Gaborone, Botswana.

I wish Nairobi could borrow from Gaborone, Botswana. There is a lot we could learn from this small lean organized city. If things remain teh way they are, Nairobi city might degenerate to be like Kinshasa. As such, I would suggest the expansion of Nairobi in smaller ities, like the way it had been done. I wish the satelite towns like Ngong, Rongai, Limuru and Kitengela had been planned well. It would be better to have a smaller city with a smaller CBD but there are several other cities that make flesh of the main city design. African cities dont have to be so so ccongested, disorganized and filthy. If Nairobi was divided into such 4 phases, then trust me, we would have a very superior city.
[ATTACH=full]296227[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]296228[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]296229[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]296230[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]296231[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]296232[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]296233[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]296234[/ATTACH]

What’s the point

Unataka governor wa nne kwa county moja?

Kinshasa is the Eight biggest capital city in the world by population.
It is also the world’s largest Francophone urban area, surpassing Paris in population.

Then its in Africa = Chaos.

Have your compared the Economic Indicator Surveys of Gaborone to that of Nairobi before posting your verbal diarrhoea ama ni chai jaba inaongea?

Stupith kapsa

imagine hujasema chochote !

Nairobi will never ever be orderly. You can take that to the bank. The newly appointed general ataanguka hadi pajichore kamtu. Just wait and see.

Izo satellite towns ziko mbaya saidi Kite, Ngong na Rongai hazina any sort of planning ni shamba la mawe ka Nyairofi, Sewerage system hakuna kwa izi satellite towns apart from Kiambu county which laid a sewerage system not long ago

As long as your leaders still have interest in real estate around nairobi they will never decongest the city…a decongested Nairobi means they won’t draw top dollars in rent from multilateral institutions

The only way to decongest Nairobi is to improve the economic prospects of the other counties and encourage people to move back to their rural areas.

Gentrification is the way to go.

Gentrification only works in societies where there is (liquid) capital and a true “middle-class” that works, in and around metropolitan areas.

It is actually devastating to the urban poor.

Imagine for starters, carving out parts of Kibera, inch by inch and gentrifying it by putting up a development with property rentals starting at a minimum of 60-80k/month.

[ATTACH=full]296230[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]296234[/ATTACH]
[/QUOTE]

Inakaa aje mombasa road lakini:rolleyes:

Good ideas folks.
From the above its clear that our city is very congested and needs a very serious generational upgrade.
Its possible, and we had these brains at work, am sure we can live the best lives.

60-80k is on the higher side, what about 2 bedroom apartment ranging from 15k-20 k to attract the lower middle class segment that are residing in satellite towns of Rongai, ngong, Ruai, Ruaka, Thindigua, Kin’gerero, Kikuyu, uthiru?
It will be a treble solution:

1. Spread of concrete jungle to arable land, that should be key in providing the much needed food.

2. Reduced transport budget to the highly taxed Lower middle class.

3. Get rid of shanties in the city.

Truth be told as compared to Nairobi that is a small town and not even a city.

And the population of Gaborone is so small less than 250,000.

Githurai alone is said to be home to over 800,000 people.