Getting hired by Safaricom

Guys I need some insight and opinion from those in the know on this. Can Safaricom hire a software engineer without a computer Science degree? I dint graduate but have technical coding bootcamp training on the same field and have work experience as well. I have been invited to an interview this week na nimeingiza sana they might reject me on this basis should they reach the final decision making phase. Thoughts on this?

jalas got a radio job without the background on it, jikaze na ujiamini interviews zinakuaga ku gauge confidence, kama ulikua umetuma cv most prob wameipitia na kuna reason wamekuita, just show them you have what it takes na the drive to learn or doing it, the worst they can do is saying NO

Confidence and ability to express yourself are the key points when you go for an interview.
Do not belittle yourself based on your credentials as you’ve stated.
If you are confident you know what the job entails, put that confidence on the table, make them feel your presence.
Lastly it’s just an interview, NO is the most they could tell you.
If you do not make, dust yourself and pick up and keep trying. Never give up.

I suspect your work experience played a huge role in getting you an interview. So tell them everything you’ve done and what you’re capable of…best of luck

I also insist, show confidence and ability. Tell them your plan is to graduate within a year or two.

Worrying will not change anything. You are at the front door. Give it your best shot. As you have been told up there confidence, confidence, confidence.

Wrong example…when has kenyan media ever hired based on qualifications?
But I agree with you what this guy needs is just confidence

Go for it. After expressing yourself confidently, consider how you will get those papers because you will definitely need them anyway in future. Good luck.

He is right. Jalas narrated how he went through the interview selection process.
Check it on YouTube. It’s an interesting piece.

Prove your technical competence during the interview and have a demonstrable portfolio to support you. Your work experience also has got you to the interview door. You got this.

I didn’t dispute that…we have so many jalango amongst us who have been denied opportunities by uptight employers. Given a chance we would all be good at something…i believe safaricom will give him a chance considering that bob himself has no degree

Confidence. They hire your skills

Be ready for a psychometric interview

The tech industry does not rely so much on papers as is with ability and skills self-taught or not. I know someone that studied biochem but was learning coding on the side (self-taught). He graduated with that biochem degree and never used it, he now works in IT

anything is possible as long as you know who to bribe

True. Journalism standards have completely detorariated ever since media houses started hiring comedians to host especially radio shows.

Lol no. Hr stuff bro.

Stop listening to armchair analysts who are busy telling you IT ni skills tu. Utarudishwa kwa mlango, go to school and do a degree then rudi.

Some lousy thunking here.

Sasa atarudishwaje kwa mlango??

The fact that he got a call for an interview means he has the necessary qualifications needed. If he didnt have they wouldnt bother with him.

And ooh btw IT ni more practical than papers.!

Yep, the data science head saf is an acquaintance of mine. So he was telling us of this story…he met a young man, very bright man. Let’s call him X. X has just won a data science ML competition sijui zindi ama ni nini, some African competition. The guy wanted to bring him to saf because the kid had mad skills. No interview stuff…just formalities…jamaa akaulizwa cert ya campus hakuwa nayo. Apparently he dropped out from KU akiwa 3rd year or so. The saf guy swears that the guy is one of the best he has ever met but he can’t hire him since HR does the hiring. So trust me, haezi ingia saf bila hiyo. I can bet my left nut.