Gaines and other deluded Kenyans

Kijana hatari kwa delusions bwana @gainingguiness aka @Gaines aka @DukeOfKabeteshire once said vivo is a highly profitable company. Ati mpaka wanaeza ku-afford to open a store in atl. Meanwhile the government played a huge part in getting THAT ONE STORE opened.

Sasa, since I have Google alerts on a field they post jobs about, recently nimeona very many spikes in job alerts at vivo. Which means one thing. Employee turnover is out of the roof. Unaingia ukitoka.

Now, a healthy company has a good employee retention rate. Enter a failing company? Unaingia ama uliingia kitambo, but mambo ya uchumi starts affecting the bottom line, presha inaanza. Old employees can’t handle and quit, new ones find the targets are too much, and don’t stay for long.

Hii data ni kitu una-extrapolate easily. Not just seeing shiny things being put up then ululating mindlessly.

Upuss. Retail and hospitality have a naturally high rate of staff turnover. In fact, even large companies have HR policies of having job advertisements always, even when there are no open positions. You can’t use job advertisements to conclude that a retail business is doing badly. I know you want to sound smart by tagging me, but you are not.

Amazon has a turnover rate of 150%. It must be a failing company based on your logic. Walmart has a 70% rate of staff turnover. I can go on and on. Even in the specific niche of fashion, Zara has a high rate of staff turnover compared to say a bank. Most retail jobs even at Prada, Loro Piana, Hermes etc have a high rate of turnover because the pay is low and any person can do them. The same applies for hospitality, especially restaurants. How many times does your local restaurant/bar change waitresses yet they are still in business? Kwa industries zingine a high rate of staff turnover is the norm, not the exception.

But the alerts spiked as of recently. They in fact wer posting one or two jobs in a long time period. My alerts go back to post-covid

Also don’t forget the companies with the worst working environments are the ones with high turnovers

The high turnover is a function of these types of service jobs offering low wages, suitable for beginners in the career ladder e.g. waiters/waitresses, barman, shop attendant and so on. Naturally as people progress in their education/experience prospects, they move to higher paying jobs or open their own businesses.

A high turnover in other industries however, generally points to financial difficulties or poor HR policies.

Jack fala, know you are appearing as hidden replies. I am sure ni matapishi umemwaga

But we are not talking about other industries here. Vivo is a fashion brand. Its in retail. Kwa hivyo hapa OP hana point. If he was talking about a bank, insurance company, etc, I would have agreed with him.

Gaines, gaines, gaines

Wtf is this nonesense?

A fashion brand in a struggling economy in a country with numerous flea markets selling second hand clothes. Their struggles are understandable.

But I’m not a tribesman, I don’t care.

Hao ni conmen kama johnte Gaza pale kayole