G.E. fines Kenya.

US giant General Electric has slapped the Treasury with fines for non-payment of leasing fees linked to medical equipment installed in 98 county hospitals.

Documents released from Parliament indicate that GE Healthcare has fined Kenya Sh80 million for delayed payment of leasing and service fees of the equipment.

The Health ministry had sought MPs’ approval of Sh5.1 billion to settle the leasing fees, but the request was shot down with the law makers agreeing to release Sh1.7 billion.

In 2015 Kenya signed a Sh25 billion deal with GE to provide 585 pieces of diagnostic imaging equipment such as X-rays and ultrasound machines for 98 hospitals nationwide.

Under the deal, the Treasury was to offer a regular service fee to GE — a departure from previous medical deals that delivered a one-off upfront payment to the supplier following a procurement.

The service covers equipment lease, maintenance and training over seven years, but Kenya has delayed payment prompting fines.

“The ministry, despite a request by the parliamentary health committee, had not provided any evidence of a demand notice for the fines of Sh80 million accrued in interest from General Electric,” noted House documents guiding the review of the supplementary budget.

[ATTACH=full]86694[/ATTACH]

From the documents it’s not clear how much GE is owed or whether other supplies of the medical equipment including Philips, Bellco SRL, Esteem and Mindray Biomedical Company have not been paid.

The five inked a deal worth Sh38 billion with GE taking a larger chunk of the contract. The firms were expected to earn slightly more than Sh5 billion annually in leasing fees.

A recent leaked Health ministry internal audit termed some of the payments under the deal as irregular. The auditor-general questioned Esteem’s supply of ultrasonic washers and 29 sets of surgical equipment while Belco was faulted for supply of dialysis machines.

GE declined to comment on this story while expressing support for the leasing deal.

“We are not in a position to comment on the matter, however, GE remains committed. We will continue collaborating with the government and the private sector for Kenya’s sustainable development,” responded GE to email questions.

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/GE-fines-Kenya-Sh80m-for-delayed-leasing-equipment-pay/539546-3838164-gxvx2bz/index.html

[SIZE=6]LIpa Kama Tender[/SIZE]

hii 80m naona mtu anataka kukula.

Hii jubilee every turn tu ni corruption and scandal and things not going well. I want to quit my job but i’m afraid the economy is so bad i may not survive out there.

hawa MPs ni bure kabisa. if Ministry asked for 5.1b to pay for the lease, why approve only 1.7b?

Hata mimi hapo sikwelewa.

Is it cheaper and more sensible to lease? Ama hakunanga cha ku- own hizi vitu? Ni kama land? @luther?

If you look around very many of our health institutions, you’ll find we’re saddled with all manner of obsolete and unserviceable equipment acquired, in its time, at great expense to the taxpayer. Looking at it from the economic angle, it seems sensible to lease IMO.

To do mbiashara…? try and start that bizna now while still working.

wenye hawatumii zao zirudishwe

infrastructure without Human resources is useless. why purchase or lease when u don’t have the expertise

Shida huwa maintenance and repairs, hapo ndio watu huiba ile mbaya, which is why these leasing deals make sense since maintenance and repairs are guaranteed.

the deal also included training of personnel.

The guys at the ministry got their kickbacks, they don’t give a chiet.

Where present.

I have worked with GE equipment. The way they work is you buy a piece of equipment new, you also buy a service contract renewable every year after the first 2 years or so. The service contract gives an annual maintenance and tuning to the equipment and repairs are free as long as you use their consumable parts. They also give you free training at the buy on how to use the equipment. It’s next to impossible for someone else other than GE engineer to fix the equipment. One reason why we have so many dead tools.

that is what the article says: The service covers equipment lease, maintenance and training over seven years.

True. As I shared in another thread, we were given MRI & CT Scan machines that have never been used. Almost 2yrs now. No personnel.