gated communities

This is the trend in real estate but there is something they do that I dont like.I talked to some companies selling such houses after buying the house, you will then be expected to pay 5000sh service charge every month .I found this to be outrageous .What are your thoughts. @Okiya

What is the percentage of service charge vis a vis rent if you were to rent out that unit?

Do you commit yourself anywhere, my be by singing documents? You know we Kenyan encourage corruption ;must learnto demand our rights , those services we pay for .sametimes you must team up ;with your neighbours and make your demands to the authorities or it’s agencies

5k is a bargain some pay upwards of 25k

waambie hiyo ni wizi wa kimabavu, let them know that you will be opening the gate for yourself and you will be burning your trash in a compost pit.

Service charge goes to a company named the management company. The law requires a developer to incorporate one before selling the units. The purpose of a management company is to cater for all forms of maintenance in the gated community. From security to gabbage collection to cleaning the communal areas to maintaining the gardens and the lawns etc. thats where the money goes to and my opinion is that the fee is necessary for the residents’ enjoyment of a safe, clean and organised neighborhood.

If you can’t afford a 5k service charge in a gated community then you should look elsewhere. Obviously, you’re not the type of customer they are looking for. And that amount is very fair IMHO

NYayo NSSF niliona ilikuwa 2k. I think its worth it juu you never have to worry about garbage collection, security na hizo zingine bae wangu amesema hapo juu. Lakini 25k siwes lipa kwani naishi Beverly Hills?

Without the service charge, how do you cater for the shared services, security, street lighting, irrigation and maintenance of lawns, shared pathways to mention but just a few

RoR

5k service charge rental income 12k. This isnt about me affording mkufool

42% then remember kra 10%

Where is that place?
People get charged up to 30k service charge man!

You are assuming everyone buys a property in a gated community to rent it out right? And in that case, let the tenant bear the costs of their garbage and security why would you want to shoulder that?

42% is quite high considering the rent, kwani how many units ziko kwa hiyo gated community? The more houses the lesser the service charge due to economics of scale and vice versa? And what are the services that you will be paying for? Maybe you guys have a backup generator that uses jet fuel, hehe

Garbage and security ie watchie. 40 units

Read agreements properly. Na sheria kidogo. I read law section that deal with tenancy and its fuckin colonial. Its designed to favor indian and white landlords against the african. Little revision has ever been done.
I hate investing in stuff I cant control.

Again you are wrong mkufool I thought home ownership is to do away with rent.But if you are paying 5k service charge for a 2br house in Juja it defeats the purpose of owning a home

should be 7k. 2k ilikuwa kitambo. and most people pass those charges to tenants.

Like I said, if you’d rather live in a flat where your neighbours parachutes hang above your head and pay 12k then a gated community is not for you. IME most people moving into gated communities are already paying rent worth 30K and above and value living in a serene environment.