asian country growing faster than ever. And as for the US and the UK, every now developed country has had periods of massive corruption in the past, often at the time where it was growing fastest. From this perspective, corruption is part of the growing pains of modernisation, it’s neither good nor bad, it just is.
On another note, best movie about corruption:-
How about Training Day with Denzel Washington. It doesn’t get any corrupter than that !
Phew!! ! ! Start by identifying the mega scandals that have taken place in .ke. then tell us how they have helped the economy.
Let’s start with Anglo leasing
Nobody is saying that there is no corruption in the UK and US. I am very amused by jubilee sycophants indicating that the west should not lecture us on dealing with corruption. The two of us are plagued by corruption but the difference lies is how graft is dealt with. A good example is the Smith & Ouzman case. The Britons were sent to jail while here not even a suspension was given yet corruption involves at least two parties.
To quote Trump, What a mess !
No one is quoting Trump just me n my two cents thoughts.
No,don’t start with Anglo Leasing. Start with Kenren Fertilizer Factory and for good measure throw in the alleged Mau Mau compensation saga.
Kenren was Mheshimiwa Mwai wa Kibaki baby ?
Its me quoting Trump. Your two cents is mostly a mess.
You quoted a movie to support your claims of police corruption in the US. - LOL
You also cited overregulation and bad policy as an example of corruption - it isn’t.
Then you claimed there is no correlation between corruption and poor economic growth. In Kenya what we have is a criminal enterprise instead of a government.
Outright theft from every direction. Ongoing for decades and its accelerating… From the presidency to the MCAs office everyone is trying to eat. Try living in a less corrupt place and you’ll see the difference. How many murders are solved in Kenya ? How many days in a month do you have have electricity interruption ?
Look at this chart. The least corrupt nations are also the most stable, rich, and have the highest quality of life. The inverse is true.
Tuko 139 :eek::eek::eek:
Yup 2015. Solidly in the failed states category. But I guess Transparency International wamelipwa na Raila and Foreign Masters
Too long to read but anyway stop misquoting me, haven’t said all corruption is good, kindly read the heading again there is good and bad corruption.
Too long to read eh ? I reread your thing na sioni mahali umetuonyesha the “good corruption”
Good corruption ni kama Sonko au Ruto wakiiba pesa 20 % inarudi kwa wananchi , bad corruption ni kama vile patni aliiba na akakatalia pesa
Google amnesia…
But you don’t live in those countries neither work nor have access to govt records on corruption cept shoddy charts compiled by the same countries you purport to be less corrupt.
Sioni vile mlami anaweza admit kuwa corrupt ilhali ye ndio "ananunua " raslimali zetu sisi waafrika kwa bei ya kutupa kisha tunarudishiwa kwa bei ghali zaidi… is that not corruption at its highest level? Do you think such nations would do anything tangible to change the current status in favour of our poor people?
I actually did live in a couple of them and I did not have to clear artificial hurdles created by corrupt officials. I could walk at night wherever without fear of getting mugged. No houses collapsed because of illegal cost cutting. Sikuona rivers of open sewer.
Maybe they are just better people.
Kama hizo 20 companies za kabura zingekua za wakenya from different parts then hiyo ingekua good corruption kwasababu pesa ingeingia mashinani watu wakule nyama.
Actually Pattni alitoa a very long list ya watu alipatia pesa during the goldenberg inquiry. It had pastors, journalists (Jaindi Kisero), prominent lawyers, politicians, etc.