Could that be the 70s? I went to forage through anthropology and history sections huko KNLS nikaona hii kitu inaitwa THE BOOK OF KENYA, even though it’s kinda whitewashed… the Savannahs look lush, and there’s more industrialization than my proformed thoughts of what 70s Kenya should look like. I only took a picture of Kenyatta Avenue because it looked stunning, with all the trees in the foreground bringing in the sense of A GREEN CITY UNDER THE SUN. All the palm trees are not there today, apo kando ya SUBWAY, just a handful of thise trees remain today…
man, didn’t the country look beautiful from all the whitewashed pictures. At least there was a normal (no desks, wooden, no playfield itmes) school pictured too, besides a clean cut Hospital Hill Primary full of browns, whites and punjabi… playing on swings et al.
There also was the truly international musical export of KELLY BROWN, who died in teuton land, just because of a teen prewall! I don’t Kenyans ever perform in well known festivals nowadays… Sol had once been to SXSW, but that was kitambo (early or pre-10s), and i think they were very low tier. Kelly was first office-recognised, because he mattered that much.
Have you seen pictures of Iraq, Somalia, Afghanistan, Syria, Lebanon etc in the 1970s? I believe the world hit peak everything, including prosperity in the 1970s and it’s been steady degradation ever since. Looking at pictures of people from that era, they were happier, healthier, they had functioning marriages and societies unlike today. The ravages of climate change weren’t apparent. We were fed the lie that society is supposed to get better over time but it’s not true at all! Those people from the ‘70s could get well paying jobs straight out of technical school or university! They could afford to buy houses and cars with normal jobs. I think China might be the only exception.
The black man couldn’t maintain it simply because he did not create it. Once the white man left it was the start of a slow, gradual, painful decline down to the very bottom. It got so bad at some point in the 90s, that there were huge mounds of shit excreted by the homeless pale sunken parking at Aga Khan walk. The stench could be detected for miles. Public choo ata usiongee.
This is a book I will certainly add to my “to-read” list.