If things’ still hazy, the movie is titled Moonlight.
First of all, this movie has multiple running themes: poverty, drug addiction, single parenthood etc. But the main one is homophobia in the black community. Simply, this is a coming of age story of a gay black guy - being bullied by schoolmates, abused by his junkie mother, the works, - and trying to find himself in a society that victimizes him. This movie made me uncomfortable… and I watched Broke Back Mountain! Bold film. I wish Kenyan film-makers would make films like these… films that tackle our issues in a raw, crude, uninhibited way.
The Oscars is in seven days. If this (or Manchester By the Sea) does not win Best Picture I’ll be triggered. But I have a feeling Fences or Hacksaw Ridge will take this.
Unrelated: A few weeks ago Netflix released the trailer to their new series Dear White People - based on a movie by the same name (In Trumps voice: Brilliant movie by the way. You should absolutely check it out if you haven’t. It’s fantastic. You gonna love it.) and the internet went insane. And not insane in the membrane way. The this-is-shit-and-you-are-shit-your-entire-family-is-shit insane. Reason? I know this is going to be shit so you re shit for bringing up this shit. It looks fantastic if you ask me. People nowadays just don’t have the patience to sit through things that don’t have flying men, aliens or exploding things… and rapidi ganifaya.
Lol I have had the moonlight brrp from the day it leaked na sijagusa.Wanted to watch it yesterday night but watched arrival,wasn’t bad nita watch hio movie leo a lot of praise hata mse nilmwahi amenishow ni noma leo job.manchester by the sea was not my cup of tea but kuna small sis aliniforce tuwatch and alicatch nayo sasa.Apart from that lemme look at the list and make my predictions
MbtS has a very short story stretched out to about 2 hours. And there’s no reward/closure or anything at the end. I could understand why some people hate it. But it’s very beautifully told.
Hacksaw Ridge ni kali sana, I even shed a tear while watching, that shit was so emotional ya’ll. Also enjoyed The Accountant.
I’ve already illegally downloaded Manchester By the Sea, Allied, Fences and Passengers but just haven’t had the time to watch.
ION, if you enjoyed Operation Kakongoliro, then you might also like this Zambian action flick.
Haha. That Zambian movie looks like a pile of garbage.
Hacksaw Ridge was just too good… entertaining. It did not hit me the way I thought it would though. Left my mind quicker than say something like Saving Private Ryan. Am still halfway through Arrival.
This shit still gets me if u had the facebook link and saw the comments on its first day ungecheka…kumbe its a parody in a way the stopping on the door to pick a call on public transport is a zambian thing kumbe:D:D
Run my friend nimeona ma fisi hadi sponsor wakicheswa.Hadi mabeste ni kusafisha macho tu.Amejijengea cv mbaya hata mimi nimechanganyikiwa sijui ni kama @Female Perspective ama ni kama @Ebonycurves ni kufungua pekee ama mkaliaji.HEhe
[ATTACH=full]84866[/ATTACH]
U have won yourself the award for talking out of your ass.
Its not embracing their culture(gay) but at the same time we can’t pretend what we do is right like the stupid stereotype comment u just made up their.Such shit can help you understand the real meaning of respecting one another. Cuz u can’t empathize without seeing the world through other peoples eyes. Because in the end they are human beings even though their shit ain straight.I ain even gonna play the race card here …
I’m sure I have a right to choose what I like and what I don’t, what I wish to watch and what I don’t. I have not discriminated against anyone… and even if I did, ebu please check yourself and stick to your lane… DO NOT impose your shit on me bih, sawa?