Gated community vs Own compound

Would you rather buy a house in a gated community (CCTV cameras, electric fence, 24 7 security team, water reservoirs, well, back up generator, a kids play area, capro paved parking, clubhouse ) or buy land and build a house whereby might not have access to or afford some of the facilities you’ll find in a gated community.

for example?

Gated community kama pesa sio shida otherwise build on my own

Hiyo uliza watu wa Nairobi… Wengine sisi tunaishi Kwa shamba… hewa swafi

Gated for a town house. Build in own compound for a rural house.

gated communities ni exploitation tupu. All those incidental costs will be as much as renting a house. Unapata kina soja 3K, stima communal 3K, caretakers 2K, takataka 2K, admin costs 2K Total 12K. Na hujalipa stima ya kwako ama maji.

My own compound… where I will keep kukus, mbuzis, pigs etc without anyone raising a finger. Masharti ya gated community wachana nayo, ooh allocation of 1 parking slot, sijui no holding of functions in the compound etc.

Hii mostly ni personal na inadepend mostly na mfuko yako

and you can put a ka trampoline one end of the compound

And do my own landscaping.

and you can walk around in your see through tights if you want…

gated community have their own advantages especially if you have kids growing up…good for their social development…

Heri kwangu hata kama gate ni mabati na perimeter wall nimeweka broken glasses

Depends on how the gated is built. @Meria Mata, ambia hawa jama vile vescon estate in Bamburi, Mombasa is built. Its a gated community, but each house inside has its own compound and gate, and a single gate for coming for leaving the estate

double like.
I am a victim of seclusion of own compound. up to age 8/9 we lived in an esto. after moving to own compund in a then upcoming locale I became anti social kiasi. to date I prefer my own company. now married and i will not do the same to my kids. wacha wapige roundi mtaa.

Gated communities have their own unique advantages and disadvantages as stated above.

These built homes are the worst to raise kids ata afadhali uishi kwa maflats… for me gated communities all the way…

Alafu that whole idea of ‘i can do whatever i want in if i build on my own’ eventually leads to a mess… even in advanced countries everything is controlled from the kind of grass you grow to the ur paint colour…

I prefer a barricaded community…single houses na a barrier to control entry and exit of vehicles…the only contribution ni ya security na takataka…mambo na CCTV, maua na hizo zingine nitajifanyia mwenywe

Of course your own compound. But you will have to spend on security.

I would prefer a gated community

Gated community because of security